Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super kettle!
This is the ultimate tea steeper/kettle. Heats up water very quickly to preset temperature, has an ingenious system for lowering tea into water and steeping using an easily-programmed timer, followed by a superb keep-warm feature. It works exactly as advertised, looks great on a counter and produces great-tasting tea. Much better than another brand which gave a chlorine...
Published on Jan. 11 2012 by Icedude

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works well but could be better
This kettle makes amazing tea and the system is very clever however as someone else mentioned it is very difficult to get loose tea in and especially out of the basket. It is also quite small and when boiling to the highest temp it boiled away a full cup of water and if you try to use the max tea amount of water it boils out the top. Also found the beep quite loud and...
Published 24 months ago by Georgia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works well but could be better, Dec 27 2012
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
This kettle makes amazing tea and the system is very clever however as someone else mentioned it is very difficult to get loose tea in and especially out of the basket. It is also quite small and when boiling to the highest temp it boiled away a full cup of water and if you try to use the max tea amount of water it boils out the top. Also found the beep quite loud and would prefer if the keep warm feature could be turned back on or extended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not for loose leaf tea, Sept. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
Boils water super fast, nice to set water temperature, but getting your loose tea in and particularly out of the basket is difficult and messy. Also the volume of the beeper on the unit needs an option to turn it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super kettle!, Jan. 11 2012
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
This is the ultimate tea steeper/kettle. Heats up water very quickly to preset temperature, has an ingenious system for lowering tea into water and steeping using an easily-programmed timer, followed by a superb keep-warm feature. It works exactly as advertised, looks great on a counter and produces great-tasting tea. Much better than another brand which gave a chlorine taste to boiled water. I highly recommend for tea lovers and the price is very reasonable for such an effective piece of kitchen equipment. No complaintS or negative observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LEAKY!: There's Better Tea Steepers Worth Your $$$, June 11 2014
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
I bought this tea steeper at around $140 at Canadian Tire. I drink ALOT of green tea among other teas, and this seemed a perfect fit for the job.
I'll be honest, when I set it up and brewed by first pot I loved it... the settings are easy to use, the 30 minute warming function is ideal...I was proud of my purchase! However that didn't last long......

After only 3 or 4 uses, the seal which connected the glass portion of the kettle to the plastic handle piece became leaky and tea started dripping at every pour. At the black tea setting (boiling) the water boils so vigorously that it begins coming out of the mesh screen (this is below the max water level). Also, the tea holder is incredibly tricky to clean and the whole up/down/remove system is a pain in the butt to use. I've returned the product to the store within just 6 days of picking it up.

I've ordered the Breville BREBTM800XL from Amazon. It's a step up price wise but I believe it's a monumental step quality wise, especially from this. I don't believe I'll ever attempt to buy another Cuisinart product again. Save yourself some time and invest your money elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not fully automated, Jan. 2 2013
By 
KJ (Hampstead, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
Read this product info carefully! Yes it heats water quickly, maintains the right temperature for different tea types, and selects the best steeping time for your tea then keeps the tea warm. BUT - unlike the Breville counterpart (yes, twice as expensive...) this is not automated! It beeps when the water is heated, and YOU lower the tea (it is a cool mechanism) and then beeps when the steep time is up and YOU raise it.
So you can't walk away and come back to perfectly steeped tea, or pre-program it to wake up to prepared tea in the morning. All this saves you is having a tea thermometer and tea timer separate.
Handy? yes.
Ingenious? no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Many Cons but what are the alternatives?, Oct. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
Difficult to keep the steeper up in lock position - always "fighting" with the mechanism. My main complaint is that is does not keep the beverage hot. There is an automatic warm 30 min period - but its not very warm at all and if one needs to reheat the tea, have to reboil it - no control for reheat on continue to keep warm past the 30 min. Also, where is or what would be the option for regular orange pekoe tea bags? The book does not say which option to select and I have received no answer from my emails to that question. If you buy one, I highly recommend cordless so at least it can be brought closer to where you sit and you may drink it more often, thus hot. I put three stars vs two because frankly could not find any other better ones on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what I need, Feb. 19 2013
By 
Sarah (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
This is a nice looking tea kettle/ steeper that I got as a gift.
Pros:
-Sleek design
-Timer that can be adjusted
-One click button to keep the tea warm
-Preset heating options for different kind of teas- Delicate, Green, White, Oolong, Herbal, and Black (starting from 170 degrees for delicate to 210 degrees for black).
-Easy to clean the kettle part
-Can use teabags (recommended to cut the string) or loose leaf tea ....which leads me to the cons

Cons:
-It is a nightmare to clean out the loose leaf tea. The compartment that holds the loose leaf tea also known as the tea infuser has a lid. The lid can be lifted up on the small metal rod but can never be removed or pushed back. This has me banging the loose steel tea infuser against the garbage bin trying to get rid of all the loose leaf tea particles

I think the Breville electronic tea kettle is better but for the price, I don't mind the Cuisinart one. It's actually a good tea kettle minus the hassle of cleaning the loose leaf tea.
For that, I had to take a star off my rating. Other than that, I give it 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cuisinartntea-100c, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
It is a very good looking and easy to use product with good information on the best way to use it. It brings out all the good flavor of the tea .The only thing I find difficult is to remove the tea leaves from the basket in order to clean it properly.
Marie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Refinements needed on tea steeper, Dec 30 2012
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
Much the same as others have mentioned regarding getting tea leaves into and out of the steeper is a pain. The lid for the steeper portion does not come off so putting the tea in is a two handed job. As for getting the leaves out is tricky and requires persistent rinsing in the sink which seems to defeat the purpose of saving you time.

The temperature selections are nice and it does heat up very quickly which is great in the morning. The time selections for how long to steep are adequate.

Lastly, the 'keep warm' feature is something I would use to make an extra cup of tea for myself so I don't have to go through the whole process again of making another when I wanted it. As the maximum time is 30 minutes I feel this is too short and would extend this feature. Coffee makers have this, why not tea steepers?? That said, if you make extra tea for later and its cold you can simply set up the desired temperature on the unit (as if you were steeping another tea) and it will be the desired temperature in a few minutes.

Overall, it is reasonable and does what you want it too. If you make ALOT of tea throughout the day this may not be the unit for you because of the difficulty getting tea leaves in and out of it. Otherwise, should be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heats fast, brews great tea, Dec 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle (Kitchen)
This kettle does a good job on the more expensive loose leaf teas I have been buying. It heats super quick, and the tea is better.
I also like the temperature range. The only improvement I would make is to make the keep warm function longer than 30 mins.

Great product. I would buy it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cuisinart TEA-100C PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle
CDN$ 139.99 CDN$ 99.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews