Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Contains the Original and Americanized versions.
Classic Media's BLU-RAY contains the original and uncut Japanese-language version of Ishiro Honda's Gojira (1954), as well as Godzilla, King of the Monsters (1956), the "Americanized" version starring Raymond Burr as a reporter covering Godzilla's rampage. You get BOTH.
Published on Nov. 7 2010 by B. Armitage

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy from here
amazon.ca is grossly over-pricing their Criterion editions. I live in Toronto and bought my edition of Godzilla off the shelf for 26.95. You are better advised to order from the Criterion website, or best yet, DVD Planet ($20 for criterion Godzilla!) in order to guarantee best price and a proper exchange rate. even with the shipping you're saving far more than the HST.
Published on Jan. 29 2012 by Waltoon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Contains the Original and Americanized versions., Nov. 7 2010
By 
B. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Classic Media's BLU-RAY contains the original and uncut Japanese-language version of Ishiro Honda's Gojira (1954), as well as Godzilla, King of the Monsters (1956), the "Americanized" version starring Raymond Burr as a reporter covering Godzilla's rampage. You get BOTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese version is the version to watch!, Jan. 25 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had not seen the Japanese version of this film since I was a kid. Needless to say between the subtitles and the medophors it was beyond me. I had seen the Americanized version a couple of times but was never overly impressed. I have always liked the Godzilla series of films but I kind of like them because they are so over the top and...well...bad. So when I saw Criterion was putting a version out I was really surprised. But everything I read was about how good the Japanese version is. Figured worse case I would be that much closer to collecting all the films. Man was I surprised how great a film this is. Where the Americanized version is really just another monster movie the version from Japan is much more. It deals with the fear of the atom bomb (this film was made less then a decade after the dropping of the A bombs) and since the world was probably still pretty ticked off about World War 2 I don't think a Japanese anti nuke film would go down well but do it all with Medophors and you can get away with it. This film is dark. The ending is much darker then anything being done in Hollywood at the time. If get a chance and you like great films you should give this one a shot. I was really surprised at how great this film really is. Oh and to put you mind to rest the peice of crap american Mathew Brodrick version is not a remake of this film. They came up with that crap all on their own!
One more point. This is not just a great Godzilla film it's a great film period! You don't have to like monster movies to enjoy it. Much in the same way people enjoy the original Frankenstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YES!, May 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The original, nothing can stack up. Brilliance and a must for any cinephile or G-Fan! NIce packaging and the extras are worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy from here, Jan. 29 2012
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
amazon.ca is grossly over-pricing their Criterion editions. I live in Toronto and bought my edition of Godzilla off the shelf for 26.95. You are better advised to order from the Criterion website, or best yet, DVD Planet ($20 for criterion Godzilla!) in order to guarantee best price and a proper exchange rate. even with the shipping you're saving far more than the HST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific on Blu Ray, May 20 2012
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first Godzilla movie on Blu-Ray is very interesting because I think this classic is excellent to have. It is wonderful to see the black and white Godzilla movie in high defintion on Blu-Ray. Maybe they should have an english dubbed version just as if the other Godzilla movies have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!, July 21 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun movie, provided that you're not expecting the visceral experience that comes with more true-to-life special effects (as available today). Not sure if points where the sound is tiny and the contrast is so dark that it is difficult to make things out are as per the original, yet they detract from the experience to a certain degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can someone explain, Jan. 27 2012
By 
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
please why there is a difference of nearly +$15.00 between the Amazon US price and the Amazon CAN price when there's not that much difference in the exchange rate? (rated one star just so I can ask the question)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] by Ishirô Honda (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews