Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best...Even WITH Raymond Burr
For any movie to merit a sequel, or 22 sequels for that matter, it has to be special. "Gojira" stands on the lofty summit with "Dracula"; "Frankenstein"; "Forbidden planet"; "War of the Worlds" and "2001: A Space Odyssey" as one of the great science fiction films of all time. What we have here is a synergy of a...
Published on March 27 2004 by thx-1138_4eb

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy from here
amazon.ca is grossly over-pricing their Criterion editions. I live in Toronto and bought my edition of Godzilla off the shelf for 26.95. You are better advised to order from the Criterion website, or best yet, DVD Planet ($20 for criterion Godzilla!) in order to guarantee best price and a proper exchange rate. even with the shipping you're saving far more than the HST.
Published on Jan. 29 2012 by Waltoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best...Even WITH Raymond Burr, March 27 2004
By 
For any movie to merit a sequel, or 22 sequels for that matter, it has to be special. "Gojira" stands on the lofty summit with "Dracula"; "Frankenstein"; "Forbidden planet"; "War of the Worlds" and "2001: A Space Odyssey" as one of the great science fiction films of all time. What we have here is a synergy of a monster tale, a moral dilemma, and a powerful anti-war message. Together the film becomes a visionary tale of man trying to survive the fury of the Atom bomb made flesh. It examines the consequences of our sins, and asks directly if we have learned from our mistakes and what we are willing to do to prevent making those same mistakes again. "Gojira" is about the green big one, yes, but it also examines like no other film in the series the consequences of the monster's rampages. "Gojira" was made to be a drama first, a science fiction fantasy second. The film portrays real human suffering because of Godzilla's depredations. This draws the viewer wholeheartedly into the struggle of the Japanese people as they try to survive this catastrophe. As a drama, "Gojira" invests the time to develop characters who we can in turn invest in. Dr. Serizawa's dilemma at using his invention to save Japan at the possible cost of the world is brilliantly acted. As is Emiko Yamane's torment at having to betray her fiancée to a man she really loves in order to save Japan from Godzilla. The film doesn't shy away from messy solutions either. Like most science fiction films, the scientist uses an invention to destroy the monster at the end of the film. Unlike most science fiction films, the scientist chooses to die with his invention rather than let it be used for evil ends. It is this kind of daring and innovative filmmaking that lifted "Gojira" above the multitude of other 50's radioactive monster films onto a level all its own. The final testament to the power of "Gojira" is that it is the only old Godzilla film that is not diminished when adapted for an English speaking audience. Rather, the addition extra scenes with Raymond Burr as reporter Steve Martin, add a clever and worthwhile perspective to the action unfolding in the film. If you only watch one Godzilla film - make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Contains the Original and Americanized versions., Nov. 7 2010
By 
Bill F. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Classic Media's BLU-RAY contains the original and uncut Japanese-language version of Ishiro Honda's Gojira (1954), as well as Godzilla, King of the Monsters (1956), the "Americanized" version starring Raymond Burr as a reporter covering Godzilla's rampage. You get BOTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific on Blu Ray, May 20 2012
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first Godzilla movie on Blu-Ray is very interesting because I think this classic is excellent to have. It is wonderful to see the black and white Godzilla movie in high defintion on Blu-Ray. Maybe they should have an english dubbed version just as if the other Godzilla movies have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the King, June 14 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The title pretty much says it all. Indeed, Godzilla is king of the monsters. This is in many ways the greatest of the Godzilla movies, particularly those of the original series. This first film was unique; indeed, some may not realize just how serious-minded a movie this was. The theme of this movie can clearly be seen as an indictment of the use of nuclear weapons; the images of a devastated Tokyo bespeak themselves closely of the real-life scenes in Hiroshima and Nagasaki following the atomic bombs dropped on those cities. Coming just over a decade after the end of World War II, the message condemning nuclear proliferation is understandable and easily understood. Nuclear tests gave birth to Godzilla, unleashing a havoc that proved all but impossible to contain. Only a scientific miracle of sorts and a good bit of luck saved Tokyo (and presumably the rest of the world) from the unspeakable horror unleashed by man's experiments with a weapon of mass destruction.

We tend to see Godzilla now in comical terms, due largely to later films starring the big lizard, but the debut of Godzilla must truly have seemed horrific to film audiences in the 1950s. The monster's first appearance, as his head rises up over the crest of a hill, is very well conceived and impressively presented. For the most part, the special effects in this film are excellent. The fact that this movie is in black and white helps a great deal in this regard, I believe. In no way does Godzilla appear as a man wearing a rubber suit; the face and mouth seemed particularly well done and realistic to me, and I was most impressed by the way the creature's eyes seemed to bug out at times. There was one scene involving a helicopter being blown over that bespoke the word "model," but everything else, especially Godzilla's destructive march through Tokyo, seemed very well done and quite realistic enough for me. Not until the new Godzilla series of the 1990s would the monster look so monstrous. The music is very well done and adds much to the atmosphere of horror evoked by the destruction and menace of the monster.

I have not seen the original Japanese version of the movie, but I imagine it would be even better than the Americanized version featuring Raymond Burr. For the most part, Burr's insertions into the film were well done and presented no continuity problems. It does seem strange that an American, and a reporter at that, should so easily be taken into the confidence of Japan's military and scientific leaders, but this feeling is quite assuaged by the knowledge that young boys, no matter how annoying they might be, are commonly given the same privilege in a spate of later Japanese monster movies. Burr's acting is a little overdramatic after he is injured, and he tends to look like a prop smoking a pipe in many of the scenes leading up to the climax, but I cannot bring myself to give this movie less than five stars. I am sure, however, that the original Japanese version is much better and much more powerful, especially in the anti-nuclear message it evokes. It is unfortunate that American distributors apparently chose to remove a number of images they viewed as too uncomfortable for Cold War audiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese version is the version to watch!, Jan. 25 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had not seen the Japanese version of this film since I was a kid. Needless to say between the subtitles and the medophors it was beyond me. I had seen the Americanized version a couple of times but was never overly impressed. I have always liked the Godzilla series of films but I kind of like them because they are so over the top and...well...bad. So when I saw Criterion was putting a version out I was really surprised. But everything I read was about how good the Japanese version is. Figured worse case I would be that much closer to collecting all the films. Man was I surprised how great a film this is. Where the Americanized version is really just another monster movie the version from Japan is much more. It deals with the fear of the atom bomb (this film was made less then a decade after the dropping of the A bombs) and since the world was probably still pretty ticked off about World War 2 I don't think a Japanese anti nuke film would go down well but do it all with Medophors and you can get away with it. This film is dark. The ending is much darker then anything being done in Hollywood at the time. If get a chance and you like great films you should give this one a shot. I was really surprised at how great this film really is. Oh and to put you mind to rest the peice of crap american Mathew Brodrick version is not a remake of this film. They came up with that crap all on their own!
One more point. This is not just a great Godzilla film it's a great film period! You don't have to like monster movies to enjoy it. Much in the same way people enjoy the original Frankenstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy from here, Jan. 29 2012
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
amazon.ca is grossly over-pricing their Criterion editions. I live in Toronto and bought my edition of Godzilla off the shelf for 26.95. You are better advised to order from the Criterion website, or best yet, DVD Planet ($20 for criterion Godzilla!) in order to guarantee best price and a proper exchange rate. even with the shipping you're saving far more than the HST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I HATE RAYMOND BURR, March 20 2004
By 
The only reason i didnt rate this as a 5 because of Raymond Burr
splice part.First off the reason they put him in there because
they wanto up the sale on godzilla in the U.S. and show more interest.This Movie tells it all that all I have to Say.Costume,
music,suspence and etc all good.Must have G fan Movie.
P.S.:Suggest you find the original japanese verison which is
longer and no Raymon Burr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can someone explain, Jan. 27 2012
By 
This review is from: Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
please why there is a difference of nearly +$15.00 between the Amazon US price and the Amazon CAN price when there's not that much difference in the exchange rate? (rated one star just so I can ask the question)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!, July 21 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun movie, provided that you're not expecting the visceral experience that comes with more true-to-life special effects (as available today). Not sure if points where the sound is tiny and the contrast is so dark that it is difficult to make things out are as per the original, yet they detract from the experience to a certain degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tokyo is burning., Sept. 23 2010
This review is from: Godzilla:King Of The Monst (DVD)
it is very good. but lacks bonus features, i should know because i own three dvds of this movie. i have not seen the original japanese one. but it is something i would like because i am a sci-fi mega fan. Although this movie is worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba35b294)

This product

Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
Godzilla (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] by Ishirô Honda (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 35.00
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews