Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect DVD
Not only do you get one of the great films of all time, you also get the documentary about the film and its impact on the general public. The film is about a man's priciples to defend a black man who is accused of rape during the Great Depression. The film is also about growing up and facing lifes realities. This work is truly beautiful and has held up every bit as...
Published on June 3 2004 by papaphilly

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as great as the book.
This movie was ahead of its time. I really enjoyed the introductory sequence featuring Scout coloring and humming. Gregory Peck was amazing as Atticus Finch, bringing much, but not too much drama to his role. However, I do feel that this movie was overall too dramatic, very unlike the book. It lacked the book's subtle humor, and replaced it with exaggerated dramatic...
Published on Nov. 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect DVD, June 3 2004
By 
Not only do you get one of the great films of all time, you also get the documentary about the film and its impact on the general public. The film is about a man's priciples to defend a black man who is accused of rape during the Great Depression. The film is also about growing up and facing lifes realities. This work is truly beautiful and has held up every bit as good as when it was first released. The film also follows the book very closely and does a wonderfull job of adapting the masterpiece.
The DVD has running commentary from the film makers as well as an exclusive documentary about the film. This project could not been done better. It is part of my personal film library and is truly a great addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something new every time, Dec 5 2007
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Kill a Mockingbird (DVD)
This is another rendition of an American classic. I had seen this movie and read the book in the past, so was there really anything new this time? We watched it as a school project for my daughter. She watched it as a teenager, my wife watched it as a teacher and I watched it as a lawyer and, for tonight, at least, a part-time tutor. We each saw something in it that we had not appreciated before. For me, the courtroom scenes were interesting, but I identified more with Atticus, the father, than Atticus the lawyer. No matter how often you have watched this in the past, you will find something new to admire when you watch it again. Never stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, now in blu, but time is running out for digital copy, Nov. 10 2012
By 
Guy Rogers (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Kill a Mockingbird [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am not going to discuss the film, as many other have covered it. The Blu transfer looks and sounds great, but if you are buying the film with the intention of getting benefit of the digital copy, be aware of the following when using the code through iTunes Canada :

SD - 1.76GB
Code until - 31 December 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destruction of the innocent by the evils of the society, July 19 2004
By 
Kuldip Kumar Garhwal "Kuldip" (Calcutta, India; Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Destruction of the innocent by the evils of the society
Kuldip Kumar Garhwal
"Mockingbirds don't do one thing but... sing their heart out for us. That's why it is a sin to kill a mockingbird." The movie 'To kill a mockingbird' depicts the destruction of the innocent by the evils of the society. Mockingbird is a symbol of innocence, characterized by Tom Robinson and Arthur Radley (Boo) where racial prejudice and ignorance are the symbol of evils in the society.
Tom Robinson, an African-American is accused by Mayela, a white woman, of sexual molestation. Atticus, a prominent lawyer of the town Maycomb, has proved that Tom Robinson is innocent but still the "all-white jury" convicts Robinson of the guilt. Tom Robinson, a "quite humble respectable Negro", becomes the victim of racial prejudice. Arthur Radley (Boo) has been emotionally destroyed by his father, as his father did not let him step outside the house. Boo is one of the "mockingbirds" in the story, who is the victim of ignorance; evil of the society which is trying to kill the good. Boo had a deep affection for children, which is later displayed in the story, when Boo saves Jim and Scout from Bob Ewells.
"There are some men in the world who are born to do unpleasant jobs for us; your father is one of them", said Maudie to Jim after his father (Atticus) lost the case of Tom Robinson. Atticus helped his children to learn values of life and he showed them how to live life by the values; preaching by practicing. Atticus allowed his children to call him by his name instead of 'father'. He wanted his children to explore freedom, but also taught them to stay in limits. Jim is brave, intelligent, and caring. He learns courage, dignity, and value of life from his father. He is transforming into adulthood.
Scout is still a kid; she does not know anything about the existence of evil in the society. She is learning about evils from the real life example of the victims (Tom and Boo) of the evils in the society. By the end of the story Scout's perspective on life develops from that of an innocent child into that of a near grown up. "Mr. Tate was right", said Scout to Atticus, after Mr. Tate, the town Sheriff explained Atticus indirectly that whatever Boo did was correct and he is not supposed to be punished for that. "It would be like shooting the mockingbird, wouldn't it." Scout shows a high level of ability to comprehend at the age of five, and understands the whole situation and judges what is right and what is wrong.
The Music Director of the movie has done an excellent job. Music plays an important role in the movie, by setting the mood for what is been screened. The movie starts with a musical note, which seems like it is played by a kid, one note at a time. The movie also has gothic music to create the horrifying or thrilling environment, when Jim and Scout were walking home after the Halloween Party and they had an encounter with Bob Ewells. Most of the places the movie has melancholy music to produce the feeling of thoughtful sadness. The pleasant arrangements of musical notes in the movie create an atmosphere where we feel that we are a part of the movie, and we go back into our nostalgic memories and look back into our childhood. The movie itself seems like a mockingbird song.
My favorite scene in the movie is when Atticus is walking out of the courtroom after the trial is over and all the "colored" people sitting in the balcony stands up to pay respect to Atticus, a white man, who tried his level best to save a "Negro." The Reverend says to Scout who was sitting, "Stand up Jean Louise. Your father is passing." The scene says it all, there is not much dialogue but the expressions on the faces of the black people was marvelous, with a slow melancholy music at the background. As it this situation there is nothing left to say, because everyone knows in the courtroom that Tom Robinson is not guilty but still the jury has convicted him of the rape, just because of racial prejudice.
_____________________________________________
Kuldip Kumar Garhwal(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the least bit disappointed!!, July 12 2014
Excellent film. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, June 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely the beat ever! Gregory Peck is incredible and deserves an award- hope he won one. The movie sends a powerful message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gregory Peck, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An astonishing performance by Gregory. His determination to prove someomes innocence at a time
when there was so much prejudice. Powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic film, beautifully restored and presented, June 2 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Kill a Mockingbird [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Years ago, I had the pleasure of knowing the German translator of Harper Lee's classic novel. (I even helped her effort with a bit of expertise). Yet all these years I've avoided watching the film. Big mistake, although I'm glad I jumped in now! This new DVD is beautifully done, with excellent video and sound, and useful additional features. It makes nonsense of silly reviews such as the one that litters the pages of the usually helpful Time Out. The film of course is far from perfect but is nonetheless compulsive viewing-- darkly disturbing, touching, and near-magical in its human grasp. It is a true American classic. If you've never seen it, or seen it only in faulty versions, this is the one to get. A real treasure.Thank you, Gregory Peck, Mary Badham, Robert Mulligan, and all of you who brought this to life. Unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies. Ever, June 1 2014
By 
Janet Pole "Canuckie Cookie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A rare gem of a "based on the book movie" (they usually are awful) this is pure perfection. Gregory Peck is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To Kill a Mockingbird, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this movie as a teenager and it moved me tremendously. It still has the same impact today. The cast is fantastic, but then what to expect with any movie starring Gregory Peck. I enjoyed this 50th Anniversary edition, specially the conversation with Gregory Peck. Just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Kill a Mockingbird [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 19.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews