Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten movie that shouldn't be. O'Hara steals the show.
This movie has all the makings of a winner. A plot that is identifiable to almost any moviegoer, (everybody knows somebody in this situation.)A cast consisting of a fine comic lead, good supporting characters and two Hollywood legends. And a script that fits each actor like a glove.
John Candy pleases in this low key role of a lonely police officer tied too tight...
Published on Jan. 4 2002 by Peter Ingemi

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silly film, but Candy is enjoyable
A spinster who makes up corpses to look like movie stars and a cop who lives with his overbearing mother. A match made in heaven? Maybe, but there wasn;t much chemistry between Ally and John here. His mother does a good job and the neighbor nearly steals the film. not something to go out of your way to see.
Published on Nov. 16 2003 by Alicia Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten movie that shouldn't be. O'Hara steals the show., Jan. 4 2002
By 
Peter Ingemi (Worcester County, Massachusetts United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
This movie has all the makings of a winner. A plot that is identifiable to almost any moviegoer, (everybody knows somebody in this situation.)A cast consisting of a fine comic lead, good supporting characters and two Hollywood legends. And a script that fits each actor like a glove.
John Candy pleases in this low key role of a lonely police officer tied too tight to his mother (O'Hara) who has very strong opinons about almost everything and who plays the mother guilt card like no other as he is pursuing his interest in an equally lonely lady (Sheedy). I watched this with my own mother who is O'Hara's age and saw her nodding in agreement all over the film. (until her full blooded Siclian fists clenched when O'Hara's character described us. The look on her face was worth the price of the movie alone.)
The story is plesant and worth your money, Candy & O'Hara work well together (who would have thought she would outlive him!) but the real power of the film is her interaction with Anthony Quinn. Classic film buffs like myself will get a real charge out of Quinn once again persuing O'Hara, but this time without an Errol Flynn as a rival. That sub plot is at least as interesting as the main one and for my money is better. It is classic Maureen O'Hara, the strong woman who is chased by the strong man and frankly is a great contrast to the the exact opposite situation between Candy & Sheedy.
In the end to nobodys surprise love conquers all and Candy's final immagined scene (contrasting with several ones eariler in the film) gives him closure. That final scene is my favorite and show O'Hara playing a character she has always excelled at. Considering the events of 9/11/01 the ending has even more meaning as we see a member of "The Greatest Generation" setting an example (albert a fictious one) that would be bravely followed in reality 10 years later.
I've said little about the good performances by Sheedy and Belushi, not to mention several other supporting characters in minor roles, they all add to the picture, but the stars make this film. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old favorite!, Sept. 21 2013
By 
Travelingmommy (CALGARY, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Lonely [Import] (DVD)
I love this movie because it shows a nice side of John Candy. Most of his movies are comedies whereas this is very heart warming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the Lonely, Aug. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Lonely [Import] (DVD)
I love this movie its my favorite one of John Candy With Maureen O'Hara sensitive and funny also Anthony Quin was funny in his part. Shipping and handling were great quick delivery better than going to the store and Shopping .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Feb. 15 2013
By 
Colin McKillop (Madison Heights, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Lonely [Import] (DVD)
Oldy but Goody. Laughed and smiled at the same time. John Candy was so good! Maureen O'Hara makes this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a GREAT movie, I loved it., July 2 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Only the Lonely (DVD)
From start to finish, this movie is worth watching. This movie is 110% funny. I would say, Only the Lonely is John Candy's best. If you want comedy and a family movie, get this movie, you and the family will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle comic role really allows John Candy to shine, July 13 2004
By 
Raymond C. Ruether (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
John Candy turns in a wonderful performance as Chicago police officer Danny Muldoon, in his late-30s and still living with his mother. He tries to pursue a relationship with a young girl working as a makeup artist in a funeral home, but his Irish mother won't seem to let go. Quite a charming story, with a few jolts coming from Danny's imagined fears of his mother being harmed when he's not there for her. The way Chicago is represented is hit-or-miss, possibly due to licensing issues for some of the more well-known Chicago images (most notably, the Chicago policeman's uniform and the design of the Chicago squad car), but those flaws notwithstanding the movie still has a Chicago feel to it. There actually are still a few remaining store-front funeral homes in Chicago, and of course the plentiful Irish pubs are captured perfectly. Probably the unheralded star of the movie is old Comiskey Park, which for 80 years was the home of the Chicago White Sox. The filming took place after the final baseball game was played there in 1990 (and a few months before its fateful date with the wrecking ball), and the first-date picnic on the playing field was a wonderful and touching sendoff for the old park. After going to many White Sox games there since age 5, it sure was nice to see the fireworks from the scoreboard one last time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When is This Going to get to DVD?, Feb. 24 2004
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
I have always liked this movie. I liked Only the Lonely when I saw it in a movie theater and I liked it when I watched it on HBO. I even taped it off of HBO but taped over it and I now regret doing that. I think this is a cute movie and I think John Candy, Anthony Quinn and Maureen O'Hara were wonderful even though her character was so mean. Also good are Milo O'Shea, Ally Sheedy and the rest of the cast and being Irish-American I loved the Irish and Irish-American characters and I loved the love story with John Candy and Ally Sheedy's characters and I think they had some great chemisty and I would love to see Only the Lonely transferred to DVD in a nice widescreen edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I saw the Movie on Pax tv., Sept. 23 2003
By 
Douglas Cotant (Salt Lake City, Utah) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
I saw the movie on Pax tv, channel 16 here in Salt Lake City and it was very good. I like Maureen O'hara, she played in Miracle on 34th Street, I have that video. I am going to order Only the Lonley because it is very moving and entertaining, I thought that it was interesting when Maureen O'Hara "Tells it like it is" to John Candy's girl friend and almost ruins their plans for getting married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 40-ish mama's boy fights for chance to fall in love, Aug. 31 2001
By 
Michael Mathena "Michael Mathena" (Valley City, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
John Candy in role of near-middle age guy who has spent his life under the thumb of his dominearing widowed mother (effectively played by a terrific looking Maureen O'Hara). On the one hand she urges him to find someone to grow old with, on the other hand she appears to enjoy being the "only woman" in the man's life. When Candy seems to fall deeply in love with a young woman with a similar inferiority complex and a severe case of shyness, O'Hara has extreme, if completely unfounded objections. -- The scene where Candy tries to patch-up things with his girlfriend by proposing at her window (from a fireman's ladder) is bitter sweet. As in all romantic comedies, there is a story book ending. -- Reminiscent of the classic "Marty" (1955), "Only The Lonely" deals with a common problem in our society: Parental objections to a child's choice of a marriage mate. We need more stories showing "mothers in law" in a less stereotypical light. In an argument for Hollywood's decisions in this matter, "Marty" and "Only The Lonely" make for wonderful entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Candy's Best, Feb. 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Only the Lonely (VHS Tape)
If you are a person in this world that had the luck of being alone, but also the dutiful son all your life this movie is definitely a winner. Excellent cast with a touch of humor. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only the Lonely [Import]
CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews