Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nude and funny
I went to see this film at the theatre (yes, that was me) expecting to see the latest installment of the "My career ..., so I will take of my clothes" series (other installments include "Embrace of the Vampire" and "Full Body Massage"). I was pleasantly surprised by a funny movie.
First off, Demi Moore is naked. Surprisingly, I didn't find her "dance" scenes too...
Published on July 30 2001 by D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Carmen Electra should do this movie.
I thought Carmen Electra should play Demi Moore's character because I think she is a better choice for the part, even I thought Pamela Anderson could play Demi Moore's character. Other than that the movie is not bad.
Published 21 months ago by Kevin Barton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars 2 stars for Demi Moore, July 2 2002
By 
Can Erzi (Istanbul,Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is not a fully erotic movie as it might be expected.But it is not a clever and funny movie either.So what makes Striptease bad,I guess,is that it doesn't manage to satisfy any taste at all.
Erin Grant (Demi Moore) must strip for a living,and her biggest fight is against her ex-husband to get her little daughter back.Meanwhile a [physically excited] congressman (Burt Reynolds)gets fixated on her,a murder occurs and things get quite complicated.
Striptease has humor at times,but not much really happens.The plot,if there is any,is pretty weak.The only thing that makes this movie worth watching is probably Demi Moore and her dancing on beautiful Eurythmics songs.However other than those "music videos",there is nothing else to care about in the movie.I wish Eurythmics used Demi on their videos,which would make making a movie like Striptease unnecessary.
The DVD doesn't have a single extra as it suffers from being an old release,so I can not show any reason why you should buy this DVD,except if you are a hardcore Demi fan..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, May 17 2002
By 
Charlene * (Citrus Heights, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Striptease (VHS Tape)
It's good, not great, but good. If you like dramas...this movie is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disclaimer: Do Not See If You Have A Brain, Jan. 31 2002
This review is from: Striptease (VHS Tape)
The film should've been released with the following disclaimer: "not for those with a brain." The story is drivel, and the characters are as cardboard as they come. The only reason to see STRIPTEASE would be for the titilation (mild, at best) provided by Demi Moore. She works her butt off working her butt off, and that'll appeal to some men. Other men? Well, we prefer our women just a tad more cerebral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars that "Little Bird" is going to leave you breathless!, Jan. 16 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
Demi Moore came under intense public attention for those "pictures", little did they know she was going to star in a movie about going starkers...STRIPTEASE.
STRIPTEASE is one of those "guilty pleasure" movies that have a certain campy charm, it's certainly more enjoyable that it's bastard-sister-film; SHOWGIRLS.
Erin Grant (Demi Moore) loses the custody battle for her daughter when she is fired from her job. What's a girl to do? Go and shake her booty, what else?!!
Down at the Eager Beaver Club, where the beer isn't the only thing on the menu, Erin finds a job prancing around to such innocuous tunes as "Little Bird" and "Money Can't Buy It". Soon, a mysterious murder and a hilarious excuse for a congressman - Dilbeck (Burt Reynolds in an inspired performance) prove more of a hindrance than a help as Erin decides to expose her lousy ex-husband as the drug-pushing, slack-jawed yokel that he really is, all the while spinning around a pole in a G-string. Sound exhausting? Nah! We're only getting started!
Overall a pretty enjoyable caper. The DVD transfer is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Film., July 7 2001
By A Customer
Demi Moore is at her hottest in this film. It is funny too. Be sure to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i only give this 5 stars cause for Demi nude!!, May 12 2001
By 
"eddiesbloodbrother" (The edge of the world) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Striptease (VHS Tape)
This movie was really bad, i dint care for it at all, i didnt like anybody in the movie except Demi, she is so sexy, the unrated version was terrific, she has a wonderful body, super sexy, thats all this show is worth though, so enjoy it, just to see her dance, everytime the nude shots appear put it in slowmo it rocks trust me, well hope u enjoyed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great music. Sexy lady. Lousy Movie, April 24 2001
By 
John K. Reed (Harrisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Striptease (VHS Tape)
Demi Moore as a stripper. Burt Reynolds in a satirical role as a politician with a few screws loose. Smooth and rhythmic sounds from Annie Lennox. What more could you ask for? How about a film that doesn't insult the intelligence of the viewing public. I guess that would be too much to ask.
The movie is almost B grade but the performances of Reynolds and Armand Assante in particular manage to keep this film from totally going in the toilet.
Watching Demi was a REAL THRILL! Unfortunately though that was about all there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars For Demi Moore's eyes only!, March 27 2001
By 
Hassaan Abdeen (Amman, Jordan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story of this movie is not much at all... actually it is weak and I knew this even before I buy this DVD.
But what made it worth buying is to see Demi Moore strip for you... that's it!
So if you are a fan of Demi Moore and want to see her strip for you... go for it. If not, don't even consider buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, March 16 2001
By 
I thought this movie was awesome, it is hilarious. Burt Reynolds plays the stereotypical sleazy congressman that is always in trouble, and Demi hits home with her role as a stripper. Anyone who knows strippers knows that most of them have children that they are trying to support at home. This movie is mostly realistic and honest. I think that the only reason it hasnt done better in review, and in the box office, is because this brand of honest reality is the kind that most people dont want to face or acknoweledge existance of. I applaud the makers of this film.. talk to a stripper (which im not) and you will find that this kind of thing is daily for them, customers get enthralled with them on a fantasy level, and it usually leads to drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Forget the movie, read the book, Dec 6 2000
By 
Beau Yarbrough (Between Disneyland and Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
While not Carl Hiaasen's best novel -- I'd nominate "Skin Tight" or "Native Tongue" for that -- "Strip Tease" is far wiser, funnier and richer than the anemic film version by Demi Moore would have you believe.
Instead of FBI secretary-turned-stripper Erin being a strangely desexualized perfect being, in the novel, she's a complicated mess. In other words, a real human being. Her ex-husband is a piece of crap, yes, but not the cartoonish lout we see in the film. Really, everyone in a Hiaasen novel is a bit of a goofball, once their foibles are looked at unflinchingly, which is part of the fun.
Those only familiar with "Strip Tease" via the movie don't get any of that: The good guys are too good to screw up, and the bad guys are too stupid to have any redeeming qualities. And to top it all off, Demi apparently doesn't understand that stripping is meant to titillate, not spiritually enlighten its audience. Those aroused by the film ought to get out more.
In fact, the book tops the film in every way, with the possible exception of what Burt Reynolds brings to the film. But even then, in his role as a corrupt politician -- and, ultimately, the engine for the story -- punches are pulled and he's not quite as sleazy as in the book. Apparently, giving people a lesson into how greed is destroying the Everglades was just too heavy for the film audience.
Those who liked the film -- and they exist, strangely enough -- still ought to pick up the book, to learn all about the characters and read the situations that didn't make the final cut. For current fans of Hiaasen's work, the book is roughly on par with "Stormy Weather," although much more politically barbed than that work, which took aim at humanity's folly generally.
And for Demi Moore, what were you thinking? You owe Carl and his fans a big apology, as well as your own fans, who deserve better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Striptease [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 21.44 CDN$ 18.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews