Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Still criminally underrated,
Containing one of Britain's anthems of the last few years in '57' Blackened Sky is a demonstraton that this kind of music doesn't neccessarily have to sound the same as everyone else, a la takingbackfromautumntofinch.
Biffy Clyro are one of the tightest bands around and can pull off a great live show, which should really be exposed to a bigger audience, instead of...
Published on Feb. 3 2004 by pauly_faye

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and unoriginal
I have been hearing hype for this band for the past year. When I actually heard it I began to view my mates music taste with suspicion. O.K 1 star is a little cruel and vindictive, but if you are into this style of music, there are probably around one thousand other bands you may want to check out first. These are the sort of songs that a decent band would leave off an...
Published on April 4 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Still criminally underrated,, Feb. 3 2004
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
Containing one of Britain's anthems of the last few years in '57' Blackened Sky is a demonstraton that this kind of music doesn't neccessarily have to sound the same as everyone else, a la takingbackfromautumntofinch.
Biffy Clyro are one of the tightest bands around and can pull off a great live show, which should really be exposed to a bigger audience, instead of the constant support slots for 'hyped' bands.
I'd recommend this to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of things to come, April 6 2003
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
Biffy Clyro have to be one of britain's most underrated bands. Blackened Sky is a full blown alternative rock album. All the songs are full of emotion and guts. Good singles have appeared from this album, such as 27,57, j.d.i and justboy.
A must buy album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and unoriginal, April 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
I have been hearing hype for this band for the past year. When I actually heard it I began to view my mates music taste with suspicion. O.K 1 star is a little cruel and vindictive, but if you are into this style of music, there are probably around one thousand other bands you may want to check out first. These are the sort of songs that a decent band would leave off an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars {�I don�t believe in anything� is the message in your eyes}, March 23 2003
By 
-Andy- (Portsmouth, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
:: Biffy Clyro - Blackened Sky ::
Being a personal favorite and with their follow up to the well received debut l.p 'Blacked Sky' being released later this year, exciting times are destined for the Glasgow based progressive rock three piece Biffy Clyro.
'Blackened Sky' takes the "won't be rushed" pretentious attitudes of recent Tool and multiplies it with the minimalist but effective raw dynamics of the Deftones, before adding catchy emotive melodies with gentle lyrics and guitar lines along the way. Tracks such as opener 'Joy.Discovery.Invention' [a sing along favorite live] captivate the listener by gently serenading until 1 minute 46 seconds [exactly] into the song when the song crushes your false pretenses with the defensive aggression of a cornered animal. However it is my favorite song from the album 'Kill the old, torture their young" that captivate what Biffy Clyro is all about with the falsetto vocals, fantastic harmonies [all three sing live] and the subtle guitar changes that send contradicting emotions flooding through your head.
As a result is it very hard not to get caught up by this band and if their [possible career making] second album is anything near as good as the standards they have set themselves then Biffy are indeed destined big things...
-Andy-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars impressive debut record, Feb. 19 2003
By 
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
again, a band i've been looking forward to a proper debut from, and now we finally have it. reminiscent of jimmy eat world (when they were still good), biffy clyro shows stunning diversity in their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this cd rocks, Jan. 27 2003
By 
justboy (fleet. england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
Simon, ben and james have created a masterpiece. This cd is pure rock in a way you have never had it. They are not like the 'new nirvana'. This offering contains all the singles and new versions of the old classics. From the beautiful start of 'joy.discovery.invention' through reflecting 'justboy' and 'christopher's river' through the impacting '57' and back to the beauty of 'scary mary', you will not hear nor find a better album....at least until their next album. Such a clever debut leaves our mouths watering and hearts pounding in anticipation for the follow-up. So feel tears forming, anger managing and hearts warming with these young scottish heroes, if its the only thing you do this year. takeachance.gethooked.enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blackened Sky's the limit, Jan. 18 2003
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
A real gem of British rock that is only bettered by their live perfomance. A definite grunge-influence that sits like a more conservative, British 'Pixies'. All three members of the band contribute great vocals and the resulting harmonies are beautiful, and the lyrics are clever and heartfelt. Biffy Clyro strike a great balance between grunge and emo (is that a real genre?!) and is definately a good bet for someone who likes music along the lines of bush/nirvana etc. what makes them stand out though, is that although they draw comparisons, they have a sound all of their own. great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish rock hopefuls pull it off, Oct. 19 2002
By 
This review is from: Blackened Sky (Audio CD)
Along with the streams of underground rock acts that seem to be making a impact nowadays, Biffy Clyro are certainly not far off with this brilliant, critically aclaimed debut album.
Despite the preculiar name, Biffy Clyro known well for being a terrific live band, show their promise with excellent talent especially from singer/songwriter/guitarist Simon Neil who can write the most beautiful perfectly created rock songs well beyond his years.
With stand-out tracks such as 'justboy' and '57' this album is surely the main stepping stone into a long and successful career for these guys.
Miss this gem, and your seriously missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e60d80)

This product

Blackened Sky 2LP
Blackened Sky 2LP by Biffy Clyro (LP Record - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews