summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars443
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$120.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 18, 2011
If all you want are the films in blu-ray format, then this is the collection for you.
If you want a stunning box, creative presentation, and extra features for the films, you will be sorely disappointed.

Before running away, ask yourself this: how often do you watch all the extended extra features of movies you buy?
If the answer is "always" or "most of the time" then run run run.
If the answer is "never" then click purchase.
0Comment|157 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2011
Thanks for the early reviews who recommended Amazon UK, you are awesome!

As for the product, the picture quality of the blu-ray is superb, it really shows how well made the movies were. I did find the volume to be lower than other movies, really have to turn it up. One review claimed you only get one disc for each movie, making the assumption that all the extras are excluded. This is not true as the extras are packed onto the disc for the first few movies, and for the last three, there are actually two discs.
0Comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
This is all I need, as I am a harry potter fan, but not a die hard, All I wanted was the movies on Blu Ray, and that's what this is, It's a reasonable Price for the whole collection.

HD Picture Quality is perfect 5/5

Surround Sound is great 5/5

It's a nice scaled down box that holds all the discs together safely 5/5

The one Disc that still has "Disc 1 of 2" on it is just lazy on their part. 3/5

As far as owning just the blu ray of all the harry potter films goes, this is all you need, if you are a die hard and you want every little special feature, this isn't for you. Hope this helps.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2011
If you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan, do not buy this collection. All you get with this set is the first disc (disc 1) from each of the original blu ray releases of the films, literally. This is fine for the first five films/books (Stone, Chamber, Prisoner, Goblet, Phoenix) because they were only one disc to begin with, but HBP and DH 1/2 are only the first of the two discs you get in the individual releases. The publishers didn't even take the time to re-skin the discs to remove the "Disc 1" and "Movie" titles from their original placement in two-disc sets. I am not a massive HP fan but I love the films, so this isn't a huge bother to me as someone who just wants all of the films in blu ray, but this is a pretty disappointingly presented collection. To include the second disc for the last three films would not have pushed the total cost much over a reasonable limit and I was expecting to get either A) a COMPLETE collection including bonus discs or B) a newly published set of discs with uniquely arranged extra features befitting a slimmed down package. As it is, this collection is adequate but not satisfying. The case is nice. I like having all eight films in one small, plastic blu ray case with plastic clip inserts for pairs of discs. It's like a four-page book, double-sided, with all the films laid out in order. Too bad the finishing touches are a little cheap and disappointing. I almost recommend this set.
0Comment|169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
My children had scratched up all my Harry Potter movies in their younger years, so it was a great reason to upgrade to Blu-ray. Got the item on a deep discount. Very happy with it. The packaging is basic, and not overly bulky. There is no bonus features, and I didn't want that anyhow, so that was fine. The quality of the pictures is great. It would have been less lazy of the producers if they relabelled the discs properly.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
It comes as described. There's nothing fancy about this box set, so if you want tons of extras then splurge and buy the collectors edition. Paid extra for express shipping and it arrived in a reasonable amount of time. One thing I love is that there is only one case. No struggling with 8 different cases and getting all mixed up.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
La serie est ecoeurante donc c'est un excellent achat. Haute definition, Emma watson, Son 5.1 tout est parfait. Seul bemol pas vraiment d'extra.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
Waited for this to come out. I was not disappointed, it is a true work of art. The sound and picture is exquisite. Was lonely when the last credit finished, Harry wa all grown up and had familly of his own. Then I realized that I could revisit Harry and his friends any time I wanted, via the disc set.

Thanks to all who had a hand in the production. "IF YOU DIDN'T ENJOY, THEN YOU DIDN'T WATCH IT"

T.A. (Tom) Lalonde
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
Product:
The disks themselves are quite odd, and appear to be strewn together from different sources. The artwork jumps oddly from one disk to another, and some of them say "movie" as if they were once packaged with special features. Its almost as if these are rejected disks from liquidated stocks. Some disks have an audio track in PCM, some in DTS-HD MA, and some in Dolby true HD, which can be a bit confusing to set up at times, depending on what your blu-ray player and/or receiver is compatible with. Picture quality is great however!
The first few films don't have a menu where you can select audio options or specific scenes, there is only a pop-up menu. This means that every time you want to watch it again, you have to rewind it (like an old VHS!) rather than having the option to start from the beginning. Annoying!
Film series:
It's the Harry Potter series! Any fan of the books will undoubtedly cringe at how bad the films are in comparison, especially after the third chapter. However, it does a good job at visually recreating many of the characters and a select few events from the books. I can understand why they had to leave 90% of the content out since the books were so long, but a TV series would probably have been a better idea. After the third film, it just jumps from one set piece to another with next to no character development or any of the intricate details and sub-plots which are what made the wizarding world of Harry Potter so magical. Entire chapters, characters, events, locations, conversations, sub-plots and explanations which were essential to the story are entirely left out to fit into 140 minute segments.
If you have not read the books, the series might be interesting, but don't think you know anything about the magic that is Harry Potter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
I originally wanted the full Hogwarts set but at the time I didn't want to break the bank.
This is a great set for those who just want the movies with minimal special features. It is a no non-sense addition to anyone's growing blu-ray collection. If you are looking for extra content, extended special features and fancy packaging this set is not for you.

Appearance - 10/10
I thought it looked great off the package. The discs are all in one big blue ray case within the cardboard jacket. It's simple enough and it looks great in my blu ray shelf.

Contents - 9/10
A bit bare for my liking but like I said, this is a no non-sense collection. It is literally all 8 movies in 8 discs. The nice touch is that every disc has the artwork for that movie except for "The Deathly Hallows Pt 1" which is odd but it's not that big of a deal.

I don't really need to say anything about the movie. I would recommend this set to anyone looking to add just the movies or for those who don't have the space to store limited and fancy editions of the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse