Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing in every sense, Feb. 9 2002
By 
Tyler (mall city, ct) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
Folk-punk? Prairie-rock? How do you classify a small, Winnipeg band that seamlessly, thoughtfully, beautifully, and in some circles, flawlessly blends punk, folk, and even a little country, into one individual style? John K. Samson's lyrics are smart, unique and truthful while the band works pure magic in every single song. Track #11 ("My Favourite Chords") has become by far my favourite song out of any that I've ever heard before because as simple as it is, it goes beyond words and speaks to you. Some other tracks that deserve mention are "Watermark", "Left & Leaving", "Elegy for Elsabet", and "Exiles Among You". Basically, this band is amazing and this album shows it. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A needed album, Jan. 21 2006
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
I was a radio station manager in eastern Canada in 2000 and this was the best cd we recieved the entire year. The runner up was Relationship of Command by At The Drive in.
If you don't have this cd in your collection, you need to purchase it. It's perfect background music for pretty much any moment in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it now..., April 19 2003
By 
David (West Lafayette, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
This CD is really quite amazing. There isn't anything more to say than that - go experience it for yourself. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yea, April 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
holy...... i dont think i can fit my full feelings for this incredible album into 1,000 words. so ill try to be uber succinct. basically this is the best cd you will ever by. if u are a fan of ANY type of decent music, aka punk, ska, and.. eh well thats prolly it. even if you like emo, you'll like it. it is the perfect combination of lyrics that make you re evaluate your life and simple, fun couplets and such. it just makes you happy. the first weakerthans song i ever heard was 'this is a fire door, never leave open' and i was blown away. it wasnt the kind of music i usually listen to, yet my body refused to let me stop it. it was too good. i go to sleep listening to the weakerthans every night and wake up to them every morning. i heard about them from mitch clem of [...] . its an uber funny punk comic strip. you should all go to it because he is the best guy ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holy cats! Where did these guys come from?, April 12 2003
By 
Carl Johnson "living the non-urban life" (Rensselaer, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
First found these guys on a Maple Music sampler of Canadian music, and loved the song ("Left and Leaving") so much I thought I'd try the album. Wow . . . what an intense combination of beautiful pop music and clever, incisive, interesting lyrics. The weakest point is the singing, and the singing's not bad. Kinda white soul-folk that rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums ever., March 28 2003
By 
Kim (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
i never thought i would be happy to hear that a member of propagandhi was leaving to form another band, but this was probably one of the best things that could have ever happened to those of us who have experienced the weakerthans. the music can't be categorized -- emo, indie, punk, folk -- it would be an insult to try to squeeze into a little "genre" box.
john sampson's lyrics are wonderful. they seem to hit a nice balance between being abstract and concrete and really brings the listener into the song. plus, anyone who uses the word "communique" in a song gets a plus in my book.
"left and leaving" is the kind of recording that you will want to have with you at all times -- there are songs that fit almost any mood that you may be feeling, from dancing alone in your room to wanting to just go to sleep. check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shocked!!, Feb. 16 2003
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
this ablumn is well.. amaizing its heart grabbing and realxing! the sound is a cross between emo folk and what i call the weakerthans element! the lyrics are passionate and tell stories that will grip your ears and souls!. they took an extreem punk rock song (aside) and turned it into what i believe the bass player/song writer wished it to origionally turn out! this ablumn will make you larph cry and smile but one thing it does offer is comfort it in hard times. this is a must for any persons collection. i dont understand why this band havnt made it bigger than this!. buy it and realise the voice of the weatherthans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top 5 albums of all time, Feb. 12 2003
By 
Terra Bell (Bellingham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
This is a GORGEOUS album. I received it as a birthday present a couple years back, having never heard of the Weakerthans, and it is now one of my favorite albums of all time-right up there with Jeff Buckley's Grace and Idaho's Levitate, though dramatically different.
The Weakerthans are absolutely brilliant with simple, straightforward rock, sometimes a little punk-ish, sometimes with slow, beautiful ballads. What really gets me about this band is their lyrics: if you like good poetry, I'd recommend buying their albums if only to read the lyrics. But the music works beautifully with the words. This is definitely the best work these guys have come out with so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my city's still breathing....., Jan. 22 2003
By 
"andy_was_here" (waterloo, ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
i stumbled upon the Weakerthans in the most unlikely of places. Picture this; 12am on a hot and sticky summer 2001 night, and a van of 7 sleepy teenagers driving back home after a day in toronto, ontario. my good friend who was driving popped in the CD and after hearing the first drum beat of 'Everything Must Go' i was hooked...from there on, that car ride home was something i'd never forget. the heart and soul coming out in John K. Samson's lyrics and voice just blew me away and pretty much every song on this album sends chills up my spine. thanks boys for giving me a great soundtrack for many memories to come ! keeping on rockin....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, Jan. 14 2003
By 
Josh Prince (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left and Leaving (Audio CD)
A friend recommended this cd to me and at first I was a little skeptical. I was pleasantly suprised when I discovered that this is perhaps one of the best cds ever. I never tire of it, and it seems to get better and better each time you listen to it. The songs are very catchy and intelligently written. Lyrics such as "I'm leaning on this broken fence between past and present tense" from the song Aside get so easily engrained in your cranium and they are not easy to get out. The lead singer has a very different sounding voice, yet it is very pleasant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Left And Leaving  (2LP includes CD)
Left And Leaving (2LP includes CD) by Weakerthans (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews