Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your typical action movie
The story is typical - a group of tough guys who do the right thing. They get a job and fly to some tropical island where an American drug dealer is forcing the army to obey him in exchange for money. People are suffering and life has become dangerous. Stallone is the leader of the tough guy group and even though they decide not to pursue this job further, later they get...
Published on Dec 13 2010 by Cozy Evenings with a Book

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kapow
Bing! bang! boom! Kapow, typical action movie, with a short story line and lots of FX. Nice to see all these action movie actors toghether in their element.
Published on Dec 29 2010 by Cah-Ling Carisse


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your typical action movie, Dec 13 2010
The story is typical - a group of tough guys who do the right thing. They get a job and fly to some tropical island where an American drug dealer is forcing the army to obey him in exchange for money. People are suffering and life has become dangerous. Stallone is the leader of the tough guy group and even though they decide not to pursue this job further, later they get touchy feelings and decide to save the poor citizens from the bad American drug lord.

This movie has almost all the famous action movie stars but the action itself is nothing new. It is a lot of fun though just to watch these actors all come together in one movie. There are a lot of jokes back and forth and it is comical. The plot has absolutely nothing new and the genre itself is between action and comedy.

There are better action movies out there and this movie just seemed like all of these guys got together for a good time. Worth a watch just to see all the action heroes again, but not worth keeping, i'm personally not watching this the 2nd time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big booming surprise., Jan. 20 2012
I wasn't holding out much hope for this film, I mean, how does one deal with all the egos? The film was cliched, ham fisted, more than a tad shallow and totally self serving, ludicrous is a word I was use too, and having said that I LOVED THIS PICTURE. My Lord what a guilty pleasure. Waaaay too much fun. Heck even my wife liked it. I'm not going to tell you who is in it, nor blow some of the best lines, just go get the damn thing. I can not wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Good Fun, April 1 2012
I watched this movie with my husband and we both enjoyed it quite a bit. It had a little bit of everything, action, humor, fight scenes, explosions, car chases and the list of celebrities in this movie is great. So if you're looking for a great action flick that you can enjoy with your significant other, this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kapow, Dec 29 2010
Bing! bang! boom! Kapow, typical action movie, with a short story line and lots of FX. Nice to see all these action movie actors toghether in their element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy], Oct. 16 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
THE EXPENDABLES [Uncut Version] [2010] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] The Most Awesome Action Cast Ever Assembled! An Absolute Blast!

In this uncut version of the smash hit action blockbuster ‘The Expendables.’ Sylvester Stallone stars as Barney Ross, leader of The Expendables, a tight-knit team of skilled combat vets turned mercenaries. Hired by a powerful covert operator, the team jets off to a small South American country to overthrow a ruthless dictator.

Once there, they find themselves caught in a deadly web of deceit and betrayal. Using every weapon at their disposal, they set out to save the innocent and punish the guilty in this blistering action-packed thriller.

Cast: Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren, Gunner Jensen, Randy Couture, Terry Crews, Mickey Rourke, Eric Roberts, Steve Austin, David Zayas, Giselle Itié, Charisma Carpenter, Gary Daniels, Amin Joseph, Senyo Amoaku, Hank Amos, Lauren Jones, Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger

Director: Sylvester Stallone

Producers: Avi Lerner, John Thompson and Kevin King Templeton

Screenplay: David Callaham and Sylvester Stallone

Composer: Brian Tyler

Cinematography: Jeffrey L. Kimball

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: English and English SDH

Running Time: 103 minutes

Region: Region B/2

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Lionsgate Home Entertainment UK Ltd

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Jean-Claude Van Damme? Steven Seagal? They’re conspicuous by their absence in ‘The Expendables,’ Sylvester Stallone’s game reunion of meathead action icons. On the other hand we get heavy lifting from Jason Statham, a far more charismatic star than the Steven Seagal ever was, and the most likeable presence in the film. But he, Sylvester Stallone and third-billed Jet Li belong to entirely different traditions of bone-crunching thuggery.

Let’s face it; the film we wanted was a gang’s-all-here nostalgia trip for various crumbling relics of the video age. Swedish beefcake Dolph Lundgren tags along, but not for long; Sly’s Planet Hollywood co‑founders Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger agree to a cameo scene trading insults in a church.

Sylvester Stallone’s Peckinpah-ish gang of motley mercenaries are tasked to take down a South American dictator, General Gaza [David Zayas], on the made-up island of Vilena. He has an obligatory beautiful daughter [Giselle Itie] and a shady ally in the shape of a rogue ex-CIA man [Eric Roberts]. Everything that made Eric Roberts an unbearable leading man through much of the Eighties qualifies him as a spiffing baddie.

There are enough good moments to fend off disaster. Jason Statham popping out of a propeller plane’s nose to strafe a bunch of goons on a jetty gives you the ridiculous kick that’s been missing from too many of the summer’s noisome blockbusters. Sylvester Stallone’s avoidance of CGI overkill is certainly a mercy– at least until he goes explosion-crazy. But it’s Mickey Rourke, sitting out the action in a tattoo parlour, who gives the movie its only injection of soul, in a monologue that pays off like a depth charge, leaving you wondering, in all sorts of ways, what might have been.

‘The Expendables’ is the name given in this film to the scarred clutch of weathered mercenaries who are led, written and directed by the inimitable Sylvester Stallone. Among the oldies alongside Stallone are Dolph Lundgren – the granite-jawed blond from Rocky IV – Bruce Willis, and Mickey Rourke. Even Arnie Schwarzenegger appears for a cameo and a spot of appallingly clunky verbal sparring with Sylvester Stallone.

As a faithful devotee of the action genre, he wants to give it to the audience straight, without too many devilish computer tricks. I craved rather more of Mickey Rourke, the group’s co-ordinator – who first appears like some lunatic, tattooed shaman with a cheerfully plastic blonde dangling from the back of his motorbike – but he is kept away from the meat of the action, as though his flamboyance might prove too great a distraction.

The film’s plot is just enough to pin a string of battles on: at the behest of a CIA front-man [Bruce Willis], the Expendables are dispatched to overturn the rotten government of a tin-pot state called Vilena, where a suavely evil American drugs baron, James Munroe [Eric Roberts] is bullying a weak general [David Zayas] into enacting various forms of oppression. The General’s daughter [Giselle Itié] is spiritedly leading the opposition, and it falls to Sly and his men to save her from rape, torture and murder.

You can tell 'The Expendables' was a labour of love for Sylvester Stallone from the beginning to very end credits. And getting this Blu-ray and watching all of the special features, that I realised just how much passion Sylvester Stallone put into this film and I think he has done a fantastic job and is an all action packed film from start to finish. I also was so surprised with the extras, how intelligent and articulate Sylvester Stallone I wish when he acts in films would speak as clear in the extras. So overall this is a brilliant action-packed film that kept me entertained the whole 103 minutes.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘The Expendables’ blasts its way onto Blu-ray with a very sharp looking encoded transfer in 1080p and 2.40:1. Stallone stages a lot of this film in a cool, blue-tinged darkness, and that icy black look is incredibly well detailed, proving this disc's exceptional contrast and remarkable black levels. When Giselle Itié is being held in a cell which has virtually no light, the outlines of her jet black hair can still be plainly seen against the overall shadows of the interior. In fact fine detail is exceptional throughout this enterprise. While some cynics may argue that the lack of skin pores and waxy complexions may hint at DNR [Gigital Noise Reduction], those with any knowledge of contemporary cosmetic techniques will only see the prevalence of botox. Close-ups in fact reveal a wealth of detail, not all of it flattering. What has happened to the left side of Sylvester Stallone's face, for example? Jet Li's pockmarks are also very visible. Colours are nicely robust, though somewhat muted in the darker scenes.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – If you're looking for a circa 2010 reference quality audio mix, look no further than ‘The Expendables.’ To say this lossless 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix is aggressive is a little like saying this film has a bit of testosterone going for it—it is, in other words, a major understatement. From the first rumbles of the Expendables' motorcycles, you know you're in for a sonic thumping, with some extraordinary surround sounds. This is easily one of the most robust tracks in recent memory and certainly is one of the most ear pummelling sonic journeys in recent action film history. Discrete effects are brilliantly strewn across the sound field, whether it be the silvery flash of a blade cutting through the air, or the gut churning "whomp" of a bazooka firing into a crowd. The final segment, which builds to an almost incredible level of sonic activity, is simply a riot of foley effects, with explosions, gunfire, collapsing buildings and thudding bodies cascading over each other in incredible surround activity. For the one or two seconds of quiet dialogue in this film, the DTS track is also spot on, providing exceptional fidelity and nice separation.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary with Sylvester Stallone: Sylvester Stallone is alone on the commentary, but there's something about the guy that keeps you listening all the way until the end. You wouldn't think it by looking at him, but the man is one of the most thoughtful directors I've ever had the pleasure of listening to. He delves deep into not only how he made the film, but why. He talks about his motivations, what it's like working with certain actors. He shares how he likes to direct because he's been on both sides of the camera and he knows how actors want to be treated. He dives into a world of psychology here with his characters and describes what really motivates them and pushes them to be who they are. This commentary is a must listen. Sylvester Stallone knows what he's talking about, and takes great pride in what he's made.

Bonus View: The Expendables [Ultimate Region Mode in-movie BonusView] This is a picture-in-picture option that plays along with the movie. It offers behind-the-scenes views of the sets that they used in each scene. It shows the crew at work creating the scene that you're seeing. Stallone's commentary is spliced in at certain segments and used to supplement the experience. There are also points where members of the crew show up and the movie shrinks into a little window as the crew member talks about certain subjects. The first of these is when one of the producer’s shows up and describes the time and effort that went into the shoot in New Orleans when Statham goes to his girlfriend's house.

Gag Reel [SD] [5:03] Line flubs, and miscues. This is your standard gag reel. Most of the actors are already laughing and we don't know why. A few funny parts, but nothing you haven't seen a million times before.

Deleted Scene [SD] [1:00] Only one deleted scene here. It's more of an extended scene that was cut out at the beginning during the pirate scene. Dolph Lundgren tells a really bad, and mostly incomprehensible joke. I'm sure it was cut because of those two reasons.

Promo Gallery: Marketing Archive including Trailers and TV spots

Metamenu: Metamenu Remote

D-Box: D-BOX Motion Control Enabled

BD Touch: Lionsgate Live BD-Live menu system lets you access exclusive content, special offers, ringtones and more!

Bookmarks: With bookmarking you can mark favourite scenes or places in a disc to quickly find them again. More sophisticated DVD players let you bookmark several discs, and will remember your bookmarks even when the disc is removed. Many new Blu-ray models lack this feature.

Sneak Peeks: Drive Angry 3D Trailer

Finally, I love Sylvester Stallone as a director. He's dedicated to his craft, and becomes deeply immersed in whatever project he's working on. While 'The Expendables' didn't feel exactly like a return to the old action movies we used to love, it was definitely something we haven't seen for a while. I love it for all its cheesy macho madness, and for all its familiar action faces. The video, for the most part, is incredible, and the audio is going to rumble your house into oblivion. On top of that, there was some time and care put into these special features. This film is an unapologetic testosterone-fest, and as such it provides plenty of explosions, gunfights, hand to hand combat but perhaps surprisingly few nubile young women. Oh, well, you can't have everything. The cast here is game and is obviously in on the joke. If the film tries too hard to make it all have "meaning," thankfully it's not too long before something else blows up. This Blu-ray offers a substantial supplementary package, great visuals and a truly astounding sound mix. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't work, Jan. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
this Blu-ray does not work on my Blu-ray player and our computer witch is also Blu-ray
this is a good movie as we watched it on the tv but for some reason it won't work on Blu-ray player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Expendable: perfect gift for my grandpa!, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Growing up, I watched movies with Sylvester Stallone, Bruce Willis, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jet Li and all those guys! My grandfather was a huge fan of those actors! I huge fan of action movies! Don't need to have a precise mind blowing scenario or storyline, just "action, action, action"! So, I bought it for him for Christmas! Ordered it on Amazon, got it a couple of days later in perfect condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Action Heroes Still Have What It Takes, Aug. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Expendables was a little disappointing due to the darkness of many of the scenes - made it difficult to understand some of the actions happening. Lots of action but expected more from this star studded cast. We look forward to seeing Expendables 2 and 3 and hope for improvements in filming techniques and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suprise, the real deal!, Jan. 25 2011
By 
B. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off, any chance to check out Jason Statham kicking butt, is a chance worth taking.

Second, I wasn't expecting much, I kind of thought it might just be some campy film, but it really is a rock'n good'ol boys, bash and crash, action flic. What else can I say but I was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best pictures I have seen in a long time #1 ..., Sept. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
best pictures I have seen in a long time #1 and #2 .please make more of these. funny, action, all the great action stars. I love it. By the way, just to let you know, I'm 70 years old and I love action and these stars. All my favorites in one movie. Thanks for making my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expendables (Extended Director's Cut) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews