Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine release of a Hitchcock Classic, why pay more?
Having already reviewed the wonderful film "Notorious" this review deals with the DVD releases in question. Reading the reviews praising Criterion Collections "great acheivement" over Anchor Bays "bare-bones" release lit a fire under me. The fact is most re-viewers even those with high-end equipment came to DVD direct from VHS land. DVD is their first experience with...
Published on Jan. 29 2003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very soft around the edges for a Hitchcock movie.
You should know, if you haven't seen this, that it's a love story with an espionage/intelligence background, rather than a suspense movie with romantic elements. Actually the only suspense revolves around whether Bergman & Grant will ever stop bickering and get together permanently. Espionage-wise...the cast and the audience all know from the start that Claude Rains...
Published on Nov. 11 2001


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine release of a Hitchcock Classic, why pay more?, Jan. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Notorious [Import] (DVD)
Having already reviewed the wonderful film "Notorious" this review deals with the DVD releases in question. Reading the reviews praising Criterion Collections "great acheivement" over Anchor Bays "bare-bones" release lit a fire under me. The fact is most re-viewers even those with high-end equipment came to DVD direct from VHS land. DVD is their first experience with Criterion releases.
I, for better and for worse, was part of the 1 percent of the population who ventured into the world of high tech video and the Audio-Video receiver and sound system, years before anyone had heard of DVD, with the Laserdisc. The Criterion Collection (formerly the Voyager Collection) put out very expensive editions of Classic films on Laserdisc for years and the results to say the least were mixed. Part of the problem was that Laserdisc technology steadily improved over its 20 plus year run and studios like MGM were able to best many of Voyager/Criterions releases with stronger more colorful releases over time. Others discs were, frankly, just average releases being sold at inflated prices, so inflated in fact that I picked many out of bargain bins. Having collected over 200 titles on Laserdisc, not counting multiple copies of some titles I came to DVD with both good and bad examples of Criterions work over the years.
Now having seen the Criterion Collection as well as the Anchor Bay versions of "Notorious" I cannot believe some of the reviews praising the Criterion editon are genuine. The opening credits of "Notorious" are windowboxed, making them almost minature even on a large screen moniter. While I agree that Criterion does exhibit better overall contrast and fewer skips, this, however, does not compensate for such heavy grain that the picture is severely compromised in several scenes (even viewed on just a 27 inch Proscan TV) and dust is apparent everywhere. Anchor Bay's 2.0 mono may have less definiton when played on a very high end system than Criterions 1.0, but Anchor Bay's still had more volume overall and the softer and far cleaner video image was more pleasant to watch. Considering that the Criterion edition, even deeply discounted, was triple what I paid for Anchor Bays DVD made me glad I had rented it first. Unless you want to own the extras on the Criterion release, which are substantial, I would recommend a rental first. Thanks, CAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hitch. Great Grant. Unbelievable Bergman. Claude Rains perfection., March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notorious (DVD)
Odd that this film is never put in with Hitchcock compilation DVDs, because I think it's in his top five films. Bergman's scenes in this film spoiled me when it came to watching any other actress act. Her vulnerability. Her eyes. Her ability to draw an audience in with multiple --- "Oh, crap! She is in trouble now moments of suspense." The kissing.... Er. If you like Hitchcock, don't miss this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good suspense a la Hitchcock, Nov. 17 2013
By 
R. Pellettier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notorious (DVD)
Put Ingred Berman and Hitchcock together and throw in Cary Grant and Claud Raines for measure and you get an above-avaerage suspense resolving around Nazis post-WWII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchock, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notorious (DVD)
Excellent film, one of Grants best. All the roles were perfectly cast. You can feel the sparks fly between Grand and Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock's best romance/spy/suspense film, May 17 2013
By 
Keith Smith "Keith" (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notorious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review is for the MGM version of Alfred Hitchock's "Notorious" Blu-Ray Cat# M125249 UPC 839904-25249 obtained in 2013.

5 stars as a romance, 4 stars as an espionage suspense thriller.

With Ingrid Bergman and Cary Grant, supported by Claude Rains, this movie is considered to be Hitchcock's most romantic movie, very erotic for its day.

Complex characters, each containing both admirable and detestable characteristics, great acting, lots of suspense.

This is a movie most women will really really love, while still being very entertaining for men.

This version has a good restoration of the B&W film and has plenty of extras.

On TV and even in theatres, films are generally shortened to allow more showings and more profits. Also on standard definition TV the quality is never as high. Good reasons for buying a DVD or blu-ray.

For me the extras (supplements) are the main reason to purchase a DVD or blu-ray rather than watching on TV. Typically I don't go through all the supplements right away, I work through them over a few weeks.

In this case the supplements are a "film study course in a box" just like one usually gets with the Criterion Collection blu-rays (maybe even better), but at a lower cost.

- Commentary by film professors Rick Jewel.
- Commentary by film professor Drew Casper (who holds the Alma and Alfred Hitchock chair of film studies at UCLA).
- The Ultimate Romance: The Making of Notorious [definitely watch this].
- Alfred Hitchcock: The Ultimate Spymaster.
- The American Film Institute Award: The Key to Hitchock
- 1948 radio play starring Joeseph Cotton and Ingrid Bergman
- Hitchcock audio interviews
- Restoration comparison
- Original theatrical trailer

Two commentaries by film professors, plus two specials, one on the movie one on Hitchcock. You can't beat that at any price. Lots of stuff to increase your future enjoyment of films, and you will be able to re-watch the film again several times of the coming years discovering aspects each time.

I highly recommend this version of this film to women, to teenage girls, and also to my fellow men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very soft around the edges for a Hitchcock movie., Nov. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Notorious [Import] (VHS Tape)
You should know, if you haven't seen this, that it's a love story with an espionage/intelligence background, rather than a suspense movie with romantic elements. Actually the only suspense revolves around whether Bergman & Grant will ever stop bickering and get together permanently. Espionage-wise...the cast and the audience all know from the start that Claude Rains is a neonazi who's up to something, so the only mystery is "specifically what is he up to?" Not that compelling a question. And the intelligence techniques that are used to find out are aimed toward advancing the love story, at the expense of reality--does Bergman really need to marry Rains to find out who goes to his dinner parties? Couldn't the mysterious intelligence agency that recruits her just have posted a guy across the street to take notes? Bergman and Rains are very good, Grant less so (he plays almost a Gene Hackman character), and Hitchcock--with all due respect--has done a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Romance!, Feb. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notorious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the old black and whites, and this is definitely one of my favorites!! It has mystery, suspense, spies, and romance. What could be better? I got so upset with Cary Grant when he judged the poor girl wrongly!! I'm glad that it all turned out as it did! The awful Mother and Son got their come-uppence!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest movies ever!, Sept. 22 2002
By 
JP (Fremont, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Notorious [Import] (VHS Tape)
Alfred Hitchcock is by far my favorite director, and this is definatly one of his best. Cary Grant and Ingrid Bergman are terrific in the mezmerizing roles they play. All I can say now is, if you don't own this video, THEN GET IT NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Hitchcock's finest ever, June 14 2003
By A Customer
Top-notch espionage thriller with all-star cast consisting of :
Cary Grant, Ingrid Bergman, and Claude Rains. With a very similar plot to the much later made Mission Impossible II
it has the daughter (Bergman) of a man convicted of treason living in Miami and a debonair secret agent (Grant) spying on her and trying to convince her to help the United States goverment in capturing some spies that her father worked with during World War II. One of the spies "just happens" to be an "old flame"(Rains)who still wants to marry her. Of course by the time they (Grant and Bergman)get to Rio de Janeiro (where the spies are in hiding) they have inevitably fallen in love with each other. Bergman marries Rains, the "old flame" spy to get closer to him and find out anything important. But eventually Rains finds otu that she and Grant are American agents and he starts trying to poison her. Then Devlin finds out and comes to the rescue,. Being a gem of a movie that I highly reccomend, I think you will enjoy it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Hitchcock's best, Sept. 19 2002
By 
Leigh A. Barrett "LeighBeeSM" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Notorious [Import] (DVD)
Sure, we hear about "The Birds," "Psycho," "North by Northwest," "The Man Who Knew Too Much," and "Vertigo" until our ears bleed, but Hitchcock never surpassed the passion and intrigue he pulled off in this one. An excellent cast led by Cary Grant, Ingrid Bergman, and Claude Rains; love scenes hotter than any of the semi-nude sax-underscored things we get today (sometimes just the sound of Bergman breathing); and a solid nail-biter plot make this one of his very best.
Fans who prefer the platinum blandness (sic) of Kim Hunter, Grace Kelly, or Tippi Hedren may not be satisfied: Ingrid Bergman actually has some fire! Cary Grant was better only with Katharine Hepburn, and really shines here with his portrayal of a prejudiced, tough as nails special agent who must team up with a woman whose past he is so revolted by that he can't see the forest for the trees until it is nearly too late.
The Criterion edition has some very impressive special features, and is a must-have for Hitchcock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb50c1714)

This product

Notorious [Blu-ray]
Notorious [Blu-ray] by Cary Grant (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 2.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews