Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
The late Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy was all about cruelty towards women -- and the movie adaptations don't hold back either. These are bleak, dark thrillers filled with razor-sharp social commentary, bloody action and conspiracies -- and brilliant performances by Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace.

In "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo," take-no-prisoners journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist) has just lost his reputation, his savings and his freedom (hello, jail sentence!) after a nasty libel suit from an executive named Wennerström.

Then he's unexpectedly contacted by aged industrialist Henrik Vanger, to discover what happened to the guy's grandniece. He's offering evidence on Wennerström, so Mikael has no choice but to accept -- and as he investigates the sinister Vanger family, he joins forces with Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace), an eccentric, abused computer hacker. And as Mikael unearths the clues to Harriet's disappearance, he also finds some skeletons long kept buried.

"The Girl Who Played With Fire" finds Mikael investigating sex trafficking in his own country, and young girls who are sold into it. Unknown to him, Lisbeth is keeping very close tabs on his work -- especially since she was abused as a child, and now plots revenge on the sex traffickers. But when she's accused of murder and ends up on the run, Mikael must discover what lies at the core of these crimes...

And finally, "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest": Lisbeth has been shot in the head, her malevolent father Zalachenko is in the same hospital claiming that she tried to kill him, and some nasty government forces want her locked away, as she was as a child. Her only hope lies in Mikael, who must unravel a government conspiracy formed around the young hacker...

"The Stieg Larsson Trilogy" takes the usual mystery/thriller plots and promptly turns them on their heads. They take place in a dark, dangerous, unfair world where the truth is quashed and women are treated horribly -- and no one more so than the eccentric, angry "girl with the dragon tattoo."

And the movies translate Larsson's novels beautifully. Niels Arden Oplev gives a raw, bone-chilling power to the first movie; Daniel Alfredson doesn't have quite the same kinetic touch, but both men do brilliant jobs with their films. And they weave in some horribly disturbing scenes (the ghastly, helpless rape of Lisbeth by her corrupt "guardian" -- followed by a gleefully horrific scene where she gets her revenge).

And Mikael and Salander make an intriguing odd couple -- Nyquist's journalist starts world-weary and demoralized that he seems to care about nothing, but regains his passion for the truth. And Rapace is absolutely electric as Lisbeth, who is one of the most devastatingly brilliant characters in modern cinema -- she's a wild, bleeding creature hiding her bruises behind a mask of piercings and jet-dyed hair, and whose torn-up heart begins to heal when she meets Mikael.

"The Steig Larsson Trilogy" is a powerful trio of movies that never stops hitting you in the gut when you least expect it. Absolutely brilliant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
An excellent set of films, contains the entire Swedish mini-series (6 x 1.5hr episodes) and at a reasonably high quality. But the big drawback here is the lack of extras on the Canadian edition. The set as purchased is NOT as advertised. The only extras it contains are the same ones that Alliance originally released with the separate movie discs. The one hour making-of documentary which is said to be here is simply missing in action. It apparently only comes with the American blu-rays. If you want the full complement of extras, BOYCOTT THIS CANADIAN EDITION, as, once again, Alliance, holder of Canadian rights, distributes an INFERIOR product, while allowing Amazon mistakenly to advertise it as identical to the US version. Save your hard-earned bucks and vote against Alliance's cheap practises by getting the US edition. Don't get ripped off like I was.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on May 20, 2013
Very disappointed to learn that the Canadian version of this collection does not, in fact, contain the "extras" as described. Frankly, I could live without the extras, as I rarely watch them on most features, but the fact that the description here on differs in content and packaging makes me very wary. What else might actually be different or missing when it arrives? In my opinion, the Canadian distributor and need to sort this out. Either change the description to accurately reflect the product, or pull it off the site altogether. Thanks for the heads-up. I'll take a pass on this one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 3, 2015
Just wanted to point out that this blu-ray trilogy that Alliance released here in Canada on December 6th, 2011 DOES indeed have 4 discs. The special features disc IS included with this set. It also features the original Swedish track and English & French dubbed tracks in 5.1 DTS HD-MA surround sound. English and French subtitles are included. Also, these are the extended cuts of the film.

The negative reviews you are reading on this site about this release having no bonus disc are from another blu-ray trilogy set that Alliance released on May 10th, 2011. Those were only the 'theatrical' cuts of the films, contained only Swedish and English 5.1 dolby digital tracks, had English only subtitles, and contained only 3 discs. As far as I know, Alliance (now eOne) does not sell this set anymore.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2013
Larsson's trilogy is one the best novels published after 2000. In comparison, Dan Brown's productions are much less stimulating, inspiring or worthy of admiration.

The six 90-minutes CDs were shot for a Sweden's TV chain, but the producers elected to issue first three movies (totaling 6 hours); the latter are interesting but the full six 90-minutes episodes are truly wonderful.

And please don't pay attention to the American Hollywoodian version of vol. 1 (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), starring a totally misacted and miscasted Daniel Craig. Not to mention that the actress personifying Lisbeth Salander is no match for Noomi Rapace, the actress who personified LS in the original production.

Read the books one by one, and then get to view the corresponding CDs. Lisbeth Salander is not an ordinary person but she needs love. As each human being.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2011
Beware, if you are looking for the English version of the Millenium Trilogy (based on Stieg Larson's Girl With The Dragon Tattoo books) this is not it. THERE ARE NO ENGLISH SUBTITLES ON THESE DVD's. This version is in Swedish and French. The subtitle options on the DVD are On and Off. Subtitles "On" plays the movie with French subtitles and Swedish dialog, and "Off" plays the movie with a French overdub. The movie is very good but the Amazon product description should include this information.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2012
This is an outstanding thriller / drama. The set now includes options for Swedish, English or French dialogue and the English dubbing is excellent. One of the best movie series I have watched in a long time. Don't hesitate to buy this set.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
The DVD's arrived fairly quickly. Unfortunately, every one of the six DVD's were scratched. Watching the movies were impossible as we couldn't get past a certain point. There was a big glob of glue on one of the disc's!! I can't believe Amazon would sell a product that is so badly damaged. I read other reviews, and saw the same thing, but ordered the set anyways. Never again. I will buy my movies elsewhere from now on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2011
The 1 star rating is for the fact that originally advertised this item as 'Millenium Trilogy', implying it was the English version. It has since been changed to a full French listing, but still no information in the product description about the subtitles and dubbing being available only in French and not in English.

Actual movies are great! Would receive 5 stars if only rating the actual movies!

Also, really peeved about reviewers who put up reviews about items without actually owning the actual item. I based my purchase on echo qc's review because I read 'Buy it, you wont regret it. I watched it in swedish with english subtitles...', implying the bluray's were English too. It was the only review available at that time, and I'm pretty sure echo qc's inaccurate review misled others too.

On the bright side,'s customer service is A+! First time I had to return an item and it was painless, and free!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
I was also disappointed that this item arrived without the promised description of "Millennium: The Story A 53-minute documentary detailing the phenomenon of the "Millennium Trilogy" and a brief biography of brilliant author Stieg Larsson, noting that the author died tragically before even seeing The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo published." That was not part of my DVD set which arrived here in Canada. Misleading listing here for saying this was part of the DVD set.

I was even more upset by the packaging. Amazon did ok, even though the cheap cardboard packaging of the DVD set was bent up a bit as my mail carrier jammed it into my mailbox. The box set itself though was terrible and the worst I've ever ordered. When I pulled out several of the DVDs from the case and looked at the back to inspect them, 2 were covered with this goo that was hard to get off without scratching the dvds. It was like grease or hot glue that was still in a semi-soft state, and even trying to get it off with a micro fiber cloth rubbing from the center to the edge of the dvd was near impossible.

So being mislead about the product from the start, and then receiving damaged goods, I am not pleased. The content itself I am very happy to finally be able to watch but this has been a miserable experience. Other people in the reviews also said their items were damaged. Usually when I buy a DVD set like this, I expect the original packaging to be the best place to store it and this has been the case in the past. With this item I'm going to have to remove the DVDs immediately though since the case is contaminated with some sticky substance and cardboard isn't how any DVD or CD I ever bought was packaged in the past. Terrible.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse