Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for the WORKING STIFF
This movie is great. Only wish giving a spoiled kid and his dad their come-uppings were this easy. Showing how life really is for the regular working stiff to a kid who is spoiled beyond belief is a real task.
The working stiff 'KNOWS' how things really are and a spoled kid and his dad never really know as much as they think. Now days, this 'spoiled attitude' has...
Published on March 11 2002 by L. Gifford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Sorry, But I Like This Movie!
This 1991 John Hughes film was a gigantic dud at the box office and was critically panned by pretty much every critic. Well guess what?, I like it!. It's far from being great, but as far as guilty pleasures go, this one is a good one. Ed 'O' Neill plays Dutch Dooley, a normal, everyday schlub who is in a relationship with a well to do woman, played by Poltergeists' JoBeth...
Published on Nov. 15 2001 by Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Sorry, But I Like This Movie!, Nov. 15 2001
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This 1991 John Hughes film was a gigantic dud at the box office and was critically panned by pretty much every critic. Well guess what?, I like it!. It's far from being great, but as far as guilty pleasures go, this one is a good one. Ed 'O' Neill plays Dutch Dooley, a normal, everyday schlub who is in a relationship with a well to do woman, played by Poltergeists' JoBeth Williams. Dutch volunteers to go get her son at a private school and bring him home for Thanksgiving. Easy as pie, right?. Well, no. The kid is an uptight, snobbish brat. The ride home is full of one disaster after another. Dutch and Doyle try desperatley to get home, while the two constantly bicker at each other. During this time, Doyle gets a good dose of reality thrown in his face. Many moments are actually quite serious. Your not expecting it. The funny momets are quite humorous. All the things Dutch does to Doyle is, I must say, pretty funny. Doyle is played by Ethan Randall, who went on to appear in "That Thing You Do", "Vegas Vacation", "Can't Hardly Wait", and the FOX series "Freakylinks", which he went under Ethan Embry. 'O' Neill displays his great comedic talent and sly witicisms that he perfected on "Married With Children". The ending, this being a John Hughes film, is warm, fuzzy, and happy. Would you expect anything less?. All in all, it's a decent and harmless little road movie. Not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for the WORKING STIFF, March 11 2002
By 
L. Gifford "rabrg" (WASHINGTON, ILLINOIS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This movie is great. Only wish giving a spoiled kid and his dad their come-uppings were this easy. Showing how life really is for the regular working stiff to a kid who is spoiled beyond belief is a real task.
The working stiff 'KNOWS' how things really are and a spoled kid and his dad never really know as much as they think. Now days, this 'spoiled attitude' has migrated down to the average American. Kids now whine at everything. Where is the hard work ethic? Watch this movie and see.
Hurray for the working stiff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie that everyone should watch., July 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
Ed O' Neil and Ethan Randall are great in this movie. Ed O' Neil(Dutch), has to go to pick up his girlfriend's son(Doyle) at his school for thanksgiving. Dutch takes him even though Doyle doesn't want to go. They end up having there car destroyed, there luggage gets stolen, and eventually learn to put up with each other. A great movie with a great moral. (In my opinion, the best scene of the movie is at the gas station after they get robbed.) Give this movie a chance. You will probobly be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun, Nov. 5 2002
By 
"mamaclark3" (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
My family loved this movie. We have watched it many times over. In fact we watched it so much that it broke in the vcr. My grandchildren and I watched it every time they came over. The first thing they wanted to do is watch Dutch. It is a good movie to watch as a family. It is good clean fun. The movie shows children how fortunate they are to have people who really love them. It shows how others have to live. We all love it when he gives that family a job. "Dutch" is an all around nice guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Funny, Sept. 17 2001
By 
"kmartinklover" (SanFrancisco, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favorite movies..Ed O'Neil plays Dutch a working class business man, who is off to pick up his girlfriends son from private school for the Thanksgiving Holiday..(Doyle who is a rich spoiled Brat)...When he gets there Doyle(Dutches girlfriends son) is not too pleased to meet him..He batters Dutch physically and mentally in a Hilarious way..The chemistry between these two actors is Great and this cross state drive will have u rolling out of your seat...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ENJOYABLE COMEDY WITH A LOT OF HEART!!!!!, Nov. 22 2001
By 
John D. Seneca (PLAQUEMINE, LOUISIANA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
I have seen this film repeated times and every time I see it, it is better than the time before. It will make you laugh and even tug a bit at your heart. I recommend this film to anyone who hasn't seen it. It is comedy at it's best and I'm sure you will want to see it again and again!!! Yet another masterpiece from John Hughes. I also recommend another of his films entitled, "Reach The Rock." Both are quite good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie just got funnier by the minute!, Sept. 12 2001
By 
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This movie was SOOOOO funny! In the very beginning it doesn't seem like it will be very funny but that is not the case. The story was really cute and Ed O'Neill made this movie! He was so perfect for this character. The movie got more & more hilarious and I was laughing non-stop towards the end of the movie. All the actors/actresses were excellent. Also, this is one of the few that I could watch over & over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Married With "Annoying" Children, June 22 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This movie would have been much better if the 12 year old wasn't such an "old fart." Ed O'Neill is fine as Dutch but the only reason to watch is the great ten minutes put in by Ari Meyers. She plays a call-girl who (with her friend) picks up Dutch and the brat who are stranded in the cold. Best bet: Rent "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Home Alone meets Maried With Children, Feb. 12 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This coming of age story combines hokey comedics with moving family sentiment as Doyle the spoiled 12-year-old learns to warms up to Dutch (Ed O'Neil) the father-in-law to be. In the process Doyle learns the value of hard work and tuff love.
Wil Ranney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, June 27 2001
By 
Erik (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dutch (VHS Tape)
This is one of my all time favorite movies. Ed O'Neil is funny as, well you know. If you've ever seen the TV show, Married With Children, you'd know what I'm talking about. Again this movie is incredibly funny and full of crazy antics. GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dutch [Blu-ray]
Dutch [Blu-ray] by Peter Faiman (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews