Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the films, but the packaging isn't great.
These films are fantastic. I was a big fan of the theatrical releases and the "miniseries" versions are even better. I love that the whole story is broken up into six 90-minute parts, which facilitates viewing. The one criticism I have is the packaging: the discs slide in and out of the paper sleeves, and several of the discs I received were scratched (but viewable)...
Published on Jan. 13 2012 by AT

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware ' Canadian edition is missing the extras
An excellent set of films, contains the entire Swedish mini-series (6 x 1.5hr episodes) and at a reasonably high quality. But the big drawback here is the lack of extras on the Canadian edition. The set as purchased is NOT as advertised. The only extras it contains are the same ones that Alliance originally released with the separate movie discs. The one hour making-of...
Published on May 4 2012 by Cannucklehead Film Addict


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware ' Canadian edition is missing the extras, May 4 2012
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy: Extended Edition (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
An excellent set of films, contains the entire Swedish mini-series (6 x 1.5hr episodes) and at a reasonably high quality. But the big drawback here is the lack of extras on the Canadian edition. The set as purchased is NOT as advertised. The only extras it contains are the same ones that Alliance originally released with the separate movie discs. The one hour making-of documentary which is said to be here is simply missing in action. It apparently only comes with the American blu-rays. If you want the full complement of extras, BOYCOTT THIS CANADIAN EDITION, as, once again, Alliance, holder of Canadian rights, distributes an INFERIOR product, while allowing Amazon mistakenly to advertise it as identical to the US version. Save your hard-earned bucks and vote against Alliance's cheap practises by getting the US edition. Don't get ripped off like I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the films, but the packaging isn't great., Jan. 13 2012
By 
These films are fantastic. I was a big fan of the theatrical releases and the "miniseries" versions are even better. I love that the whole story is broken up into six 90-minute parts, which facilitates viewing. The one criticism I have is the packaging: the discs slide in and out of the paper sleeves, and several of the discs I received were scratched (but viewable) upon first opening, despite my taking great care in avoiding the under surface dragging across the paper as I removed them. So, if you're picky like me about pristine condition discs, maybe think twice about this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, May 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy: Extended Edition (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
wife and me found these series one of the best we have ever watched.also to have the choice of how to watch it with dubing or subtitles.wife having read the books helped me understand what i could not figure out.great MOVIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 20 2013
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy: Extended Edition (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
Very disappointed to learn that the Canadian version of this collection does not, in fact, contain the "extras" as described. Frankly, I could live without the extras, as I rarely watch them on most features, but the fact that the description here on Amazon.ca differs in content and packaging makes me very wary. What else might actually be different or missing when it arrives? In my opinion, the Canadian distributor and Amazon.ca need to sort this out. Either change the description to accurately reflect the product, or pull it off the site altogether. Thanks for the heads-up. I'll take a pass on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stieg Larson's Trilogy "Girl with the dragon Tattoo", April 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy: Extended Edition (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
This is an outstanding thriller / drama. The set now includes options for Swedish, English or French dialogue and the English dubbing is excellent. One of the best movie series I have watched in a long time. Don't hesitate to buy this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The girl in a bleak world, Oct. 26 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
The late Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy was all about cruelty towards women -- and the movie adaptations don't hold back either. These are bleak, dark thrillers filled with razor-sharp social commentary, bloody action and conspiracies -- and brilliant performances by Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace.

In "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo," take-no-prisoners journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist) has just lost his reputation, his savings and his freedom (hello, jail sentence!) after a nasty libel suit from an executive named Wennerström.

Then he's unexpectedly contacted by aged industrialist Henrik Vanger, to discover what happened to the guy's grandniece. He's offering evidence on Wennerström, so Mikael has no choice but to accept -- and as he investigates the sinister Vanger family, he joins forces with Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace), an eccentric, abused computer hacker. And as Mikael unearths the clues to Harriet's disappearance, he also finds some skeletons long kept buried.

"The Girl Who Played With Fire" finds Mikael investigating sex trafficking in his own country, and young girls who are sold into it. Unknown to him, Lisbeth is keeping very close tabs on his work -- especially since she was abused as a child, and now plots revenge on the sex traffickers. But when she's accused of murder and ends up on the run, Mikael must discover what lies at the core of these crimes...

And finally, "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest": Lisbeth has been shot in the head, her malevolent father Zalachenko is in the same hospital claiming that she tried to kill him, and some nasty government forces want her locked away, as she was as a child. Her only hope lies in Mikael, who must unravel a government conspiracy formed around the young hacker...

"The Stieg Larsson Trilogy" takes the usual mystery/thriller plots and promptly turns them on their heads. They take place in a dark, dangerous, unfair world where the truth is quashed and women are treated horribly -- and no one more so than the eccentric, angry "girl with the dragon tattoo."

And the movies translate Larsson's novels beautifully. Niels Arden Oplev gives a raw, bone-chilling power to the first movie; Daniel Alfredson doesn't have quite the same kinetic touch, but both men do brilliant jobs with their films. And they weave in some horribly disturbing scenes (the ghastly, helpless rape of Lisbeth by her corrupt "guardian" -- followed by a gleefully horrific scene where she gets her revenge).

And Mikael and Salander make an intriguing odd couple -- Nyquist's journalist starts world-weary and demoralized that he seems to care about nothing, but regains his passion for the truth. And Rapace is absolutely electric as Lisbeth, who is one of the most devastatingly brilliant characters in modern cinema -- she's a wild, bleeding creature hiding her bruises behind a mask of piercings and jet-dyed hair, and whose torn-up heart begins to heal when she meets Mikael.

"The Steig Larsson Trilogy" is a powerful trio of movies that never stops hitting you in the gut when you least expect it. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars French ONLY - no English subtitles, Jan. 5 2011
By 
Tim Reid-Wilkinson (Oakville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Millenium: La Trilogie (DVD)
Beware, if you are looking for the English version of the Millenium Trilogy (based on Stieg Larson's Girl With The Dragon Tattoo books) this is not it. THERE ARE NO ENGLISH SUBTITLES ON THESE DVD's. This version is in Swedish and French. The subtitle options on the DVD are On and Off. Subtitles "On" plays the movie with French subtitles and Swedish dialog, and "Off" plays the movie with a French overdub. The movie is very good but the Amazon product description should include this information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scratched and unusable, Sept. 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The DVD's arrived fairly quickly. Unfortunately, every one of the six DVD's were scratched. Watching the movies were impossible as we couldn't get past a certain point. There was a big glob of glue on one of the disc's!! I can't believe Amazon would sell a product that is so badly damaged. I read other reviews, and saw the same thing, but ordered the set anyways. Never again. I will buy my movies elsewhere from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Trilogy, March 20 2014
By 
Brittany (wainwright, ab, canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a really good trilogy set. I quite enjoyed the storyline. I felt that they could have chose a better looking lead male character, but hey that's just my opinion. I really like how the movie continued on. It was a mystery the whole time through. Great movie set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steig Larson, Feb. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the books and really enjoyed them. These movies were a great and close interpretation and I was really upset to find out that their all we'll ever get from this author, as he died when the last book was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews