Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle SGG Tools Black Friday Deals Week in Music

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars116
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$21.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 4, 2014
Another of Hitchcock's masterpieces. Fine Blu Ray quality.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
A perfect example of a compelling story that stays true to the novel on which it was based. Superb acting is brought out by Hitchcock's wonderful direction. Real entertainment!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2012
Looking forward to this digital remastering of a masterful adaptation of Daphne du Maurier's classic story. I have all available DVD adaptations of Rebecca and look forward to the BluRay sharpening of the suspenseful experience of returning to Manderley.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2009
I saw this movie by accident in 1980 when I was 14 years old, and the movie was already over 40 years old!I was mesmerised and it was the beginning of my great love of Hitchcock.
I have searched for a copy now and then over the years, never with any success. So, of course when I came across it I had to buy it.
I convinced my 16 year old daughter to sit down and watch with me, who does not like old black and white movies at all. For me, it was just as wonderful as it was 30 years ago.
When I came home from work the next day... what do you think my daughter was watching?
Buy this movie - if you are a Hitchcock fan you will not regret it. If you are not a fan, this is the movie that made my daughter and I both one. 30 years apart!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2009
Rebecca has to be one of my all-time favourites. The acting is wonderful and the movie does follow the book by Daphne Du Maurier very well. Another Hitchcock thriller filled with romance, action, drama, suspense and tragedy. It has is all! They sure knew how to make movies in those days!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2005
I don't know how much other people may enjoy it, but I saw it by myself as a child on tv, and I fell deeply in love with it.
It's actually a film which benefits from Hitchcock's lack of control, and you can read some of the stupid ideas he had to re-write Rebecca (on the 2nd disc), and Selznick reined him in to make this. This was the first Criterion DVD I had to own, and it's hard to find, going on eBay for hilarious amounts unsealed. I even re-authored it to cut a music video for Bauhaus' 'Shes In Parties'!
Joan Fontaine was so beautiful, you can see the use of star power in the golden age of Hollywood, the readings in the extras are interesting as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2004
I have seen all of Hitchcock's American work. If you are familiar with his movies, you probably agree that, with the exception of "Family Plot", his films are delicious brain food! Rebecca is a beautiful, mysterious and tragic piece. Olivier and Fontaine are at the peak of their talent and beauty. By the way, if you like Joan Fontaine in this film, her performance is equally good in Hitchcock's Suspicion, with Cary Grant. Why aren't most modern actors this good, hmmm? Hey Mr. Soderbergh, please don't remake this one! There's a reason why we call them 'Classic'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2004
A stunning transfer from Criterion. "Rebecca" remains one of the finest films of the 1940's, and features Joan Fontaine as the second mistress of Manderley, forever living in the shadow of her mysterious predecessor. Lawrence Olivier is perhaps detached in his performance, but nevertheless embodies the master of Manderley as few others of his generation could. "Rebecca" also contains the paranoia, suspense, and dreamlike mood that would color much of director Alfred Hitchcock's later work. Criterion continues to put the major DVD distributors to shame with its transfers of old films, and once again proves that although higher in price, their DVD's are worth every penny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2004
Joan Fontaine laments as she opens the film, obviously several years removed from her time at the lush, oversized estate, which recalls "Tara" from Gone With the Wind as a residence which is actually also a character in the movie. People remember the houses from these two films almost more than the characters. No coincidence that both films were produced by the ridiculously meticulous David O. Selznick. GWtW was of course the most popular film of all time, so Selznick figured he had the right idea about how to make a film. Details, right down to the last corner.
Alfred Hitchcock had made a career in London making films with complete autonomy. He basically called all the shots. When he got to America, he signed a four movie deal with Selznick. Rebecca is the first and best of the three. (no, not a mistake, I'll explain later) Rebecca was the only film by Hitchcock to win best picture from the Academy, although Hitch did not win best director. The film was basically a tug of war between producer and director. Selznick wanted the book followed religiously, Hitch wanted to take the basic idea of the book and add his own touches. Selznick wouldn't allow it, so Hitch was forced to make the film exactly by the book.
The film stars Fontaine as an unnamed young woman who while working as a paid companion for the unbearable Mrs. Van Hopper (Florence Bates), she meets and falls in love with the brooding Maxim de Winter (Lawrence Olivier). They marry after a quick courtship and go "home" to Manderley, Olivier's mammoth estate. Fontaine is very young and has no idea what she is getting into, especially when it dawns on her that Olivier's late first wife, Rebecca, still dominates the house. Her stationery, napkins, and rituals are still present, and Fontaine feels she has no chance against this woman.
The other problem in the house is the housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers (Judith Anderson),who creeps around the house, showing up at any time to frighten Fontaine. She is still obsessed with Rebecca, still keeps Rebecca's old room the same way, hairbrush at the correct angle on the vanity. She makes Fontaine feel she will never measure up, will never be a great lady of Manderley, something that Mrs. Van Hopper tried to tell her as well. Everyone and everything in the house revolves around this dead Rebecca, so much so that Fontaine almost can't live through it.
Rebecca never appears in the film, yet it is amazing how much of a character she is. When Fontaine tries to dress up for a ball, Danvers suggests a portrait on the wall which is supposed to be a long dead relative of Maxims. Of course, when Fontaine wears the dress, she realizes from Maxim's reaction that the woman and the dress were Rebecca and that she just reminded him of her.
Eventually the film goes into Rebecca's death in some detail. We never know for sure that we know all the details of the death, but it doesn't really matter. By the end of the movie, all the major characters in the film will have been changed. Some will have been destroyed forever.
Criterion has done a great job with this film, giving us a great transfer, as always, along with a superb commentary. The second disc features trailers, interviews with Fontaine and Anderson, making of featurettes, examples of Selznick's letters and his attention to detail, and how maddening it got for the master.
By the way, Selznick got three films out of Hitchcock. They were Rebecca, Spellbound, and The Paradine Case. Well, he really got four, but he gave one of them to RKO studios because he was unhappy with the story and he thought it would interest no one. What was the film Selznick gave away? It was Hitch's best film of all time in my opinion--Notorious. What a waste it would have been had Selznick been allowed to ruin Hitch's masterpiece.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2004
All you people who said this is good are crazy! This movie was even worse than the novel! (something i thought was impossible!) hell, the guy playing Maxim can't act! so i say BOO TO YOU! BOOOOOO! .... have a nice day :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Rebecca by Laurence Olivier (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 10.97

Masterpiece: Rebecca
Masterpiece: Rebecca by Charles Dance (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 26.92