Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Lots of family fun with excitement, humour, and romance that won't have the kids squirming - basically everything you'd expect from a classic Disney film. One of my favourite parts of this movie is the background animation, which comes through beautifully in this blu-ray version (check out the grain, patina and lighting on some of the wooden objects in the house).
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by Blu man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
came in good condition but not sure if its brand new or was rewrapped. as long as it works i guess.
Published 10 months ago by ramey edwards


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Feb. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lots of family fun with excitement, humour, and romance that won't have the kids squirming - basically everything you'd expect from a classic Disney film. One of my favourite parts of this movie is the background animation, which comes through beautifully in this blu-ray version (check out the grain, patina and lighting on some of the wooden objects in the house).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady And The Tramp (Diamond Edition)(blu ray)...another majestic restoration from Disney!, Feb. 7 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

This 57 year old film arrives at blu ray with AVC MPEG-4 1080p 2.56:1 encode. This was actually the first Disney feature-length animated film to go widescreen. The video is absolutely stunning. Colours pop vividly. Everything, and I mean everything - every hand-drawn line, splash of colour, subtle personal touch, painted storybook background, and patch of scruffy fur - almost looks as if it were animated yesterday, no small feat when it comes to a fifty-seven year old film. It looked absolutely like brand new. Thanks to Disney for such a tremendous restoration job, and the wait is definitely worth it. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

For a film approaching its sixth decade on Earth, this mix will never compete with the discrete bombast of a modern soundtrack, but we don't really expect it to. In terms of its age, this is a wonderful, wide presentation using DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless soundtrack. Yes, for our dear purists - a much-appreciated DTS-HD Master Audio 3.0 presentation of the film's original mix, restored and rejuvenated but otherwise unaltered - is included also.

Of course, like any other Disney's animated classic, there are many beautiful and memorable songs in this movie, like the famous Peggy Lee's The Siamese Cat Song, Bella Notte and La La Lu. (4.5/5)

INTERESTING TRIVIA:

This movie has a budget of $4 million, but the total gross to date is $93 million. Simply outstanding achievement!

Did you know that the film's opening sequence, in which Darling unwraps a hat box on Christmas morning and finds Lady inside, is reportedly based upon an actual incident in Walt Disney's life. After he'd forgotten a dinner date with his wife, he offered her the puppy-in-the-hat box surprise and was immediately forgiven.

Disney originally didn't want to include the 'Bella Note' spaghetti-eating scene, now one of the most iconic moments in the whole Disney canon.

Barbara Luddy was nearly 50 when she voiced the young Lady.

FACTUAL ERROR:

The calendar showing the passage of time is inconsistent in their dates from one month to the next. First, December 31 and then January 1 are both Thursdays. Next, November 30 is depicted as a Friday, while December 1 is a Tuesday. Finally, both January 31 and February 1 are both Sundays.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Lady And The Tramp (blu ray) is a true testament to the fantastic efforts in frame-to-frame restoration by the team at Disney, restoring this 57 year old film to its majestic glory. It literally looks brand new. This is a movie for the whole family, especially when you have small animals in your house. Highly recommended. Cinderella is the next Diamond release. I can hardly wait. I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this story, March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Who doesn't like the Lady and the Tramp?! Great movie, a classic! Received it in great condition. Perfect for the Walt Disney movie collectors ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy Delivery, Jan. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In hind sight I should have bought these movies when they were released with or without having kids, now I've dug deep into my pockets to get all the classics. I received this product in a few days and in the original packaging. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sphar02, Dec 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ordered for daughters bday in January. She's been wanting it for a while. Haven't watched yet. Received in good time... Price is still a bit high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!, Dec 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady and the Tramp (Diamond Edition) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This was the perfect birthday gift for a 3yr old little girl! Wonderful movie with super fast & amazing service, Thank you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, Nov. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is awesome to have it on DVD because the VHS was crowding up the rest of the DVD's. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always loved this movie and now I have in my library, Oct. 28 2013
By 
Heather D. Sheffield "nagonyarrow" (Belleville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady & The Tramp [Import] (DVD)
Great movie. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is a Lady and the Tramp fan. The quality was good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Oct. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady and the Tramp (DVD)
I bought this movie in VCR for my children. Now I am getting it for my grandchildren. Boys and girls love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady and the Tramp (Diamond Edition), June 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can we say with such a cute love story but to sit back and enjoy with children/grandchildren or your sweetheart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3658ec4)

This product

Lady and the Tramp (Diamond Edition) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 46.99 CDN$ 36.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews