summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars117
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$29.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 20, 2016
funny stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
What's to say, it's Annie Hall. A Woody classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
Story of an overbearing 40-year-old comic who meets a woman, their off-again-on-again relationship. Occasionally funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2012
This movie may have been a classic in its day, but I think it may be past its prime. I have only ever seen one other Woody Allen film, and maybe those who particularly enjoy his work will still love this, but I found the dialogue a bit dated and the style of Allen a bit choppy and uncoordinated.

The characters were very believable, the problems were not exaggerated, but I didn't feel a connection or any empathy towards the characters and couldn't really relate to their problems.

It actually reminds me a lot of "The Five Year Engagement" which just left theaters and I would advise anyone born in 1985 or later to check out that instead or perhaps a different Jason Segel movie.

I have no doubt this movie was amazing for a long time, but in 2012 I only found it to be just OK.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon April 13, 2011
Just to add my voice to the choir: Quite simply one of the best films
about romantic relationships ever made. Brilliantly written.
Brilliantly acted -- Diane Keaton is tremendous, the supporting cast is
full of gems and Allen himself takes the leap to present himself as a
real (if funny) human being and not a walking joke. And brilliantly
photographed by the great Gordon Willis of 'The Godfather' and many of
most important films of the 70s and 80s.

Wildly funny and ultimately heartbreaking. It's hard to imagine anyone
who has ever been in love, or struggled through grown-up relationships
NOT identifying with a lot of this film. I loved it in my late teens
when it first came out, and I love it even more 32 years later. Every
time I see it I notice different details, depending on my own current
life experiences. A film of enormous wit, humor, invention, and
understanding of the human heart. Its completely unique, playful and
idiosyncratic in style and approach, but that experimentation somehow
only makes it more accessible and universal. If you haven't seen it,
you owe yourself a try, even if you're not a Woody Allen 'fan'. And if
you saw it long ago, it may be time for another look.

For some insane reason, the North American DVD is not
even enhanced for 16x9 TVs.

And while the new blu-ray isn't quite reference quality (probably
due to the age and condition of the source materials) it does
look very, very good. A considerable step up from the DVD,
and very much worth it if you love the film. There's more
depth, sharpness, richness. More immediacy. Of course, some
things never change, and there are still no extras (sigh...)
but worth the up-grade none-the-less.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon April 13, 2011
Quite simply one of the best films
about romantic relationships ever made. Brilliantly written.
Brilliantly acted -- Diane Keaton is tremendous, the supporting cast is
full of gems and Allen himself takes the leap to present himself as a
real (if funny) human being and not a walking joke. And brilliantly
photographed by the great Gordon Willis of 'The Godfather' and many of
most important films of the 70s and 80s.

Wildly funny and ultimately heartbreaking. It's hard to imagine anyone
who has ever been in love, or struggled through grown-up relationships
NOT identifying with a lot of this film. I loved it in my late teens
when it first came out, and I love it even more 32 years later. Every
time I see it I notice different details, depending on my own current
life experiences. A film of enormous wit, humor, invention, and
understanding of the human heart. Its completely unique, playful and
idiosyncratic in style and approach, but that experimentation somehow
only makes it more accessible and universal. If you haven't seen it,
you owe yourself a try, even if you're not a Woody Allen 'fan'. And if
you saw it long ago, it may be time for another look.

And while the new blu-ray isn't quite reference quality (probably
due to the age and condition of the source materials) it does
look very, very good. A considerable step up from the DVD,
and very much worth it if you love the film. There's more
depth, sharpness, richness. More immediacy. Of course, some
things never change, and there are still no extras (sigh...)
but worth the up-grade none-the-less.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2009
There is no substitute for incredible dialogue and genuine insight into the human fabric. Annie Hall is and always will be the "classic" of romantic comedies. Diane Keaton is Annie Hall, it is the role of a lifetime, and an outstanding performance to boot.
If you enjoy listening as well as watching a movie, you come back again and again to Woody's best film ever.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
Woody's self searching and unique form of humor make this a brilliant movie. Diane Keaton is the perfect co-star.
I saw this last year after not seeing it since it came out in the late 1970's...still just as fresh and wonderful. I just wish my wife liked Woody Allen humor as much as I do.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2004
People just adore Annie Hall. I like Annie Hall. Manhattan and Hannah and Her Sisters work better for me but I can think of about a billion worse ways to spend 90 minutes than watching Annie Hall. Even though I'm not particularly charmed by it, I freely admit Annie Hall is better than 98% of all American movies ever. Funny, smart and endearingly offbeat. Certainly worth the going price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse