Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just the movies
If all you want are the films in blu-ray format, then this is the collection for you.
If you want a stunning box, creative presentation, and extra features for the films, you will be sorely disappointed.

Before running away, ask yourself this: how often do you watch all the extended extra features of movies you buy?
If the answer is "always" or "most...
Published on Dec 18 2011 by James Connolly

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is Bare Bones
This is all I need, as I am a harry potter fan, but not a die hard, All I wanted was the movies on Blu Ray, and that's what this is, It's a reasonable Price for the whole collection.

HD Picture Quality is perfect 5/5

Surround Sound is great 5/5

It's a nice scaled down box that holds all the discs together safely 5/5

The one Disc...
Published 23 months ago by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just the movies, Dec 18 2011
By 
James Connolly (Montreal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If all you want are the films in blu-ray format, then this is the collection for you.
If you want a stunning box, creative presentation, and extra features for the films, you will be sorely disappointed.

Before running away, ask yourself this: how often do you watch all the extended extra features of movies you buy?
If the answer is "always" or "most of the time" then run run run.
If the answer is "never" then click purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is Bare Bones, Jan. 28 2013
By 
Rob - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is all I need, as I am a harry potter fan, but not a die hard, All I wanted was the movies on Blu Ray, and that's what this is, It's a reasonable Price for the whole collection.

HD Picture Quality is perfect 5/5

Surround Sound is great 5/5

It's a nice scaled down box that holds all the discs together safely 5/5

The one Disc that still has "Disc 1 of 2" on it is just lazy on their part. 3/5

As far as owning just the blu ray of all the harry potter films goes, this is all you need, if you are a die hard and you want every little special feature, this isn't for you. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Amazon UK experience, Dec 12 2011
By 
C. Lau (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Thanks for the early reviews who recommended Amazon UK, you are awesome!

As for the product, the picture quality of the blu-ray is superb, it really shows how well made the movies were. I did find the volume to be lower than other movies, really have to turn it up. One review claimed you only get one disc for each movie, making the assumption that all the extras are excluded. This is not true as the extras are packed onto the disc for the first few movies, and for the last three, there are actually two discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 178 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost recommended, Nov. 19 2011
By 
peterhorner (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan, do not buy this collection. All you get with this set is the first disc (disc 1) from each of the original blu ray releases of the films, literally. This is fine for the first five films/books (Stone, Chamber, Prisoner, Goblet, Phoenix) because they were only one disc to begin with, but HBP and DH 1/2 are only the first of the two discs you get in the individual releases. The publishers didn't even take the time to re-skin the discs to remove the "Disc 1" and "Movie" titles from their original placement in two-disc sets. I am not a massive HP fan but I love the films, so this isn't a huge bother to me as someone who just wants all of the films in blu ray, but this is a pretty disappointingly presented collection. To include the second disc for the last three films would not have pushed the total cost much over a reasonable limit and I was expecting to get either A) a COMPLETE collection including bonus discs or B) a newly published set of discs with uniquely arranged extra features befitting a slimmed down package. As it is, this collection is adequate but not satisfying. The case is nice. I like having all eight films in one small, plastic blu ray case with plastic clip inserts for pairs of discs. It's like a four-page book, double-sided, with all the films laid out in order. Too bad the finishing touches are a little cheap and disappointing. I almost recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better off buying them seperatly, Feb. 14 2013
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This was the lamest attempt I have ever seen at a box set of dvds/blurays. They literally took the first disk out of every original movie case and put it in this set. Not bothering to reface over the Disc 1 or anything. Obviously they were cost cutting and it's a terrible image on all other Harry Potter products which I have always found superb. Don't waste your money on this. Either buy the movies induvidually (and get more content) or save up for the more expensive set that they actually put some time and money into. The movies are still good because they are Harry Potter, but that's all that's good about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
La serie est ecoeurante donc c'est un excellent achat. Haute definition, Emma watson, Son 5.1 tout est parfait. Seul bemol pas vraiment d'extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Collection, March 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It comes as described. There's nothing fancy about this box set, so if you want tons of extras then splurge and buy the collectors edition. Paid extra for express shipping and it arrived in a reasonable amount of time. One thing I love is that there is only one case. No struggling with 8 different cases and getting all mixed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so it was a great reason to upgrade to Blu-ray, Dec 3 2014
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
My children had scratched up all my Harry Potter movies in their younger years, so it was a great reason to upgrade to Blu-ray. Got the item on a deep discount. Very happy with it. The packaging is basic, and not overly bulky. There is no bonus features, and I didn't want that anyhow, so that was fine. The quality of the pictures is great. It would have been less lazy of the producers if they relabelled the discs properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon deal, Jan. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Pour 60$ pour les 8 films, ce sont des incoutournables. N'hésitez pas, surtout si vous avez des enfants ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, July 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The quality of the viewing experience in great...of course it is, it's bluray. As others have said though some of the discs are labeled strangely, as if they were just left overs thro into a box set. But hey, you watch the movie not the disc right? So it's worth it for me since I got this for about $50, can't complain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 139.99 CDN$ 42.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews