Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Well, of course, you can dance any steps you like! But that doesn't mean you'll...win"
The plot of "Strictly Ballroom" isn't overly complicated, but somehow its director, Baz Luhrmann, managed to make the kind of movie that leaves you smiling, and wanting to watch it again. This film doesn't give you a lot of food for thought, but it is pure unadulterated fun, and that is a lot :)

The main character is Scott (Paul Mercurio), a ballroom dancer who...
Published on Jan. 9 2007 by M. B. Alcat

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this version is terrible!
This dvd version must have been a direct transfer from a video, or a bootleg by someone sitting in the theatre because the quality is absolutely horrible! The distributor should just throw these babies away because they are not worth even a penny. If I had to choose, I would just go out and buy the video version. This dvd records all the pops, clicks and faded images,...
Published on Jan. 24 2003 by soonli


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this version is terrible!, Jan. 24 2003
By 
soonli (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This dvd version must have been a direct transfer from a video, or a bootleg by someone sitting in the theatre because the quality is absolutely horrible! The distributor should just throw these babies away because they are not worth even a penny. If I had to choose, I would just go out and buy the video version. This dvd records all the pops, clicks and faded images, and is it my imagination, or is the film constantly shaking? If you like Strictly Ballroom (and it is a wonderful film), buy the other dvd version - or stick to the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Well, of course, you can dance any steps you like! But that doesn't mean you'll...win", Jan. 9 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The plot of "Strictly Ballroom" isn't overly complicated, but somehow its director, Baz Luhrmann, managed to make the kind of movie that leaves you smiling, and wanting to watch it again. This film doesn't give you a lot of food for thought, but it is pure unadulterated fun, and that is a lot :)

The main character is Scott (Paul Mercurio), a ballroom dancer who is tired of the steps that others taught him, and wants to dance his own steps. Due to that, and to the fact that he starts to do exactly that in a championship without talking about it with his partner, Liz (Gia Carides), she leaves him. For Liz, the matter is simple: she wants to win, and Scott's new steps aren't the way to do so. The president of the Australian Dance Federation, Barry Fife (Bill Hunter), expresses the situation quite well when he says that "Well, of course, you can dance any steps you like! But that doesn't mean you'll...win".

It is after that chaotic and interesting beginning to the film that the try-outs for Scott's new couple begin, the "judges" being his extremely emotional mother (Pat Thompson) and his ballroom dancing professor (Peter Whitford), both professional ballroom dancers in the past. Unknown to them, though, Scott discovers in Fran (Tara Morice), a frequently overlooked woman who is merely a beginner with lots of spunk, the person who he wants to dance with, even if he has to teach her himself. After all, Fran's motto, "A life lived in fear is a life half lived", goes well with Scott's philosophy that is dancing that matters, not winning.

All in all, I can sincerely say that I loved this movie, and that I deeply regret missing it in 1992, when it was released... Truth to be told, "Strictly ballroom" isn't overly popular here in Argentina, and it is rather difficult to find a copy to rent. Fortunately, and thanks to the recommendation of a friend and a new videostore, I could watch it today. I enjoyed the story, the music and the great performances given by the actors, as well as the wonderful ending that allowed me to keep on smiling after a while even after finishing the movie. Of course, I highly recommend this movie to you!.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Ballroom (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shipped fast. Can't say anything negative at all. I got it for a friend who wanted it. She's very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight!, Aug. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Ballroom (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is sweet & quirky. It's an Australian version of Waiting for Guffman or Best in Show as it starts as a documentary. I have watched it many times over the years and I think I enjoy it more every time I watch it. It's a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Ballroom, Dec 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen this movie a thousand times! It's quirky! It has an incredible soundtrack! The dancing is fantastic! Paul Mercurio and Tara Morice share a wonderful chemistry. You can't help rooting for them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Ballroom, July 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Ballroom (Bilingual) (DVD)
Wonderful story lines. Very interesting movie with good dance performers. Very interesting characters too. Overall, a very entertaining movie. This movie will make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, great service!, Jan. 15 2012
Got this item just before Christmas even after a late order!
Was shipped the next day and arrived to make a Christmas present for my girlfriend who was thrilled and we wathced and enjoyed it very much. Thank you for speedy delivery and good service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely One of the Best Movies ever!!, Oct. 26 2002
By 
If you missed this Australia gem, don't fail to get it when it comes out soon. The Aussies are rabid about their ballroom dancing, and this movie pokes gentle fun at their obsession with classy wit that is incisive and yet endearing. The whole movie is stocked with super performances in this tale of the ugly ducking turning into a swan simply because she wants to dance ballroom. The characters, editing and delivery of all the actors keep this on the cutting edge that make it one you will want to view again and again.
Absolutely one of the best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, musical whimsy!, March 6 2004
It's impossible not to be moved by this wonderful gem of a movie, which proved to be a major stepping stone for bigger (but not always better) works for its director. The ultimate "feel good" story which works on so many levels...colorful, talented cast, excellent soundtrack and choreography, charming writing and witty, inspired direction & cinematography.
The only reason this DVD doesn't rate a perfect score is its unfortunate lack of special features. Letterbox format would be nice and some kind of commentary or other related bonus material should have been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, not so the DVD, June 20 2004
I have loved this movie for years, and had it on tape. I was so happy when I saw there was a DVD, and it had a commentary. But, surprise! The commentary is absoluely rotten. I can't believe people who could make such an entertaining movie couldn't find anything interesting to say about it. I found my self yelling at the TV screen for them to get moving. Don't remember ever doing that before...
There are a few interesting extras, but really, the only thing I got for my money as a slightly clearer picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0517204)

This product

Strictly Ballroom (Bilingual)
Strictly Ballroom (Bilingual) by Paul Mercurio (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews