Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There's something that bothers me"
XXXXX

"Columbo" is a murder mystery television series, starring Peter Falk (1927 to 2011) as Lieutenant Columbo, a homicide detective with the Los Angeles Police Department.

This series popularized the inverted detective story format or "HowdHeCatchem" format where in almost every episode began by showing the commission of a murder by a killer...
Published on Aug. 18 2012 by Stephen Pletko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo is Columbo
I'm a nostalgia buff and most of the shows and movies I love date back to the late 1980's or the 1990's. Great DVD buys help feed that habit. This set of late Columbo movies is helping build my collection.

Not as good as classic early vintage Columbo, these 6 movies feature a gray and ageing Peter Falk reprising his classic role as the bumbling-but-brilliant...
Published 9 months ago by Vera


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There's something that bothers me", Aug. 18 2012
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
XXXXX

"Columbo" is a murder mystery television series, starring Peter Falk (1927 to 2011) as Lieutenant Columbo, a homicide detective with the Los Angeles Police Department.

This series popularized the inverted detective story format or "HowdHeCatchem" format where in almost every episode began by showing the commission of a murder by a killer. There is no "WhoDunIt" element.

The plot mainly revolves around the killer or killers, whose identity is already known to the audience, and how he, she, or they will be caught and exposed.

Columbo is a friendly, verbose, dishevelled-looking detective (his trademark attire is a rumpled raincoat over a suit and tie) of Italian decent who is consistently underestimated by his suspects. He has increasingly irritating, pestering behaviour with those he thinks committed the crime. Columbo has certain unforgettable catchphrases (one which titles this review).

The episodes were broadcast from (1968 to 1978) and from (1989 to 2003). There were 69 episodes (45 + 24) in total.

This collection contains the seven episodes that were televised in the years (1994 to 2003). They are presented in chronological sequence. The titles of these episodes and my brief impression of them are given below:

(1) Butterfly in shades of grey: 1 hr, 32 min; Guest star: William Shatner; Filmed in 1993; Excellent
(2) Undercover: 1 hr, 33 min; Guest stars: Ed Begley, Jr., Tyne Daly; Filmed in 1994; Deviates from a standard episode but acceptable

(3) Strange bedfellows: 1 hr, 33 min; Guest stars: George Wendt, Rod Steiger; Filmed in 1995; Obvious in parts but very good
(4) A trace of murder: 1 hr, 32 min; Filmed in 1997; Very good

(5) Ashes to ashes: 1 hr, 30 min; Filmed in 1998; Guest stars: Patrick McGoohan, Rue McClanahan, Sally Kellerman; Excellent
(6) Murder with too many notes: 1 hr, 29 min; Filmed in 1999; Very good although I had trouble with the solution to the crime
(7) Columbo likes the nightlife: 1 hr, 28 min; Filmed in 2003; Very good although I had trouble with the solution to the crime; This is the very last episode of the complete series.

In each episode, the screen goes black for a second or two between scenes.

Finally, this collection (which was released in 2012) has no extras.

In conclusion, this collection gives you a chance to see the legendary Peter Falk play the equally legendary trench coat-wearing Lieutenant Columbo. Oh! "Just one more thing." (I'm kidding! This is another Columbo catchphrase.)

**** 1/2

(1994 to 2003 ; 10 hr, 35 min; 7 episodes; 3 discs; 2 episodes per disc with the final disc having 3 episodes; wide screen)

<<Stephen PLETKO, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Columbo mystery Collection 1994-2003, Aug. 11 2013
By 
A. Loeffler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
This collection satisfies one's desire for well crafted mystery themes accompanied by a unique main character called Columbo. One can find themselves looking for the hidden clues to the crime as the story progresses but which are not revealed by the sleuthing of Columbo until near the end of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Columbo!!, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
This is amazing Columbo movies! I love Columbo! He is very calm and gentle in his way and this movie package was more of the same. The stories were well done and it was classic Columbo. I recommend this collection if you love Columbo. "Just one more thing..." It brings back great memories of watching this movie with my mom on Sunday afternoon for Columbo. A wonderful easy viewing movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twas a Gift, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
Mother loved this and she is still loving it. Peter Falk is a classic in these shows, what more can be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo is Columbo, Jan. 7 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
I'm a nostalgia buff and most of the shows and movies I love date back to the late 1980's or the 1990's. Great DVD buys help feed that habit. This set of late Columbo movies is helping build my collection.

Not as good as classic early vintage Columbo, these 6 movies feature a gray and ageing Peter Falk reprising his classic role as the bumbling-but-brilliant cop. Lovably rumpled, still driving his classic clunker and living out predicable plots.

If you're new to Columbo, this collection gives you a fair taste of this poor man's pre-Monk detective. For seasoned veteran fans carving a dose of good old dependable entertainment, this may hit the spot.

With neat plot twists and fun guest stars like William Shatner, George Wendt, Tyne Daly, this is a fairly good entertainment investment for the money. TV mystery-movie nostalgia to be enjoyed on a rainy lazy day. Or if you're home sick with the flu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, Dec 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
Columbo at its best. I bought it as a gift and was thanked endlessly. Has always been one of my favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Columbo Mistery Movie Collection 1994-2003, Nov. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
Yes, even dough you did not have the information on the content of the movies, it was exactly what I was looking for. I will at some time in 2014 purchase the other movies of the Columbo collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
I literally now have all of Columbo seasons, which is why I bought this. However, he's getting older in these, and it just doesn't have the same quality as his earlier seasons. Peter Falk is good, but it just doesn't come across as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... just one more thing, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
Peter Falk is a true legend ...

He owned this character ... and shows are a joy to watch (albeit you realise how old they are when you see the ages of some of the actors involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little corny, but cute., July 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003 (DVD)
Not of the same caliber as today's tv dramas, but, if you're a fan of Peter Falk or looking for some light and humorous entertainment, you might enjoy these episodes. The earlier collections were a little less corny and a little more serious, but also enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1994-2003
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews