march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 7, 2015
Article conforme à la description. Livraison rapide.Transaction impeccable. Vraiment satisfaite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Ce CD est vraiment très bon !
Je suis très satisfaite : la livraison a été rapide, et le produit est complètement neuf, sans aucun défaut. Merci !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
it was a prefect Christmas present for the person I got it for. she enjoyed it and still does. yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
When I like a movie I also like to listen to the songs that make that movie! I like to live the story over and over again and that music cd does just that! I love every single song on that cd because they bring me right back the specific scenes of the movie! I discovered new artists that I would have never paid attention to.....The cd ends with Carter Burwell "Love Death Birth" and when the last note played you start dreaming about this new adventure and can't wait for the next soundtrack for Part 2!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
The CD is so good there is some good songs on it. i could not find it is the store so i was happy to find it here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
great cd, fast delivery,my wife and son loved there christmas gift. always look to amazon for items hard to find in stores.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
I just love musical scores. much more than the soundtracks most of the time. I've got them all and are all worth listening. Beautiful instrumentals.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
I just love musical scores. much more than the soundtracks most of the time. I've got them all and are all worth listening. Beautiful instrumentals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is only thing about the Twilight movies that I actually like -- the soundtracks.

Overall, the soundtracks for these movies have been excellent, with some truly sublime songs by talented artists. And I don't have a lot to complain about with the "Breaking Dawn Part 1" soundtrack, which continues the tradition. A few of the choices are headscratchers (Bruno Mars? Really?) but the majority weave a delicate, bittersweet atmosphere over some very enjoyable pop tunes.

It kicks off with The Joy Formidable's "Endtapes," which is a pretty solid way to begin the album -- it's a sprightly song that seems to swing between marchlike beats and swirling pop melodies. Then we have Angus & Julia Stone's "Love Will Take You," a wistful, mellow little folk-pop song that lifts you up and cradles you in a silken wash of violin.

That feeling is carried over through most of the songs -- we have sorrowful, romantic piano ballads by Sleeping At Last, Aqualung & Lucy Schwartz, Mia Maestro and Iron & Wine; the thumping smoky defiance of Belle Brigade's "I Didn't Mean It"; the gentle soaring acoustic guitars of Christina Perri and Imperial Mammoth; and the tinkling prettiness of Cider Sky's "Northern Lights."

But there were a few songs that stuck out like sore thumbs. Bruno Mars' "It Will Rain" just drips with over-the-top drama, and it feels clumsy compared to the subtler songs that surround it. Also, Theophilus London's "Neighbors" is... a rap. That REALLY doesn't fit with the other songs. Whose idea was that?

However, the rest of the album feels oddly cohesive, despite being made by several different artists. There are misty layers of gentle piano and satiny strings, a rougher undercurrent of earthy acoustic guitar, and a sprinkling of starlit synth blips that pop up here and there. Occasionally you get a more robust, boisterous pop melody, keeping the album from getting monotonous -- the Features and the Noisettes particularly.

And it has a very distinct atmosphere as well -- the songs seem to drift between bittersweet contemplation and romantic coziness, reflecting on the loss of love as well as how wonderful it can feel. One song can charm you with its romantic exuberance ("Northern Lights") and the very next can break your heart... and some manage to do both at the same time (Iron & Wine's contribution).

I don't expect "Breaking Dawn Part 1" to be any better than the other Twilight movies, but it's undeniable that the soundtrack is exquisite, if flawed. Ignore Mars and Theophilus London, and this soundtrack ends up sublime.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse