Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than The Pleasing Hour by Lily King
Paris is usually written about in novels as romantic, luminous, but here it's grey, rainy, dangerous, claustrophobic--and thus, a revelation. On scholarship from Los Cruces, NM, Sabine is trying to fit in, to escape her lower middle class background, but can she ever really learn French so well that she *is* French? Powerful, gripping, hypnotic--and beautifully written.
Published on Aug. 10 2002 by Lev Raphael

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Random thoughts put together
I can' believe I read to the end of this book ... kept hoping that it will improve. It did not..
It is a collection of thoughts inside a girl head ... full of self. Boring!
Published 14 months ago by l.a. levu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than The Pleasing Hour by Lily King, Aug. 10 2002
By 
Lev Raphael (Okemos, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
Paris is usually written about in novels as romantic, luminous, but here it's grey, rainy, dangerous, claustrophobic--and thus, a revelation. On scholarship from Los Cruces, NM, Sabine is trying to fit in, to escape her lower middle class background, but can she ever really learn French so well that she *is* French? Powerful, gripping, hypnotic--and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, artistic and spellbinding, June 20 2001
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
A gritty taste of reality told by an author whose command of the English language is a thing of beauty. Samantha Dunn tells the story of a young woman caught in a crisis without anyone to turn to in a land that can never up to her expectations. I was compelled to turn the page and see this girl face difficult hardships, intense loneliness, and moral dilemmas that would test any resolve. I was surprised that I cared so deeply for the character of Sabine and her journey to become a woman. An amazing book written by an amazing author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Life, June 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
Samantha Dunn gives us a true vision. It is the view of a character that embodies all of our own self-doubt, risk-taking, self-destruction, re-evaluation, and eventual reformation whenever we find ourselves thrust into a situation far from our comfortable front porch. A view of a young person struggling to find the correct/moral/survivable path when faced with a personal crisis far from home...
This first novel speaks very forcefully to those of Dunn's generation, with images/questionings easily taken from their own life, resonating with their own personal trauma at being born at this particular point in history in this country that is struggling to find an artful way of living in the blur of post-TV white noise, and global culture babel.
The fact that this is a first novel, makes us glad for those to follow. Truly a contribution to the art that makes our lives worth more than the sum of our daily activities.
Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, Jan. 31 2013
By 
Kathryn Philipps "movie addict" (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Failing Paris (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written book. I found it somewhat depressing, but a good read. It portrayed Paris as a lot of us see that city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Random thoughts put together, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Failing Paris (Kindle Edition)
I can' believe I read to the end of this book ... kept hoping that it will improve. It did not..
It is a collection of thoughts inside a girl head ... full of self. Boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paris in the eyes of ..... reality, March 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
Apart from the "gripping" (boy is that word overused in book reviews) style, and an intense feeling of integrity, this book offers humorus/morbid insights to everyday life, through a not so regular week in the life of an american exchange student, trapped in a not so romantic paris. I found it very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, artistic amd spellbinding., Nov. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
A gritty taste of reality told by an author whose command of the english language is a thing of beauty. Samantha Dunn tells the story of a young woman caught in a crisis without anyone to turn to in a land that can never measure up to her expectations. I was compelled to turn the page and see this girl face difficult hardships, intense loneliness and moral dilemmas that would test any resolve. I was surprised that I cared so deeply for the character of Sabine and her journey to become a woman. An amazing book written by an amazing writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, artistic amd spellbinding., Nov. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
A gritty taste of reality told by an author whose command of the english language is a thing of beauty. Samantha Dunn tells the story of a young woman caught in a crisis without anyone to turn to in a land that can never measure up to her expectations. I was compelled to turn the page and see this girl face difficult hardships, intense loneliness and moral dilemmas that would test any resolve. I was surprised that I cared so deeply for the character of Sabine and her journey to become a woman. An amazing book written by an amazing writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Dunn is a great new voice!, Oct. 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Failing Paris (Hardcover)
Samantha Dunn is one of the most talented young writers I've encountered. The book Failing Paris is about that lovely city and its pitfalls, and so much more. What a storyteller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unorganized sloppy writing, Feb. 18 2013
This review is from: Failing Paris (Kindle Edition)
A ra male from character s we ca. Not care about no threme who cares tried of having machine bing my boss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba556f6c)

This product

Failing Paris
Failing Paris by Samantha Dunn
CDN$ 3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews