countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
447
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:$99.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(2 star). Show all reviews
on January 18, 2016
Product:
The disks themselves are quite odd, and appear to be strewn together from different sources. The artwork jumps oddly from one disk to another, and some of them say "movie" as if they were once packaged with special features. Its almost as if these are rejected disks from liquidated stocks. Some disks have an audio track in PCM, some in DTS-HD MA, and some in Dolby true HD, which can be a bit confusing to set up at times, depending on what your blu-ray player and/or receiver is compatible with. Picture quality is great however!
The first few films don't have a menu where you can select audio options or specific scenes, there is only a pop-up menu. This means that every time you want to watch it again, you have to rewind it (like an old VHS!) rather than having the option to start from the beginning. Annoying!
Film series:
It's the Harry Potter series! Any fan of the books will undoubtedly cringe at how bad the films are in comparison, especially after the third chapter. However, it does a good job at visually recreating many of the characters and a select few events from the books. I can understand why they had to leave 90% of the content out since the books were so long, but a TV series would probably have been a better idea. After the third film, it just jumps from one set piece to another with next to no character development or any of the intricate details and sub-plots which are what made the wizarding world of Harry Potter so magical. Entire chapters, characters, events, locations, conversations, sub-plots and explanations which were essential to the story are entirely left out to fit into 140 minute segments.
If you have not read the books, the series might be interesting, but don't think you know anything about the magic that is Harry Potter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
This was the lamest attempt I have ever seen at a box set of dvds/blurays. They literally took the first disk out of every original movie case and put it in this set. Not bothering to reface over the Disc 1 or anything. Obviously they were cost cutting and it's a terrible image on all other Harry Potter products which I have always found superb. Don't waste your money on this. Either buy the movies induvidually (and get more content) or save up for the more expensive set that they actually put some time and money into. The movies are still good because they are Harry Potter, but that's all that's good about it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
If all you're looking for is a set of the 8 movies, then look no further than this. However, if you're expecting to get the most bang for your buck, this set is a complete let down and you might as well simply get the regular DVDs, saving yourself a little bit of cash in the process. There really isn't anything special about this set as it's simply the movie discs of the individual releases without any of of the special feature discs. Personally, I don't think this set should be selling for more than $80 in total and even then, that is rather high for this collection.

Worst of all, it seems there's some kind of weird encoding on the Deathly Hallows movies as my Blu-Ray player had a hard time reading them, taking well over a minute of simply spinning in place as if trying to find the starting point on the discs, not to mention that the Deathly Hallows II froze on several occasions, requiring me to restart the movie and go through that minute long spinning and then skipping through a bunch of annoying promos instead of being able to go directly to the disc menu.

It's a good thing that Warner Brothers is taking all Harry Potter movies off the shelves like Disney does, because by the time they decide to release them again on store shelves, they may actually release an actual compilation of all 8 movies that Potter fans will deem worthy of owning.

I'm happy I only got this as a gift and didn't waste my money on it myself, though I also think the $100+ used on this could have been better spent on other gifts instead.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
There are technical issues with the 3rd movie Blu-ray disk. Can this possibly be exchanged for a properly functioning disk?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
Not a real collection, they just put all the discs together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
One of the movies was corrupted!

I started watching the last movie (part 2) and when it reached 1:05, a lot of weird green pixels appeared on the screen and the image was kind of freezing. After a couple of seconds, the player finally stopped and said it could not continue because of corrupted data! I've been able to watch a lot of movies and even the other movies from this Harry Potter package, but not the "part 2". I tried another player with the same problem!

Watch your blu-rays to make sure you don't have any corrupted data on them!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
the final two blu-ray discs are very poor quality :(
i shall be sure to avoid purchasing from Warner in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2011
overpriced- preordered but when it came out costco"s price was ((.00. your charge 119.00 plus. ypur dvds generally overpriced so i will probably not order more unless it is a speciality. i deefinetly will not pre-order again111
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse