Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin...
Published on Feb. 29 2012 by W. H. Boudreau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose...
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as...
Published 23 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, Feb. 29 2012
By 
W. H. Boudreau "SpecSpiFan" (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin Conroy (Batman). Nathan Fillion is Green Lantern and has been since Emerald Knights..in the opinion of many, should have been Hal Jordan in the live action version, though I will reserve judgement there..the addition of Cyborg is very much a 52 relaunch plot device, but is nonetheless a solid performance by Bumper Robinson. The tone fluctuates between quick, humorous wit, and dark peril. The pace is quick and I can say without fear that the 75 minutes goes by in a blink. Your attention never wavers when either villian or hero are on screen. The Batman portion of the tale is uncompromising and brutal and unquestionably portrayed and depicted by folks who know their Batman..you do not have to be a long time fan to appreciate this most recent foray, but if you are you certainly feel respected. This is a solid effort, perhaps the most solid movie version to come forth since Public Enemies: Batman/Superman. Make no mistake, however, this is an ensemble piece and worth the time of any DC Comics or Comic fan overall. Simply outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justice League: Doom Delivers!, Feb. 21 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
4.5 out of 5

Assembled by Vandal Savage, the elite members of the Legion of Doom—Bane, Cheetah, Mirror Master, Star Sapphire, Ma’alefa’ak and Metallo—are shown how to beat each and every member of the Justice League of America. Using the specific weaknesses of each hero, the Legion heads out to destroy their counterparts and bring them to their knees so Vandal Savage could implement the next phase of his plan: annihilating the majority of the human race so he can bring about a new world order from its ashes.

To make things worse, Vandal Savage didn’t discover how to destroy the Justice League on his own, and when the answer as to who was responsible is revealed, the JLA is rocked to its core with the fate of the world hanging in the balance.

Man, I love this movie. It features an all-star cast of all-star superheroes going up against an all-star roster of evil supervillains. Finally, we get to see the villains stick it to the heroes in a big way and not let up until the JLA is down. And I mean really down. It’s not often you see Superman on the brink of death, Batman humiliated and defeated, Flash completely screwed, Green Lantern a broken man, Martian Manhunter totally incapacitated, and Wonder Woman so messed up she doesn’t know what to do or which way to turn.

This flick is based on the “Tower of Babel” Justice League story arc by Mark Waid, who is arguably one of the best comic book writers on the planet. I can’t comment on this flick’s faithfulness to that storyline because it’s been over ten years since I last read it, but I do remember the overall premise and this movie delivered on that.

The heroes and villains look great in this movie, and it does well in showcasing their various powers and abilities.

It’s also an exciting movie that is fast-paced, has a sense of atmosphere, a sense of taking place in the overall DC Universe—thanks to other heroes and villains not mentioned above showing up—and gives the JLA a threat that even they might not be able to handle. And that’s the thing with a JLA movie: the threat needs to be so huge and so dangerous that it takes them as a team to solve the issue, and considering each one of them is extremely powerful in their own right, that threat needs to be mega huge, not just physically but psychologically as well. Justice League: Doom has that and delivers it in spades.

Also features the voice talent from the Justice League animated series so that totally adds to it as well, giving it a sense of familiarity.

Out of all the superhero movies on the market, this is easily one of my favorites and is good viewing for kids and adults alike.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this movie. Wish they elaborated more on the specific details of information stolen in order to fight the Justice League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's Batman!!!, May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
Cant ask any better of any justice league movie.
Just enough action and the plot will keep you on edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Justice League movie so far, June 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this movie after renting it and loving it. It has a great voice cast with many actors returning for their role (Kevin Conroy as Batman, Tim Daly as Superman, Carl Lumbly as Martian Manhunter, Susan Eisenberg as Wonder Woman, etc.) I'd recommend it definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 20 2014
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JL Doom, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
When the biggest kid in the Family (Dad) enjoys the cartoons you know you got a good show. Lots of fun to watch and a definite hit with kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You and Your Kids Will Love It !, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of the recent re-launch of the DC Universe, but they've kept this "21st Century Update" to a minimum, so ...! Great modern story based on the classic comic book stories and original superhero cartoons from the 1970s and 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, May 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay, it's going to take a lot to top 'Batman: The Dark Knight Returns' as my all-time favorite DC Animated movie. But wow, this was great! O.k., the story alone makes it worth the purchase, In a nut shell, It's this; (Spoiler Alert!) Batman has put together a series of plans to neutralize the Justice League in case someone goes rouge... Only to have mirror master steal them, meaning everyone is in deep, DEEP, trouble. All the actors did a fantastic job and the animation was spectacular! Only complaint is that they just seemed to solve the problem so they could make it shorter... Overall I feel like my $10 was very well spent. I highly recommend this and can guarantee you will enjoy this installment in the JLA Animated flicks.

-The Media Raptor

(P.S.) I don't know if this only applied to my copy, but it came with Blu-ray, DVD and Digital Copy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
in great time and in great condition. It is a Christmas gift and have not had a chance to watch it but looking forward to it.
Thanks so much for getting it here on time ! Will gladly shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League: Doom
Justice League: Doom by Lauren Montgomery (DVD)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews