Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect DVD
Not only do you get one of the great films of all time, you also get the documentary about the film and its impact on the general public. The film is about a man's priciples to defend a black man who is accused of rape during the Great Depression. The film is also about growing up and facing lifes realities. This work is truly beautiful and has held up every bit as...
Published on June 3 2004 by papaphilly

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as great as the book.
This movie was ahead of its time. I really enjoyed the introductory sequence featuring Scout coloring and humming. Gregory Peck was amazing as Atticus Finch, bringing much, but not too much drama to his role. However, I do feel that this movie was overall too dramatic, very unlike the book. It lacked the book's subtle humor, and replaced it with exaggerated dramatic...
Published on Nov. 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars To Kill A Mockingbird, Oct. 28 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "alus80" (Mokane, MO United States) - See all my reviews
To Kill A Mockingbird was released in 1962 by Universal Studios. It is a drama in black and white with a running time of 2hrs./10mins. Directed by Robert Mulligan. This movie also won an Academy Award.
To Kill A Mockingbird takes place in an old southern town during the depression. Atticus, portrayed by Gregory Peck, is a lawyer. Atticus is a widower raising a son, Jem, portrayed by Phillip Alford and a daughter, Scout, portrayed by Mary Bedham. Atticus takes on the case of a black man accused of assaulting and raping a white woman.
The remarkableness of this film is how the children are exposed to prejudice, but keep their innocence and never become judgemental. The children's impression and admiration for their father grows throughtout the movie. Atticus shares insightful things with them such as, "you never really understand a man until you put yourself in his shoes and walk around in them, also, "it is a sin to kill a mockingbird for they only mean to please." "To Kill A Mockingbird" is enjoyable and educational and it explores stereotypical prejudices of the deep south with many emotional experiences.
I highly recommend this movie for everyone.
A bit of trivia--This is Robert Duvalls first movie. He has no lines in it, but has a high impact of emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Comfort, Sept. 7 2003
By 
This 1962 black and white film is based on Harper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning book "To Kill a Mockingbird". Gregory Peck won an Oscar for his wonderful performance as Atticus Finch, a lawyer in Alabama during the Depression. Atticus is appointed to defend a black man who is accused of raping a white woman. Many townspeople try to get Atticus to back out of the trial but his conscience won't let him. Though Tom Robinson (the accused) is obviously innocent, the outcome of his trail is blatant proof of how prevalent prejudice is at that time. Mr. Finch's conviction to defend Tom costs him some friendships but gains him respect among the black community and the admiration of his children.
You just cannot go wrong with this movie. It shows how kids adapt to very serious situations around them but manage to keep the innocence. Gregory Peck should be a role model for us all. He shows us to stand true to our convictions no matter how hard that may seem. Winning the approval of others does not take the place of following what's in your heart. I give him a standing ovation and 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever. Period., Aug. 30 2003
The source of the movie is the Pulitzer Prize novel of the same name by Harper Lee, one of the most beloved works of literature.
What is the film about? Its themes cover a wide range -- race, parenting, morality, and justice. However, all these issues can be summed up in one concept repeated over and over again: seeing a situation from the perspective of another person. Atticus says to his children that it is a sin to kill a mockingbird, because all it does is sing. Through Atticus, the children come to see the mockingbird in an unjustly persecuted black man as well as in the ghostly-white neighborhood bogeyman. But in small ways, we see the mockingbird in a poor farm boy, a querulous spinster, even in a man involved in a lynching attempt and in a woman committing perjury. (One criticism: the movie does not have time to explore the surprisingly noble qualities of two of the least appealing characters in the novel, Mrs. Dubose and Mr. Raymond.) Imagine how different our world would be if we treated everyone with the dignity afforded them by Atticus Finch.
Alan Pakula gives every detail of his production exquisite attention. The screenplay by Horton Foote deftly trims details and enhances other aspects of the novel without changing its spirit. The score by Elmer Bernstein moves the heart, especially in the opening sequence that perfectly captures the playful wonder of a child. The direction by Robert Mulligan brings out the very best in his actors.
Cinema has rarely assembled such a talented cast. After MOCKINGBIRD, Gregory Peck was defined by his portrayal of Atticus Finch, the widowed lawyer explaining the complicated issues of life to his two children, leading by impeccable example to do right no matter how difficult the circumstances. Mary Badham and Phillip Alford are two of the best child actors ever. Robert Duvall, in his Hollywood debut, gives a riveting performance as a shy recluse, even though he barely speaks.
TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD tells all of us is that even in the confusing complexities of the real world, one can still persevere and make the world a better place. This movie is cinema at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atticus Finch - the greatest hero of all time, Aug. 23 2003
With the all the other heroic roles Gregory Peck played, his potryal of middle-aged Atticus Finch, with no particular good-looks to speak form, was his greatest as his sole Academy Award proves. Although, in the terms of scenes covered, the film may not be very faithful to the equally brilliant book, it retains the true spirit of the story (as well as the major scenes). To add to that, the casting is perfect; the character are all just how I imagined them. The children were particularly impressive, making their characters realistic; Mary Badham acts her role with a childish innocence, very relevant to her character of Scout, which delightful to watch.
The movie is full of wonderful scenes, with the court trial being the highlight. Gregory Peck's closing defence speech consists of some of the greatest film dialogue of all time. For readers and non-readers of Harper Lee' book, this film will be enjoyable and shame on those (particularly a certain reviewer) who cannot appreciate its message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mockingbird Killing Revisited-The PC edition, Aug. 20 2003
Mockingbird killing revisited

Some classic movies remain relevant long after the era they portrayed passed into memory. Some should be left untouched. Except for the acting of Gregory Peck and Brock Peters, the movie version of Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird seems like a slow moving story going at 33 rpm in a world that's on warp speed 40 years after the movies release.

The movie set in Black and White cinematography moves slowly with its plot introducing all the characters especially the children in little vignettes. Yet for a movie about the mistreatment of African-Americans in the 1930's rural south, there is little exposition about the key figure, Tom Robinson, the man accused of rape by a spinster white women or the lives Blacks lived in that era.

The movie glorified the courage of Atticus Finch, played stoically by Peck, who took to the unsuccessful defense of Robinson, who dies off-screen, much as the activities of the blacks in this movie are used to highlight Finch's lack of prejudice. Where the Whites in the movie are portrayed in shades of gray from unrelenting bigotry to middling tolerance, all the black characters are presented as noble savages with great dignity and idol-like appreciation for the attorney's defense. 40 years ago there was a lump in my throat, when the Black community seated in the balcony of the courthouse, stood silently to honour attorney Finch, now there was a look to my watch to see when this tale would come to an end.

Some parts of this drama still work, the attack on Finch's children by the wronged spinster's father and defense by recluse Boo Radley played by Robert Duvall, still works well as well as the sheriff's(played by Frank Overton) failure to prosecute Radley. However, even that ending is marred by the reverential liberalism that the racists death cancels out Tom Robinson's. But every black character even the Finch maid and nanny, Calpurnia, is shown with respect and anonymity. Its as if the movie's creative team were afraid to show three dimensional African American life, proving once again in the words of Nat "King" Cole, "Madison Avenue is afraid of the dark."

Joseph B. Rosenberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Filmmaking, Aug. 6 2003
By 
Fredric Pierce (Huntington Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't really feel the need to review "To Kill a Mockingbird." The editorial review and the opinion of the American Film Institute should say enough about the superiority of this work. Every actor gives a flawless performance. Atticus Finch is Gregory Peck's finest roll and his performance lives up to character. All the children are simply amazing. One performance that seems to get virtually no attention in reviews is Collin Wilcox Paxton as Mayella Violet Ewell. Ms. Paxton draws together an astounding collection of emotions and releases them in one to the most intense and frightening performances I have seen in any film. I remember seeing the film as a pre-teen (when it was new), and Ms. Paxton's anguished, screaming face is the image that is most vividly burned in my memory. She scared the bejeezers out of me.
There simply can be no reasonable rating less than 5 stars for this flawless classic. So I was curious to find out why some people would give it less!?! I scanned through all the reviews and found only a handful who, I feel, had legitimate reasons for giving 4 stars because they felt the DVD transfer was flawed.
I was amazed to find other reasons. Several school kids who had been forced to watch (and read) "To Kill a Mockingbird" who thought it was boring. Perhaps this says something about our schools, no? And maybe it says more about television.
Some people were upset because it was not in color. They were unable to get over their disappointment and see the movie as it is. It was made in black and white at a time when Technicolor ruled the screen. There is clearly a very specific artistic reason Robert Mulligan chose black and white. He made the right choice. The sense of the dusty, dry, poor depression era is beautifully reinforced by the black and white presentation.
But the most amazing review was one person that said "Racism still serves a purpose..."!! Wow! I guess there are still Bob Ewells among us!
"Too Kill a Mockingbird" is without doubt one of the finest examples of American filmmaking. Anybody (particularly any American) who can appreciate the finer things in life, and has any sensitivity to the complexities of human society, should watch this film. And it stands up well to repeat viewing, as does any truly classic work of great art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Actor and Role in Perfect Alignment, July 22 2003
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
In his later years, Peck acknowledged that Atticus Finch was his favorite role among many such as Frank Savage in Twelve O'Clock High and Phil Green in Gentleman's Agreement. Peck was the perfect choice to play Finch and received an Academy Award for best actor for that performance. Finch is the central character in Harper Lee's autobiographical novel. A widower with two young children, he supports himself and his family as an attorney in a small town in Alabama during the Great Depression. When Tom Robinson (Brock Peters) is accused of rape, Finch agrees to represent the young black man. This decision antagonizes several of the town's racist whites.
The action is seen through Lee's persona, "Scout" (Mary Badham), the younger of the two Finch children. The trial becomes the focal point of the narrative, with the courtroom becoming Finch's pulpit. His eloquent appeals for justice and racial tolerance are directed to everyone in the town, not only to members of the jury. As directed by Robert Mulligan, all members of the cast perform brilliantly. Of special interest is the screen debut of Robert Duvall as Boo Radley, a mysterious recluse who eventually becomes significantly involved in the plot. Thanks to Peck's skills under Mulligan's direction, this is not a "preachy" film. Finch is as credible to those who see this film as he is to those in the town in which he and his children live. When making word associations with the name Gregory Peck, intelligence, integrity, and dignity immediately come to mind. All three describe Finch. Credit must also be given to Horton Foote who wrote the highly literate screenplay based on Lee's autobiographical novel. This is a great film primarily because it contains a great performance by Peck and because (through Finch) it makes a power appeal to the best that is within us, whatever the color of our skin may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves all the accolades it has received., July 7 2003
By A Customer
I have often introduced favorite books and movies to my two daughters, hoping they would love them as I do. My "batting average" on this has been less than 1.000; however, I hit a home run with "To Kill a Mockingbird". Both girls, ages 11 and 14, now count it among their favorite movies.
It's hard to believe anyone could pan this movie; yet that's exactly what the famous movie critic Roger Ebert did. Apparently the movie was too "white" for his taste. For example, with the exception of Tom, hardly any lines of dialogue were accorded to black actors. Roger: this is a story told throught the eyes of a white Southern child; other books and movies have told stories from the black experience. Next,Ebert finds it amazing that Atticus believed that Tom was shot trying to escape. Of course, implies Roger, he was gunned down in cold blood by the guard. Earth to Roger! This is a work of fiction. Tom's fate was whatever the author said it was. Ebert even picked at Sheriff Tate's "let the dead bury the dead, Mr. Finch" near the end of the film, wondering how Tom and Ewell would feel about burying each other. Again -- Earth to Roger! Hello? Hello? Tate was quoting Scripture, something a person might well do in that circumstance, without first analyzing every deep repercussion to his words.
In summary: if you're a pretentious, riddled-with-white-liberal-guilt movie critic like Ebert, feel free to write drivel like his. But if you're a normal person, this is a movie to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic that Speaks for Itself, June 27 2003
By 
shoutgrace "savedbyhisgrace" (Charleston, WV United States) - See all my reviews
'To Kill a Mockingbird' the only written Pulitzer Prize classic by Harper Lee to gain so much in literary or film history. It has become not only a tale of a single father's love for his two children but a social commentary of socialism, racism and injustice. Director Robert Mulligan delivers Lee's classic with such precision that the book translation into the film reatined it's quality with nothing lost. What other films taken from books can say that? It has made the American Film Institute's (AFI) list of top 100 films of all time. It's considered one of the finest examples of family drama ever made. Even though set in a 1932 Depression-era Southern town of Maycomb, Alabama, in history it still remains timeless. It's message still remains powerfully strong and resounding in our American society today. It still defends the cause of tolerance, justice, sound morals and responsible, loving single parenthood.

This message is just as very much important today as it was then. I recommend this to people of all ages. The courtroom drama is beyond mundane or formality. Gregory Peck is Atticus Finch, small-town Alabama lawyer and widower father of two. This is one of his best performances that got him the Oscar at the Academy Awards in 1962. He takes on with compassion the defense of a black man (Brock Peters) accused of rape and murder of a young white woman. His children Scout (Mary Badham) who tells the story and her brother Jem (Philip Alford) learn about racial prejudice and hatred. They also overcome their fear of a mysterious, obscure and silent neighbor Boo Radley (Robert Duvall, in his brilliant screen debut). Some of the best classic lines from the movie when Atticus has a quiet moment with his children. If you just learn a single trick, Scout, you'll get along a lot better with all kinds of folks. You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view...Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it. And he tells them about it was a sin to kill a mockingbird. The mockingbird was different from all the other birds...because mockingbirds don't do anything but make music for us to enjoy. They don't eat people's gardens, don't nest in the corncrib, they don't do one thing but just sing their hearts out for us.

What comes from this beautifully told film is a shining, intense drama that cleverly extracts the ideas of Harper Lee's heartfelt classic, a tremendously talented group of American actors brought together in one film and the magic of devoted artistry of screenplay and an outstanding score. It's strength has survived all the madness and complexity of today's so-called Hollywood cinema. 'To Kill a Mockingbird' is truly an all-time classic that speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like great wine, this film improves with age....., June 20 2003
By 
Chris K. Wilson "Chris Kent" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I suppose the death of Gregory Peck has left a great moment of sadness within us all. At least those of us lucky enough to have experienced the budding greatness of the 1962 film "To Kill A Mockingbird." There was a time, believe it or not, when director Robert Mulligan's "To Kill A Mockingbird" was considered trite and conventional.
Many critics claimed Gregory Peck's Academy Award-winning honor for this film to be an acknowledgement of a long and fruitful career, rather than the individual performance. Unfortunately, this film was released during a time in American history when cultural change was on the horizon. The messages in this film, based on Harper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, were no longer considered relevant. They were lost in a sea of grainy TV footage showing Kennedy's assassination, the Vietnam war and Jimi Hendrix performing "The Star Spangled Banner."
So I suppose it's not a surprise that "To Kill A Mockingbird" fell through the cracks. What a joy to see this film's reputation grow on an annual basis. Is there a single American film in history more deserving of lofty status than "To Kill A Mockingbird?" I say completely, without a moment's hestitation, that Gregory Peck's performance as Atticus Finch is one of the greatest single performances in cinema history. It ranks with George C. Scott's performance in "Patton," Robert De Niro's in "The Raging Bull" and Marlon Brando's in "A Streetcar Named Desire."
Rarely has a role fit an actor so comfortably and believably as that of Atticus Finch with Gregory Peck. The moment arrived, the cosmos came together, and Peck gave the ultimate performance of a lifetime. It was a role which would forever define a man, if not a country. Today, "To Kill A Mockingbird" is required viewing for all children. In fact, it should be required viewing for all Americans. This film ultimately personifies all that is strong and decent within our troubled culture.
There are really no villains in "To Kill A Mockingbird," but there are deeply flawed men, women and children struggling with the changing tide of a complex society. In "To Kill A Mockingbird," this is our world, for better or for worse. Gregory Peck/Atticus Finch will eventually serve as a beacon for us all. His portrayal is a testament. It is an example of what we can truly be if we tap the best within mankind. There is not a single bad note in "To Kill A Mockingbird," and a special note must be made for the heartbreaking performance of Brock Peters.
I suppose it is telling that when watching this film as a child, I wanted to be like Atticus Finch - wrinkled white suit, gentle smile, respectful of tradition. One day, when my children watch this film, I have not a doubt they will feel the same way. This film, like the book, is exquistely timeless. And to think, it almost fell through the cracks of cultural upheaval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Kill a Mockingbird [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 19.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews