Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin...
Published on Feb. 29 2012 by W. H. Boudreau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose...
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as...
Published 12 months ago by Theo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, Feb. 29 2012
By 
W. H. Boudreau "SpecSpiFan" (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been an avid fan of JLA and all things Bruce Timm for some time, but this truly was a superb effort. The animation was top notch, the story solid and most importantly the voice work beyond reproach as it featured the originals for the most part, Tim Day (Superman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Carl Lumbly (Martian Manhunter), and of course, the incredible Kevin Conroy (Batman). Nathan Fillion is Green Lantern and has been since Emerald Knights..in the opinion of many, should have been Hal Jordan in the live action version, though I will reserve judgement there..the addition of Cyborg is very much a 52 relaunch plot device, but is nonetheless a solid performance by Bumper Robinson. The tone fluctuates between quick, humorous wit, and dark peril. The pace is quick and I can say without fear that the 75 minutes goes by in a blink. Your attention never wavers when either villian or hero are on screen. The Batman portion of the tale is uncompromising and brutal and unquestionably portrayed and depicted by folks who know their Batman..you do not have to be a long time fan to appreciate this most recent foray, but if you are you certainly feel respected. This is a solid effort, perhaps the most solid movie version to come forth since Public Enemies: Batman/Superman. Make no mistake, however, this is an ensemble piece and worth the time of any DC Comics or Comic fan overall. Simply outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Justice League movie so far, June 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this movie after renting it and loving it. It has a great voice cast with many actors returning for their role (Kevin Conroy as Batman, Tim Daly as Superman, Carl Lumbly as Martian Manhunter, Susan Eisenberg as Wonder Woman, etc.) I'd recommend it definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
in great time and in great condition. It is a Christmas gift and have not had a chance to watch it but looking forward to it.
Thanks so much for getting it here on time ! Will gladly shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose..., March 28 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as it ever was. The art, the music, the production values: they're all still there. If anything, the artwork's grown still more lavish. We even get to see the old cast of voice actors re-united.

Yay.

But on any kind of deeper level, we're a long, long way from Timm's heyday. The characters are one dimensional, there's no emotional or moral depth whatsoever, and... Just...

Meh.

There are some supervillains who attempt to pull off a diabolical master plan. A diabolical master plan with a twist. If that's enough for you, then yeah, sure. Why not.

Otherwise, I'd have to say we've reached the point where the stuff Timm's putting out really is just for kids. It pains me to say that, more than you can know. But this isn't a film I could honestly recommend to adults.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better DC movies out there!, March 23 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Justice League Doom is definitely one of the better of the DC movies out there. Starting out with a bang it never really slows down and both looks and sounds superb on this Bluray Combo edition. The plot is pretty straightforward with the Justice League under attack using plans developed by Batman himself and it's up to him plus Cyborg to make things right! This is definitely one of the better DC ensemble pieces.

The English audio is a true DTS-HD 5.1 track that will rattle your windows. There's also a good Dolby Digital 5.1 French and Spanish 2.0 audio tracks as well. Extras include a touching 30 min. tribute to the late Dwayne McDuffie who pioneered the inclusion of multi-ethnic superheroes in the DC universe and created the Justice League TV series; a 20 min. commentary on the relationship between Batman and the J.L. (who watches the watchers); a 6 min. documentary on Cyborg and his origins and two of the better episodes from the Justice League series. ALL of these extras are also in HD with HD audio! Very impressive!

The DVD is more spartan as it is one of those rare DC dvd/digital copy combo discs. All it contains is the movie and a handful of trailers. However it does have extra audio tracks including English, French & Spanish DD 5.1 and Portuguese & Thai Stereo Pro-logic.

Overall I'd rate this as one of the better DC movies. Four stars out of five!

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, as usual, Jan. 26 2013
By 
Luc Durocher (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At this point, there is nothing else to say. Bruce Timm and his band have mastered the DC universe better than anyone else. And that include even Chris Nolan and his wonderful Batman trilogy. They are just freaking great at it. Bow to the masters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great, Dec 12 2012
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
Unknown to the other Justice League members, Batman has created emergency plans to stop each of them, should they ever cross over to the "dark side". A criminal mastermind forms a Legion of Doom to sneak into the Batcave and steal the plans from the Batcomputer. Suddenly, members of the League are being taken down by their rivals. Batman realizes what has happened and tries to set things right. Tensions mount as the other members are angry at him for creating such plans. I thought that was a really cool plot line, and the main reason why I gave the cartoon 4 stars. Overall, I think it's a good cartoon, though not as good as Crisis on Two Worlds or Doomsday. The rest of the cartoon deals with the more typical plot of bad guys going for world dominion and ultimately being defeated by the good guys. If you like these superhero cartoons and find it for a good price, I don't think you'll be disappointed. The animation and voice acting is good, the show is well paced, and there's plenty of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and fun, April 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (DVD)
I'm usually annoyed at WB's attempts to force the comics and cartoons to match up continuity, so the inclusion of Cyborg here didn't do anything for me, but on the whole, it was a decent adaptation of a great story arc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest effort thus far, April 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of all the DC direct to video features produced to date, this is probably the weakest. There were better episodes of JLA animated and JLA unlimited. Pretty standard fare. Bruce Timm has done a fabulous job of bringing the DCU to life, but this one just seemed flat and somewhat canned. Beyond the Trinity (Bats, Supes and Diana) and JLA, I'd also like to see other prominent DC characters get their own feature like Flash or Batgirl. The Killing Joke would make a great feature. They could even make it more contemporary and tie it in to Babs now being out of the chair. It's not that Doom is a bad feature, it's just that such a high standard had been set with the prior feature films and DC shorts that this effort seemed sub-standard and juvenile. Hopefully this is not the beginning of a decline for DC Features.Marvel has been producing the better live action films in recent years but DC has always produced the best animated features. As these are direct to video, we have to trust that they will be good when we(adult fanboys and fangirls) order them so come on Bruce, let's keep up the high standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, March 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a JL fan since the 1970s and loved the Bruce Timm produced JL and JL Unlimited series in the early to mid 2000s as well as Bruce Timm's DCAU movies. JL Doom is OK, I don't think it's nearly as good as Justice League Crisis on Two Earths. The story here is has potential but I think the execution could have been better. Two key characterization flaws here. I don't like how Wonder Woman is de-powered so much here. In Crisis on Two Earths she fought toe-to-toe and eventually got the better of the evil superwoman who was knocking Superman around. Here Diana can barely hold her own strength-wise against Cheetah and it appears they took her ability to fly away. I'd say they made her barely as strong as Spiderman compartively speaking here. The other big characterization flaw is how the Flash is portrayed. In this movie he is Barry Allen, police scientist (well CSI officer here). But the Flash is portrayed as wisecracking, and somewhat immature ...a hallmark of Wally West's personality which was well established and consistent in the JL/JLU TV series. That is not Barry Allen's personality. I agree with others in that I'm glad they used a main villan other than Luthor/Joker. Vandal Savage was a good choice. The fight sequences here aren't as good as Crisis on Two Earths. The way Hal Jordan was defeated was interesting. Despite its flaws if you are a JL fan you should watch this and despite my lukewarm reception to this movie I hope they keep making these movies because these films are a great escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaffc3dec)

This product

Justice League: Doom
Justice League: Doom by Lauren Montgomery (DVD)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews