Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've been waitong for this for 20 years!, March 5 2012
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
This contains pretty much everything a Captain Power fan could want or everything you need to become one. The bonus features are very interesting and it's nice to have this much detail about a 20 years old show. This includes both new interviews and behind the scene footage from 1987. Unfortunately, they only got two or three members of the cast for the new features. The pilot teaser that was made to sell the show is interesting and shows the evolution of the concept. Information about the never produced season two is also interesting. The commentaries range from just ok with little more than reminiscence from the actors to very interesting and full of details from the writers. The video and sound quality are as good as you would expect from a show of that era. Strangely, two shows that were never produced are listed in the booklet and, obviously, not on the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No title, Feb. 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
Nostalgia at its best. I remember this series from watching it on TV and was impressed with it then. The complete series is a detailed telling of how the series was made and contains speculations on how future shows would have been like should the series have survived beyond the first year. Anyone who remembers the series would not be too disappointed with this dvd set. For future viewers I'd tell them to "Power On!" and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game show for kids., Jan. 27 2012
By 
Eddie Dao Ming Sun (Richmond, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
I love this show when i was a child. I never had the light-guns thou. My friend had them, it was fun.

Ps: i'm gonna get the toys next.

A great purchase.

Ps: they should box a set with at least 1 lightgun to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Old Days!, Jan. 15 2012
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
Captain Power was something else. This show was way ahead of its time. The combination between live action and CGI characters was quite unique back in the late 1980's. An interesting alliance as the show, initially, was geared towards kids as far as the action with the XT-7 gun accessories from Mattel. Shooting at the villains on tv was fun by making you part of the action. Regardless, the actual storyline is more adult oriented. Interesting combination and excellent evolution of the main characters during the progression of the series. What I enjoyed most about the DVD set was the extras. The documentary section was well detailed and very informative. I highly suggest getting this DVD if you're into science fiction. You can check out a more detailed review at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A paradigm shift in 1980s sci-fi, Dec 13 2011
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
Captain Power may be largely forgotten, but its legacy on 1980s television at the time is nothing short of extraordinary. The series borrows elements from the Terminator film series, but it's unique enough to stand on its own as a near-flawless example of strong storytelling, high production values and a set of characters that the viewer can actually care about.

For those who don't know, Captain Power takes place in the year 2147, after a horrific war between man and machine known as the "Metal Wars." While mankind stands on the brink of total extinction, some have sided with the machines led by Lord Dredd (David Hemblen), a former human who has since been turned into a cyborg to lead the machines to victory. Aiding him are Bio-Dreads, near-indestructable machines with coded D.N.A. who can regenerate their bodies after injury, and Overmind, a sentient computer A.I. who secretly influences Lord Dredd and enforces the will of the machine. The only thing standing in the way of Lord Dredd are a pocket of human resistance fighters who refuse to give up the fight and be enslaved to the machine. Among them are a group of specialized freedom fighters led by Captain Jonathan Power who each possess Power Suits which can be activated instantly to encase the wearer in high powered battle armor. Jonathan Power is the son of Dr. Stuart Gordon Power, an ally and fellow scientist to Dr. Lyman Taggart, the man who would later become obsessed with the perfection of the machine and become Lord Dredd. With both a personal and general stake in the battle against Dredd, Power and his team struggle to turn the tides of war to the favor of humanity, while working to unite the resistance into one final push against Dredd's stronghold.

When George Lucas made several concessions to 20th Century Fox during the negotiations for "The Empire Strikes Back," he managed to solidify ownership of one key area: merchandising rights. Seemingly overnight, merchandising become the buzz word of the 1980s entertainment industry. Lucas had reaped a massive fortune built on the success of the film which had an immediate and powerful effect on the rest of the industry. Soon, TV shows and movies were being created specifically to sell toys. The best examples of this were He-Man & The Masters of the Universe, the Transformers, M.A.S.K. and G.I. Joe, which served largely as vehicles to push toys. Captain Power followed suit, but to criticize the series of opting for straight merchandising cash-ins is woefully unfair. Captain Power had, among other things, an extremely strong writing team who recognized the (at the time) potential of a soap-driven plotline. As such, events in the show all tie into a master theme that centers around the events of the first season. Power's team learns early on of the existence of "Project New Order," a secretive agenda by the machines which is comprised of three terrifying phases designed to wipe out the remaining humans and establish global dominance of the machines. Several themes are revisited during the season, including the ambiguous existence of "Eden II," a supposed paradise of peace hidden deep within the wasteland of the scorched Earth, Power's growing romantic interest in compatriot Jennifer "Pilot" Chase, and a backstory of Stuart Power's relationship with Lyman Taggart before becoming irreversibly corrupted by Overmind. Amidst all the intrigue are some genuine heartfelt moments by the unlikeliest of characters, and a great degree of powerful dramatic elements.

Of course, there is action. Loads of it. Captain Power held the distinction of being one of the most exciting shows on television at the time, with raging, violent battles and well executed sequences. This, unfortunately, inflated the budget of the show to $1 million per episode, which was unheard of at the time, and eventually contributed to the downfall of the series after just one season. It's a shame, because the tragic events at the end of season 1 should have built immense anticipation for the next one. As such, Captain Power was destined to the hall of fallen heroes whose time was cut short despite the uniqueness, intelligence and quality of the work. The same fate would befall other amazing shows like Firefly, Terminator: The Sarah Conner Chronicles and other notable mentions.

The actors do a fine job in their respective roles, to varying degrees. Tim Dunigan claimed the role of Captain Power after being let go of the A-Team after the airing of the pilot episode. Here, Dunigan is able to project a young, yet commanding presence as the Captain, despite his tendency to get caught up in wooden delivery sometimes. Peter MacNeill shines as second-in-command Major Matthew "Hawk" Masterson, a fan favorite for his paternal presence and sense of gruff wit and determination. Schwarzenegger buddy Sven-Ole Thorsen brings his incredible brawn to the role of Lieutenant Michael "Tank" Ellis, a walking destroyer armed to the teeth. Thorsen isn't the sort able to tackle Shakespeare on any given day, and is mainly there as action fodder, but a favorite nonetheless. Maurice Dean Wint plays Sergeant Robert "Scout" Baker, who is perhaps the most underutilized of the entire crew with little to flesh out his character, save for a few brief scenes near the climax of the season. The one who truly shines is Jessica Steen as Corporal Jennifer "Pilot" Chase, an archetypal unlikely hero who escaped the BioDread Youth company (similar to the Hitler Youth) and was brought to Captain Power's team full of anger and hatred, only to be humanized and given a chance to atone for past sins. Several episodes in the season touch upon Chase's dark past, including a village who holds her on trial for a previous massacre. Steen's powerful, emotional delivery is so believable and genuine that it may astound those who ever thought this was just a show for young children eager to collect toys. Equally magnificent is David Hemblen's performance as Lord Dredd, who comes off cold, calculating and absolutely ruthless in his quest for ultimate order and perfection. Even more astonishing is Dredd's cybernetic getup which, to this day, would befit any good sci-fi blockbuster. The series also made heavy use of CGI, which at the time was still in its relative infancy. By today's standards, the flaws of the Bio-Dreads would be readily apparent, but there is no denying they're still a great spectacle to see. Soaron and Blastarr are equal parts comic relief and sheer terror, representing the near-unstoppable nature of the machine force. It's a shame their respective personalities and programming would not be fully revealed in a second season.

Captain Power is an undisputed classic. It was one of the first TV shows to tackle heavy (and frequently violent) sci-fi themes in a show designed for all ages, and it served as much more than just a revenue stream. What a shame that its timing was so wrong. I would have loved to see this series continue, but for now, I'll continue playing out what could have been in the depths of my own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great video - ahead of it's time, May 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
The last disc - with the commentary from Gary Goddard, J M Straczynski was excellent. The fact that Captain Power was competing against Star Trek Next Generation and winning in areas - is very telling.

It was suggested there would be a reboot. I would be a dedicated viewer if there was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Power and the Soldiers of the Future? Sentimental Gold!, Jan. 19 2014
By 
Malcolm "Box office psycho" (canada Montreal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
When I was a boy, this series has some awesome toys that would interact with the TV show. Your little Captain power would be ejected from the cockpit of the fighter plane if you were hit by lasers from the evil opposition. Watching the special features in this DVD package, I realize now how ahead of it's time this show was. It's true that CG was still in the early stages of its development. There had been no Jurassic Park movies with realistic computer generated models. It's just really too bad they didn't see a point to continue the series. Another "Lost in Space"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgic dvd, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
My fiance kept telling me about this from his childhood so I bought this for Christmas. He loves it. It's just like he remembers it. I would recommend it for any fans of Captain Power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars goodo, Aug. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
I comment by translation software.
It was the problem of the right, or stepped and came over and did whether an audience rating at the time of the broadcast was bad in my country, but purchased it here because there was not country sale of the DVD.
I am available and feel very glad as a fan item.
I look inferior a little when I look, but think that it is the work which was good very much when I cover it by technology to break it of limited production costs now.
It is novel that work contents begin in the place that has been already occupied unlike a previous American drama, and will there be only "V" rank in other dramas? Anyway, I think that it is contents going the point.Is the middle stage of the story about the work; (cool 2?) I want you to make a sequel by all means because you are over. Power on!.
Than the Japanese who was a junior high student at the time of broadcast as things mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Awesome Awesome, Aug. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Power: The Complete Series (DVD)
This is every little boys dream from the late 80's. This show was amazing and pivotal in the future of cgi and heroes. the look paved way for the borg from star trek tng and the power suits were awesome. the series should be redone with modern technology and cgi and the second season should have been shot.Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Power: The Complete Series
Captain Power: The Complete Series by Tim Dunigan (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 44.95 CDN$ 35.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews