Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin...
Published on Feb. 29 2012 by W. H. Boudreau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose...
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as...
Published 21 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, Feb. 29 2012
By 
W. H. Boudreau "SpecSpiFan" (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin Conroy (Batman). Nathan Fillion is Green Lantern and has been since Emerald Knights..in the opinion of many, should have been Hal Jordan in the live action version, though I will reserve judgement there..the addition of Cyborg is very much a 52 relaunch plot device, but is nonetheless a solid performance by Bumper Robinson. The tone fluctuates between quick, humorous wit, and dark peril. The pace is quick and I can say without fear that the 75 minutes goes by in a blink. Your attention never wavers when either villian or hero are on screen. The Batman portion of the tale is uncompromising and brutal and unquestionably portrayed and depicted by folks who know their Batman..you do not have to be a long time fan to appreciate this most recent foray, but if you are you certainly feel respected. This is a solid effort, perhaps the most solid movie version to come forth since Public Enemies: Batman/Superman. Make no mistake, however, this is an ensemble piece and worth the time of any DC Comics or Comic fan overall. Simply outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, May 20 2014
By 
details are important - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I like this movie. Wish they elaborated more on the specific details of information stolen in order to fight the Justice League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's Batman!!!, May 3 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
Cant ask any better of any justice league movie.
Just enough action and the plot will keep you on edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Justice League movie so far, June 26 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I got this movie after renting it and loving it. It has a great voice cast with many actors returning for their role (Kevin Conroy as Batman, Tim Daly as Superman, Carl Lumbly as Martian Manhunter, Susan Eisenberg as Wonder Woman, etc.) I'd recommend it definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 20 2014
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JL Doom, June 15 2014
By 
Allen Patterson (Umiujaq, Qc) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
When the biggest kid in the Family (Dad) enjoys the cartoons you know you got a good show. Lots of fun to watch and a definite hit with kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You and Your Kids Will Love It !, May 29 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of the recent re-launch of the DC Universe, but they've kept this "21st Century Update" to a minimum, so ...! Great modern story based on the classic comic book stories and original superhero cartoons from the 1970s and 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, May 21 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Okay, it's going to take a lot to top 'Batman: The Dark Knight Returns' as my all-time favorite DC Animated movie. But wow, this was great! O.k., the story alone makes it worth the purchase, In a nut shell, It's this; (Spoiler Alert!) Batman has put together a series of plans to neutralize the Justice League in case someone goes rouge... Only to have mirror master steal them, meaning everyone is in deep, DEEP, trouble. All the actors did a fantastic job and the animation was spectacular! Only complaint is that they just seemed to solve the problem so they could make it shorter... Overall I feel like my $10 was very well spent. I highly recommend this and can guarantee you will enjoy this installment in the JLA Animated flicks.

-The Media Raptor

(P.S.) I don't know if this only applied to my copy, but it came with Blu-ray, DVD and Digital Copy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received, Dec 30 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
in great time and in great condition. It is a Christmas gift and have not had a chance to watch it but looking forward to it.
Thanks so much for getting it here on time ! Will gladly shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose..., March 28 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as it ever was. The art, the music, the production values: they're all still there. If anything, the artwork's grown still more lavish. We even get to see the old cast of voice actors re-united.

Yay.

But on any kind of deeper level, we're a long, long way from Timm's heyday. The characters are one dimensional, there's no emotional or moral depth whatsoever, and... Just...

Meh.

There are some supervillains who attempt to pull off a diabolical master plan. A diabolical master plan with a twist. If that's enough for you, then yeah, sure. Why not.

Otherwise, I'd have to say we've reached the point where the stuff Timm's putting out really is just for kids. It pains me to say that, more than you can know. But this isn't a film I could honestly recommend to adults.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League: Doom
Justice League: Doom by Lauren Montgomery (DVD)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews