Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldman is Incredible
Hard to believe, looking at Gary Oldman as Commissioner Gordon in Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight Saga, and Gary Oldman as Sid Vicious, and believe it's the same person. Oldman truly shines in this, his first headlining role.

Oldman aside, this is an excellent story. One that I don't think you would have to be a fan of the Sex Pistols to enjoy.
Published 17 months ago by JCH

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie blows
Writing as a Sex Pistols fan, I really can't stand this film. The actress playing Nancy is more annoying and ugly than the woman herself. If this was how Nancy really was someone would have killed her long before Sid. None of the Sex Pistols have endorsed this movie, citing that the majority of it is complete fiction. The plot, if you can call it that, really meanders...
Published on Oct. 25 2003


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I really like this film, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sid & Nancy Bd - Ws Sac [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good quality image and sound (although I don't own a "reference" system) for a film that is one of Alex Cox's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldman is Incredible, Feb. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sid & Nancy Bd - Ws Sac [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hard to believe, looking at Gary Oldman as Commissioner Gordon in Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight Saga, and Gary Oldman as Sid Vicious, and believe it's the same person. Oldman truly shines in this, his first headlining role.

Oldman aside, this is an excellent story. One that I don't think you would have to be a fan of the Sex Pistols to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but........., Feb. 22 2004
By 
Angie (somewhere usa) - See all my reviews
this was actually a pretty good movie. the reason i gave it a 4 was chloe webb! this woman drives me NUTS! why didn't this role go to courtney love? she would have been PERFECT for the role. gary oldman had a GREAT performance. another reason for the 4 was it was kinda long and not 100% truthful which would have been cool to see. my favorite scene was the dumpster one. i would have liked to have seen sid actually die in the movie. the sound quality kind of sucked! i say do a remake that would be so cool w/ all of the new technology and stuff we have today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie blows, Oct. 25 2003
By A Customer
Writing as a Sex Pistols fan, I really can't stand this film. The actress playing Nancy is more annoying and ugly than the woman herself. If this was how Nancy really was someone would have killed her long before Sid. None of the Sex Pistols have endorsed this movie, citing that the majority of it is complete fiction. The plot, if you can call it that, really meanders. Gary Oldman is likable as always, one good thing the film has going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A downward spiral for two, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Sex, drugs, rock'n'roll. "Sid and Nancy" are crammed to the brim with those things, as well as a massive helping of death. This biopic follows the love affair between Sid Vicious and his girlfriend Nancy Spungen, set in the grimy, bloody, filthy punk subculture of the era -- and Gary Oldman and Chloe Webb are absolutely amazing.

Vicious (Oldman) was part of rising punk band the Sex Pistols when he met Spungen (Webb), an American groupie whom he finds oddly fascinating, despite the fact that her voice could etch glass. They also fight all the time, but make up just as fast.

So much to the disgust of the other Sex Pistols (especially Johnny Rotten) begin a passionate affair full of love, hate, sex and heroin addiction; Vicious lost focus on the band and drifting out on his own with Nancy. Little by little, the lovers slid into a hell of drugs, squalor and self-loathing -- until the day when Spungen died of a stab wound in the Chelsea Hotel.

They say that a lot of "Sid and Nancy" is fictionalized, but I'll freely admit that I'm not sure how much was. One thing is for sure -- the movie is a raw, painfully bleak experience occasionally lightened by moments of actual love and romance, but mostly overshadowed by the drugs and violence that were always present in Spungen and Vicious' relationship.

Alex Cox also does a brilliant job painting the punk subculture of the time -- lots of nastiness, screaming, blood, grime, garbage-filled alleys and howling music. And he spends the entire movie slowly sliding Spungen and Vicious down into their own private hell, alienating everybody and wrecking their bodies with drugs. The most horrible part is that he really makes you FEEL how they started with the world at their feet, but ended up in a world as small as their squalid hotel room.

The only problem is that sometimes he goes a bit overboard on the symbolism. Think garbage raining down like flowers during a Sid/Nancy kiss, or the weird prophetic dream where Sid shoots a "punk angel" Nancy only to have her come up onstage and embrace him.

Oldman and Webb are absolutely stunning in this role -- Oldman's face isn't quite like Vicious', but his mumbling emaciated performance is perfect. And every time you start to get sick of Vicious' antics, Oldman makes you feel sorry for him. And Webb's portrayal of Nancy is shrill and annoying enough to peel paint ("Whyyyyyyy?! I aaaaaaam noooooot! We are SO maaarried!"), but it's absolutely spot-on.

"Sid and Nancy" leaves you wondering if it's a rock'n'roll love story, or the tragic slide of two junkies into oblivion. Or, you know, both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anarchy in the Sid Vicious, April 13 2004
By 
Kelvicious (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sid & Nancy [Import] (DVD)
Wow, now that is what I call a shocking film. Sid & Nancy is not so gory or grotesque as it makes you turn your head sideway. Yet through their outrageous dialogue, disturbing actions and the gut to document the most vicious lifestyle in such colorful details and tribute to reality, the movie gives viewers cold shudders like never before.
I won't leak much of the film story-wise. What I would is that Gary Oldman and Chloe Webb reenacted Sid & Nancy to near perfection. They make audience really feel their passion and pain towards each other.
Criterion Collection did an amazing job in releasing this powerful documentary film with invaluable extras. It's long out-of-print and it could be quite pricey, but it well worths it. Afterall it's just like Sid said, "What do you do with money, for instance? I can think of one thing to do with money. One thing. That' s what I do with all my money. Every half-penny of it." :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, sad, and disturbing..., April 6 2004
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
God, What a movie. The story of Sid and nancy was not only pitiful, but strangely romantic. This was not easy to watch- it was disturbing and really sad, but undeniably brilliant. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a disturbing film but it has an important message, March 24 2004
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sid & Nancy [Import] (DVD)
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD version of the film.
This movie while distrubing has an important message. This film shows the devastating effects of heroin abuse in graphic detail.
We see the couple lying in bed high on heroin, completely oblivious to the danger of the fire that they started in their apartment. We see them become severly depressed and suicidal. As a Christian I find a message like this important to a film.
With regards to the graphic detail of the troubles one can liken it to the depiction of the crucifixion in "The Passion of the Christ" or the graphic depiction of radiation poisoning in the anti-war film "The day after" While some scenes I found unnecessary for the depiction, it is clear they wanted to appeal to a broader audience.
This film may offend many audiences and is certainly not for children.
The Criterion DVD has many extras including a phone interview with Sid. It also has the the infamous TV interview by Bill Grundy which led to thousands of complaints and ruined his career.
It also has 2 short films and an audio commentary track which is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mind blowing!!!, Feb. 29 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
The tragic brutal love story of the "sex pistols" base player Sid Vicious and his American girlfriend Nancy Spungen. These performances are amazing. Gary Oldmen should have won an Oscar. This movie should have been nominated at least. I'd rather have this win best picture than "platoon". This is a depressing dark story, which could be funny at times. I'm not really a big "Sex Pistols" fan but this movie I still say this is one of the greatest movie of all time. I'm not saying it is but one of. This movie will get you interested in "Sex Pistols". Gary Oldmen and Chloe Webb are amazing in this film. They each should have won an Oscar, because this movie is just amazing showing Love Kills. The movie is really great which sometimes could make you cry. Not that I did you know but you know somebody. The thing that sucks is the Criterion Collection is out of print. Then you have to get it on ebay for 50 bucks I mean c'mon. If you haven't seen this, even if you aren't not a big "Sex Pistols" fan, you will love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, Feb. 29 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This is a good film but theres no special features. It would be cool if there is but there isn't but either way this films cool. Its a deep and dark story of the Sex Pistols base player Sid Vicious, and his girlfriend Nancy. They were both heroin addicts, a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid & Nancy Bd - Ws Sac [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 24.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews