Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more like R.E. Howard's character
If you like the Arnold movies... (they broke my heart) this will be quite different, this is much more bloody and without the cheesy humour and sidekicks some people must have loved (and I hated, Conan wasn't funny and didn't have a goofy Asian wizard pals). But if you've actually read Robert E. Howard's (1906-1936) Conan stories, it's a whole lot closer then Arnold's...
Published on March 21 2012 by Bill F. Armitage

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie is a waste.
The story is very primitive and shallow, 21st century technology is too obvious for ancient warriors....their makeup, armory, shoes, hairstyles, etc. Don't waste your time and money for this movie, the older version of Conan with Arnold Schwarzenegger is much better.
Published 9 months ago by Blade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie is a waste., Oct. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian (DVD)
The story is very primitive and shallow, 21st century technology is too obvious for ancient warriors....their makeup, armory, shoes, hairstyles, etc. Don't waste your time and money for this movie, the older version of Conan with Arnold Schwarzenegger is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more like R.E. Howard's character, March 21 2012
By 
Bill F. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If you like the Arnold movies... (they broke my heart) this will be quite different, this is much more bloody and without the cheesy humour and sidekicks some people must have loved (and I hated, Conan wasn't funny and didn't have a goofy Asian wizard pals). But if you've actually read Robert E. Howard's (1906-1936) Conan stories, it's a whole lot closer then Arnold's stumbling fool. It's odd, the quote people made fun of "I live, I love, I slay -- I am content"... is actually right out of the books.
I think the fault of this movie was trying to incorporate some of the Arnold Schwarzenegger films story line into it. The whole vengeance on the people who killed his family has nothing to do with Robert E. Howard's Conan, the same with the riddle of steel stuff. Also, why is he in a dress? And what's with the obviously silly swords, (two blades?) while not as bad as the helmet worn by Mickey Rourke in The Immortals, or Russell Crowe's chrome job in Gladiator... it's obvious the designers wanted something new and cool, but stood out as "simply wrong". To me anyways.
Either way, I enjoyed it and would gladly watch a few more sequels, specially if they're closer to the books. When the books are that good, you don't have to stray from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not barbaric enough., Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed the world that was created in this movie. I feel it was let down by the performance of some of the actors. When the original came along it redefined the genre. This new one had a great look but that's about it. The film would have benefitted from being grittier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sexist, boring and a waste of talent, Oct. 15 2013
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian (DVD)
I wanted to see this film because I love a good warrior movie and I must admit, as a female viewer I was curious to see Jason Momoa in the role of Conan. Unfortunately, I was completely turned off by his character’s sexist comments and condescending demeanor toward his love interest, Tamara. I was also disappointed by her character who comes across as rather uninteresting: while she is not dumb, neither is she particularly clever, and while she can defend herself, she can’t really fight.

I didn’t like that Tamara doesn’t really put up a fight when Conan talks down to her, or the fact that she doesn’t even try to escape when he holds her prisoner. That makes absolutely no sense. No woman in her right mind would stick around someone, especially a stranger, who is so disrespectful and condescending (particularly one who stuffs her mouth to shut her up), no matter how good looking.

I appreciate strong female characters and I could not identify with her at all, who is mostly helpless. I would have liked her to have more spunk, more personality and more of an active role. Nor did I find her relationship with Conan believable; there’s no chemistry between the two. They are both very one-dimensional and a rather boring match. Actually, the character of Tamara is a bit more likable than Conan, who is downright despicable. I’m sorry to say the only thing I liked about the main character is the actor.

As for the story line, well, there is none: it’s completely predictable from beginning to end and very poorly written. Sure there are great special effects and action sequences, but as far as I’m concerned, when there’s no substance, I soon tire of the artifice.

Making this movie was a waste of time, money and talent. I’d rather watch Game of Thrones a hundred times over. At least in it, both the characters of Drogo and Daeneris have personality, courage and depth. And it’s enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONAN THE BARBARIAN (2011) blu ray...Great audio/video transfer (2D) with a great price!, July 13 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The following review is based on the 2D version.

VIDEO:

Conan The Barbarian (2011) arrives at blu ray with MPEG AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. Conan the Barbarian may not have a lot to offer in terms of plot, character or fun, but from a purely visual standpoint, it's an amazing looking film, with a fantastic transfer. The video comes with razor-sharp clarity in most every scene, particularly in bright daylight exteriors where clothing and hair is distinct. Facial complexions, especially in close-ups, are revealing with lifelike texture and natural skin tones. It is full of vivid, gory excitement and tons of blood-soaked eye candy. Colours pop really well, and of course the crimson reds of the copious blood look fantastically robust and well saturated. Fine detail is excellent throughout. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Conan the Barbarian's lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 mix is pure sonic delight. It starts right off the bat with the Lionsgate logo, which has chunky mechanical noises and a few squeaks and creaks populating the surrounds, seemingly more so than usual. That's just the tip of the sonic iceberg, for once the film starts, there is a virtual nonstop array of fantastic effects zinging through the soundfield. (5/5)

MOVIE STORYLINE:

A quest that begins as a personal vendetta for the fierce Cimmerian warrior soon turns into an epic battle against hulking rivals, horrific monsters, and impossible odds, as Conan realizes he is the only hope of saving the great nations of Hyboria from an encroaching reign of supernatural evil. Movie (3.5/5)

TRIVIA & GOOFS:

It has an estimated budget of $70 million, but only grossed $20 million. A definite flop as far as box office return is concerned.

During the chase scene when Tamara flees the temple, Conan's sword repeatedly disappears and reappears in between shots as he pursues Remo.

During the chase scene; just after Tamara disconnects the coach that she was riding in from the horses that she is now riding, you see the coach tip forward, roll and shatter apart. In the next shot the coach is whole again and lands on the front and shatters for a second time.

During the fight on the ship, it starts of being night, but ends being with the sun out.

FINAL THOUGHT:

This blu ray release arrives in spectacular fashion with splendid video and reference audio. The storyline is very hollow. I bought the 3D/2D version with DVD and digital copy for only $9.99, a definite offer that I cannot refuse. The 3D version was apparently a post-production job like Clash of the Titans ' uninspiring. However, the price is definitely right, and the video, and especially the audio transfer, are top-notched. For this price, I would highly recommended it.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I love mindless action films. But this movie is terrible, there is no fun to be had in this film, Jason Mamoa doesn't seem to enjoy the role, the story is non-existent, and the villains are generic and predictable. The special features are very light and the audio and visual quality is respectable. I can only recommend this to hardcore Conan fans, otherwise save your money for a better film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, Dec 7 2011
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
After Conan the Destroyer, I didn't think they could make a worse Conan movie, but they've succeeded. The plot was actually okay, but other than the villains, the acting was horrible. The script was drivel. The action scenes were so fast and jumpy cam, I thought I was having a seizure. The bloodletting was more an attempt to shock audiences than part of the brutal Hyborian world of Robert E. Howard. The scene where Conan was torturing an informant through his missing nose was so gross and needless we almost walked out of the theatre. Fans of the genre will be hugely dissapointed. It is sad that the only film rendition of our favorite Cimmerian that remotely resembles Howard's work was the original Conan (Arnold) movie. Are they ever going to get this right? Wish they'd get the Conan "Red Nails" animated movie off the ground. It has to be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THUD!!!!! Jason Momoa, Yowser!, April 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This man looks amazing on Blu ray! Hold on a sec....have to wipe my drool...did a little gutter straying..... The picture looks great, special effects look amazing. Super sexy hunk, some lady parts for the boys, its aaalllll good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian (DVD)
It is a good entertaining movie lots of action some thought provoking scenes. It is worth watching for sure.enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Conan the Barbarian Blu-ray, March 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Most viewers won't remember what brought the Conan books back to prominence in the 60's. It was almost solely due to the work of the great cover artist Frank Frazetta. Frazetta's covers were as wild and frenetic as the Conan stories. His covers sold books just by themselves. Even to this day you can't pick up a sword and sandal book or comic without seeing Frazetta's influence.
I mention this because Jason Momoa is more like the Conan on a Frazetta cover than Schwarzenegger.

Most viewers will think that Schwarzenegger is the definitive Conan but if truth were told all of the Schwarzenegger Conan movies were just awful. The acting by everyone was cheesy and bad, particularly the gutturally grunting Schwarzenegger. Even the director John Milius knew its was a big ball of cheese. That's why he insisted that the music score had to memorable. Milius wanted something of quality to stand out in the movie.

I think Jason Mamoa's could have put a little more character into his version of Conan. He looks the part but there's little soul to the character of Conan. Having said that, if you have grown up looking at Frazetta's covers you will appreciate Momoa's Conan over the Schwarzenegger cheeseball version. You should also be able to recognize snippets of Frazetta's influence in the movie as I read that they incorporated some of his cover ideas into the movie (the cover of the Blu-ray is an example). Needless to say this looks great in Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conan the Barbarian - Conan le barbare [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 21.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews