Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's A King in Every Corner Now."
First off, may I say that I did not expect the DVD to be shipped and delivered in such a speady fashion. As unaware I was of it's sudden delivery, I was all the more overjoyed and watched it back-to-back immediately. Now as for the DVD:

I watched every episode on television ever Sunday night last year in March. I was well aware of the story and of the events...
Published 18 months ago by Webber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Belle époque
J'adore le moyen âge et ses châteaux. Pour ce qui est de l'histoire de la série, ça manque d'originalité et d'intrigue.
Published 1 month ago by Josee Massicotte


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's A King in Every Corner Now.", Feb. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, may I say that I did not expect the DVD to be shipped and delivered in such a speady fashion. As unaware I was of it's sudden delivery, I was all the more overjoyed and watched it back-to-back immediately. Now as for the DVD:

I watched every episode on television ever Sunday night last year in March. I was well aware of the story and of the events that lasted 10 episodes that made season one: 10 intense and extremley well-crafted episodes. The talented creators and on and off-screen artists have brought to television something so beautiful and creative it's in a league of its own. Yet watching it again after a year it seems I had forgotten how great 'Game of Thrones' truly is; how the acts and the determination of the returning characters has established the entire series into and all-out clash; how each new cast member has amazingly portrayed a singular character on screen which has defined them as of this ongoing program; and how I, as imagine millions as well, cannot wait for the follow-up of Game of Thrones.

As for the DVD set as a whole, very sleek and crisp; byt that I mean it has the same set up as the DVD set for season 1 with portraits of most of the main cast, a helpful episode guide booklet (which folds out into a map of the whole of Westeros) and of course a cool and detailed case to hold it all together. It is very good to see that it has the same structure and style as the first season DVD set, for I find uniformity and consistency is very fashionable. I have not yet watched all of the extras and such, for I am far too busy enjoying the 50 minute long episodes themselves! But I am sure that the behind-the-scenes and commentaries are worth the watch as well.

I finish this review and can't help but be thrilled and delighted. It is such an amazing series and an amazing story. This DVD set is a collectable for all fans of 'Game of Thrones' and good television. And if not this one, there is always Blu-Ray. Geroge R.R. Martin is the American Tolkien and David Benioff and D.B. Weiss are the ones at the helm of sharing his story with us in a way we never thought was possible. This show will last for quite a while and go down as one of the greatest television shows of all time. I have the utmost confidence in that statement. It is hard to say what my favouirte thing of the series is: the sets, props and landscapes; the characters, both old and new, heroes and villians; the story and plethera of journeys that make up 'Songs of Ice and Fire'; the dramas, the comedies, the fighting, the romance and all other facets that facilitate the shows fame and prominence. Therefore I finish with this statement: 'Game of Thrones' is the true and rightful king of television ever since it first aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story I've been waiting for my entire life., July 18 2014
By 
Andres Consumer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
--If you want to support a show you enjoy and get the entire second season at the same time you should buy this. --

All my life I've been waiting for something like this show. Every time I watched a movie where the good guy had some kind of distress or trouble and the bad guy seemed ahead, I still always knew who would win. As I am sure you all did.

Every time a fairy tale ending occurred with the action hero walking into the sunset with his girl, I got tired. Every. Single. Time.

Good guy wins, bad guy loses/gets away and everyone is happily ever after. Sure there are some exceptions, but not really. Either everyone dies at the end or some other trope occurs. But the bad guy never wins over. Not at the end. Like some horribly boring, predictable formula.

This is the show I've been waiting for. Everything you think will happen doesn't happen. Or it does and then does a complete 180. No predictability at all. I absolutely love it.
You hate the character who paralyzes kids and then you grow to like them and empathize with their flaws as they grow into their character.

Your [favourite] characters die and others live, but you never know which or how they'll do it. Your most hated character become your most loved characters and then they also die. Or maybe not. Maybe they become hated again.

---

This is the story after the happily ever after. The story of the brave warrior who becomes king but is unable to rule, he doesn't know how. Of course he doesn't, he's a boy who knows how to fight, why would he be equipped to rule a kingdom?
This is the story after the king marries a famous beauty.
They're not happy 20 years later, they resent each other and each grows to hate the other more and more. The king drinks and has his way with whore while the queen does the same with her brother.

They are human. They do not live happily ever after. The nice honourable man dies, children die, the scheming betrayer lives. In fact he thrives.
This is the story for those who want to know what happens after the "... and they lived happily ever after". Love, loss, anger, hatred, life and death. No linear storyline with predictable outcomes. No more of that.

If any of that sound appealing to you then read the books, watch the show, immerse yourself in this world and watch what happens when people have to go through life with real problems and real consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sophomore effort, Nov. 19 2012
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
The first season of HBO's Game Of Thrones took its time to flesh out the complex assortment of characters that has made the book series by George R.R. Martin such a tremendous hit. With its mature content, twisting storylines and incredible shock value, Game Of Thrones solidified itself as one of the highest-rated dramatic series on cable. The much-anticipated second season was a lot more ambitious, and built on the rich mythology of the first season by introducing a slew of new characters, locales, and of course...constricting tales of deception, murder and sin.

*SPOILERS AHEAD*
----------------
Following the events of season one, the sadistic young Joffrey has taken the Iron Throne after Robert's death, and the execution of Eddard Stark. This sets in motion a tremendously chaotic chain of events with several individuals openly challenging the Lannister family for the throne. At the epicenter of the storm is Robb Stark, who has taken up the mantle of his father and declared open war on Joffrey and the Lannister house for the execution of his father. Meanwhile, young Daenerys Targaryen leads her faithful Dothraki through the desert in search of an army that can lead her back to her homeland to reclaim the Iron Throne. The news of her three recently hatched dragons spreads like wildfire, and she soon finds herself the target of untrustworthy eyes who seek to use her and her dragons for their own ends. The young Daenerys is forced to adapt to a world of lies, deceit, and betrayal if she intends to lay claim as a ruler. In the midst of these key players is Tyrion Lannister, constantly spinning webs of manipulation in order to solidify his status as nothing less than the Hand of the King himself. All sides balance precariously on the edge of a knife to maintain their positions of power, while a terrible and nightmarish army stalks them all from the far North, just waiting for the darkness to fall.

*SPOILERS ENDED*
----------------

Season Two makes the mistake of biting off way more than it can chew at times, but makes up for this slip with some truly amazing storytelling and grandiose set pieces. The most glaring problem with the season is the fact that so many new characters are introduced. It becomes near-impossible to remember them all, where they come from, or what they represent. Even worse are their relationships to the different kingdoms from the story's lore. Thankfully we live in the digital age when one can pop over to a Wiki site and do a bit of research, but the casual viewer will no doubt be left scratching their head and wondering just what's going on. The anchor to Season Two lies in the returning characters from Season One, and they serve as the linchpin to the entire plot. Unfortunately, their screen time tends to get cut back considerably to make way for the new crop of characters, and suddenly it becomes clear that it's almost impossible to balance them all within the course of 10 hour-long episodes. Thankfully, there's an upside. The more you watch, the more familiar you become with these characters, and they just sort of fall into place. It's one of the most ambitious casts in one of the most ambitious made-for-cable series, ever. The show has expanded more on the action and fantasy elements that were only hinted at in Season One, which feels like a welcome liftoff. One of the best things about Season One was its ability to talk, talk, talk, and talk some more, without it ever becoming boring. The writers were strikingly good at crafting intrigue and suspense, all riding on the back of some truly killer cliffhangers. Season Two is the more of the same, but doesn't shy away from action or mysticism. Daenerys' dragons are a CGI sight to behold, especially when they breathe fire just for the sake of cooking a little morsel of meat to consume. One of the season's most intense new characters is a demonic assassin wreathed in black smoke, and born from the loins of an attractive witch. There's even a warlock capable of creating copies of himself to fool his adversaries. Traditionally, sequels are supposed to be bigger and better than their predecessors, and in this area, Season Two succeeds. But it would be nothing without its characters. They've all undergone changes since the last Season, especially given its traumatic events. Robb Stark's singular goal of crushing the Lannister family and taking the Iron Throne is juxtaposed with a desire to unite the people under a banner of goodness. Tyrion Lannister, the manipulative dwarf who cared only for himself, is suddenly faced with the vulnerability of being in love with a woman for the first time in his life. Queen Cersei's cool and tempered aura comes apart at the seams as she begins to understand the error of putting her son on the Iron Throne. Jon Snow learns how to overcome adversity and become stronger, even with his shameful history. Theon Greyjoy falls victim to his own sense of inferiority and need to prove himself, and Daenerys Targaryen struggles with her compassion, which is suddenly at odds with her newfound sense of ruthlessness. It's a pressure cooker just waiting to explode, and that's exactly what happens by the end of the season. In fact, the 9th episode, "Blackwater," is so good that it outshines any previous episode of the show up to that point. The sudden shocking cliffhanger at the end of the Season only whets the appetite for Season 3.

As before, parents should be dutifully aware that Game Of Thrones is NOT for children, or even young teenagers. It's chock-full of gratuitous nudity, borderline porn, and extreme graphic violence and coarse language. In fact, HBO walks the line as close as it possibly can without triggering censor backlash. This is a very, very adult show with very mature themes, and should always be treated as such.

The second season of Game Of Thrones may confuse a lot of people, but it's a minor quibble against such an impressive series. There's a real weight, majesty, and sense of lore to the show, and it shows in every single frame. It's no less addictive than Season One, and it tries to outdo that season's remarkable performance at every turn. There's more to sink one's teeth into, and plenty of reason to lose yourself in the sprawling wonder.

*NOTE* A more in-depth review of this set will be posted once the season has been released on Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love it, I o.wn it now. I am a fan of the books and the HBO series. great books and TV shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Are you kidding me!?! What's not to like about Game of Thrones? This has got to be one of the best mini-series that we have ever watched. Excellent acting; excellent costumes; excellent scenery; excellent plot line; great continuity between episodes and series - not easy. Love.Love.Love.

If there were 10 stars I'd be selecting this option!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not wait to see this second season played out., Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
watching the second season was as enjoyable as the first season, lots of intrigue and fantasy one never know who is going to betray who next and again such brilliant acting cannot wait to purchase third season when it comes out but will wait till it goes down in price a bit unless amazon has a special sale on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb Television Adapted from Martin's phenomenal Series, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, let me say I really like the high quality packaging for the show, both 1 and 2 have been very good quality, and fine to look at. There are also actual special features (which now seem to be an afterthought unless you upgrade to Blu-Ray - which I would be OK with for this show) which are nice when you are like me, and go through the whole season in a weekend and are then starving for more Westeros.
As for the show itself, the action is great, the acting is super (esp. Peter Dinklage) and the production quality is through the roof.
The Blackwater episode alone stands out as one of the greatest hours of television ever presented.

Cannot wait for Feb when Season 3 is released to disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Sept. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice package with blueray and lots of interesting bonus material that we can consult to learn more about the story and background of characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars très satisfait de ce coffret, July 16 2014
By 
LegendSeller (Québec,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Game of Thrones l'une des meilleurs série que j'ai regarder et je le recommande fortement. Cette ensemble est bien sûr en blu-ray, bilingue, a une digital version en plus d'une version qu'on peu regarder sur HBO avec un code a temps limité dans le temps attention vu qu'il est sortie depuis longtemps. Une carte du monde de l'histoire et je dois dire que le coffret est sublime avec les images de plusieurs des acteur de la série ^^.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 99.99 CDN$ 47.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews