Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50/50 gets 100 out of 100
This is an absolutely wonderful movie. The previews portrayed it as being more of a comedy, but I would describe it as more of a drama with comedic moments. The acting is superb. Also, this was based on a true story of one of Seth Rogen's friends (before he was famous).
Published 18 months ago by webbkat

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I should have known better
The blurb on the DVD jacket says comedy. Well, I was expecting Denis Leary's No Cure For Cancer type of laughs since the topic was cancer. There are virtually no laughs in it. It's pretty depressing for much of this movie. The acting is fine and for once two of the supporting actors who usually drive me nuts (Seth Rogan and Dallas Bruce Harper) are tolerable. The problem...
Published 20 months ago by Brian Maitland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50/50 gets 100 out of 100, Oct. 3 2012
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is an absolutely wonderful movie. The previews portrayed it as being more of a comedy, but I would describe it as more of a drama with comedic moments. The acting is superb. Also, this was based on a true story of one of Seth Rogen's friends (before he was famous).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, March 10 2012
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
Wonderful! New package and the DVD work... shipping ok! I have nothing bad to say... Good product! This movie made me cry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent mix of drama and comedy, Jan. 20 2014
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What would you do if you were diagnosed with cancer?

Will Reiser's screenplay is based on his own experiences after he was diagnosed. That doesn't sound like a promising subject for a comedy, but 50/50 is definitely funny. It's also quite moving in places and the subject matter sometimes provides genuine drama.

I know that some people will avoid seeing the movie because they either have cancer themselves or know someone with the disease. I understand that choice, but I lost my mother to cancer when I was 12 and I'm glad that I bought the movie. I have friends who deal with serious diseases by joking about it. You would never know that they were ill. Just because 50/50 is a comedy, it doesn't mean that it makes light of cancer.

The main difference between 50/50 and a movie such as The Bucket List is that the main character is in his twenties. We all know that we will die one day, but it seems wrong to have a life-threatening illness at such a young age.

Adam Lerner (Gordon-Levitt) works as a radio show writer. One day while running he experiences back pain. When he gets it checked out, it turns out that he has a large cancerous tumor in his spine. Rachael (Howard), his girlfriend, promises to give him all the support he needs. His best friend, Kyle (Rogen), insists that Adam will be fine. Adam's mother (Houston), who is already dealing with her husband's Alzheimer's, wants to move in with Adam help him through a difficult time.

Adam can scarcely believe what has happened and spends most of his time with Kyle. They regularly get drunk and high and Kyle tries to use Adam's disease as a hook to attract women. He seems to worry more about getting laid than the health of his friend. Rachael does her best at first, but when the reality of Adam's situation takes hold, she isn't as supportive as she expected to be. When crunch time finally comes, it's Kyle who is there for Adam.

We are shown some of the realities faced by people with cancer. Adam befriends other cancer patients at the hospital and they all have an optimistic outlook on life, despite the reality of their disease.

Another major character is Katherine (Kendrick), who plays Adam's therapist. She's 24-years-old and younger than Adam and he's skeptical when she reveals that he is only the third patient she's ever had. I enjoyed Kendrick's performance in Up in the Air and was impressed again here. Her character is much warmer in this movie and Adam likes her as a person despite her flaws.

The acting is good across the board. Gordon-Levitt is very good as Adam, without going over the top. Rogen's character is initially abrasive and somewhat annoying, but he proves to have hidden depths. The friendship felt authentic by the end of the movie. Anjelica Houston doesn't have a large role, but she makes use of every second.

The title refers to Adam's chances of survival when he looks up his disease on the Internet. The chances that you will like the movie are significantly higher.

The Blu-ray presentation is very good and comes with a commentary, deleted scenes, and a feature explaining the story behind the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Oct. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
Great film, bring humor to an otherwise serious topic. Bought as a gift and it was greatly appreciated. Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very touching :), April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
Very good movie that will touch your heart :) I love movies like this, where its very moving and to have 2 of my fave actors in there was a bonus :) Totally recommend to romance movie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I should have known better, Aug. 15 2012
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
The blurb on the DVD jacket says comedy. Well, I was expecting Denis Leary's No Cure For Cancer type of laughs since the topic was cancer. There are virtually no laughs in it. It's pretty depressing for much of this movie. The acting is fine and for once two of the supporting actors who usually drive me nuts (Seth Rogan and Dallas Bruce Harper) are tolerable. The problem is the pacing of the story is ponderously slow.

Don't believe the hype such as "consistently, uproariously funny" on the DVD jacket. This is a B movie at best done by A list actors.

There are tons of special features with it but I found myself fast-forwarding parts of the actual movie so, sorry, I just can't sit through all the extras to give anyone out there a better review of the whole DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Sad, March 13 2012
This review is from: 50/50 / 50/50 (Bilingual) (DVD)
its not really that fair for me to fully review this movie but i turned it off after about 20min because it just made me way to depressed. Not an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0517204)

This product

50/50  / 50/50 (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 9.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews