Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not personal. It's politics
Mao Tse Tung said: Politics is war without bloodshed. War is politics with bloodshed. Ides of March proves the truth of this.

In George Clooney's more recent movies, he has become an acting chameleon moving with the deftness and surefootedness of a mountain goat, winning five Academy Award nominations and one Oscar for Syriana.

I particularly loved...
Published on Dec 21 2011 by L. Power

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant political drama
A presidential candidate (George Clooney), his top aide (Ryan Gosling), and a young female staffer (Evan Rachel Wood) are the focus of this depressing political drama. Though utterly charming, the candidate is shown to have feet of clay, involved in a dangerous triangle with the other two.

On the Ides of March, Julius Caesar was assassinated; in this Ides of...
Published on Nov. 1 2011 by Kona


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not personal. It's politics, Dec 21 2011
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Ides of March / Les Marches du pouvoir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Mao Tse Tung said: Politics is war without bloodshed. War is politics with bloodshed. Ides of March proves the truth of this.

In George Clooney's more recent movies, he has become an acting chameleon moving with the deftness and surefootedness of a mountain goat, winning five Academy Award nominations and one Oscar for Syriana.

I particularly loved his collaborations with the Coen Brothers, the onscreen chemistry with Catherine Zeta Jones in Intolerable Cruelty, and the epic reimagining "O Brother Where Art Thou Ryan Gosling, I consider to be perhaps the greatest actor on the planet. Nearly every movie performance he has given has been nominated for some acting award, even though many of the movies were not mainstream. Have you heard of Half Nelson, for which he got Oscar nominated? He starred in Crazy Stupid Love / Un Amour Fou WS (BILINGUAL) also starring Marisa Tomei, earlier this year, and did an amazing job.

Ides of March may be described as a political thriller, and if you're like me it will certainly grip you and have you on the edge of your seat at times, with its twists and turns.

Ryan Gosling plays a campaign assistant manager, who works for Paul played by Philip Seymour Hoffman, and both work for Governor Morris, played by George Clooney, a man with eyes on the presidency. Paul Giamatti plays a veteran campaign manager for a rival politician. Evan Rachel Wood plays a young intern who gets sucked into the intrigues, and Marisa Tomei plays a hard scrabbling reporter always looking for dirt to dish. In fairness, though her methods may be dubious, she is seeking the truth. Nevertheless friendships and loyalties vanish quicker than you can imagine.

Ides of March, and its characters portray every shade of dark, and you may wonder how something as innocuous as agreeing to meet a rival for a drink in a bar can become such a potential disaster, and how going on a date with an intern when you're single can lead to such complications. Certainly Stephen Myers (Gosling)is left to wonder how minor personal actions can have such potentially dire personal political consequences.

I have to say the story is brilliantly constructed and told, and as you might expect with a political movie, it contains tons of sound bites. We all know that politics can be quite dirty with lowdown tricks and negative campaigning, but I don't think you have seen anything quite like this except in real politics. One persons pain becomes another persons political gain.

I loved the setup and payoff of the opening and closing scenes. As the movie opens Gosling cynically delivers sound bites to camera. The movie closes with sound bites to camera.

Early in the movie he has passion for his work, and says he wouldn't do it if he does not have faith in the candidate. Will he stay true to this when his values are challenged?

I loved the confrontations between Gosling and Hoffman, Giamatti, Tomei, and Clooney in different scenes.

I loved the sexual tension in the early scenes between him and Evan Rachel Wood.

I loved the the contrast in this character who in some way cares, offering an intern in trouble a ride to and from a place, even helping her out of his own pocket, and then making the hardscrabbling choices he makes, as the Darth road beckons, and romantic ideals can disappear faster than a political friendship.

While the movie does not scream surefire Oscar winner it certainly yells, and I think Gosling will get nominated perhaps even win, particularly after being so cruelly overlooked last year for his brilliant turn in Blue Valentine. George Clooney wears three hats as actor, director, and cowriter, and who better to play a smooth politician. Hoffman and Giamatti as usual are brilliant. Either or both could be nominated. In fact you will see few movies with such a strong ensemble this year, with three Oscar winners on board.

I think you will enjoy it, and I hope this review was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Augustianian film on decline of societies..thought provoking, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
George Clooney has done an entertaining service not so much for presenting a film in which he serves the role of author, and Woody Allen like assembles a talented group around him working for less then they would normally offer professional services for and be under his direction. It is his movie..he ad mits in the commentary that he has family in the Tv news/journalism area? I'm not quite sure..and he returns here not to a large city..like new york or L.A. or Chicago..or any large metropolis in any city..but to Cincinatti..a city and baseball team pete rose made famous..not a very large city..but with dedicated and loyal fans..so different from large large cities..a return to a home area..or area he is familiar with? The environment..much time is spent on the commentary discussing the cold..cold..cold..exteriors..various venues..just things and people that invade our comfort zone..howver the small town is always an examination of nations..and here he lets go..and begins with religion..a didactic type opening from a narrator type persona..saying he espouses no religion..not even agnosticism..just nothing..but the constitution and from there we are in the midst of City of GOd like from the pages of Augustine is not so much a religious discussion but morals and how they lead to decline..and its like a court case and investigation..and we have much intimate dialogue..an interest and focus of this director and brings some vibrancy to the drama..of morals..and invading others intimacy..or persons..where we sense decline and detective like and we have a few culprits..but its really a social piece and shows given the journalistic interests political savoir faire of the auteur is something which is close to his heart..otherwise why present such a piece? It was promoted or I saw a blurb when released it seems 50ish type drama..a time when ideas of morality as it related to ?..was in the news..and for a time we heard these old type views..ceaser like..the ideas of march..and he looks at the politics of a small city..an dis really a drama of any place around the globe..to a differing degree..as usual hes effortless in his acting..when i watch his acting he makes it seem like im watching actual persons in a room..the others..are not as accomplished..he speaks of his own maturity..as a novice actor being overconfident..he seems at ease relaxed so comfortable..the viewer relaxes and its his mode of acting..the writing is good..but we dont witness really the misdeeds of the characters..reporter like..we are just given a list of errors..often opposite gender violations..males and females equally occupy this ground today..but this tale of political misfits..is a discussion piece of misdeeds..and i was sorry it ended at 140 minutes i found it absorbing..it came and went quickly..it had much critical reaction..nothing like i wrote here..about modern morals and the lead Clooney..has the role of the magistrate and often opinionated at the people around him..personal social political..and seems almost like a visitor sentdown to examine.but hes not hes from the same towns..and cities..it would have had a more popular showing if it had been a seual drama of relations, people caught in the heat of passion, and all the entangling relationships..rather than the expository tale..play like..i was immersed in it..and found it compelling rather than dry..i appreciate the star Clooney's commentary..and we shouldnt take this film..artistic presentation in any was as an endorsement of any views he has..i dont..but as a dramatic piece..the title is all too..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, May 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a movie collector I am very fussy which I order usually from seeing previews. I enjoy watching the many hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not personal. It's just politics., Oct. 29 2011
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Mao Tse Tung said: Politics is war without bloodshed. War is politics with bloodshed. Ides of March proves the truth of this.

In George Clooney's more recent movies, he has become an acting chameleon moving with the deftness and surefootedness of a mountain goat, winning five Academy Award nominations and one Oscar for Syriana.

Up in the Air I considered good though overhyped, the thriller The American, brilliant but underhyped. A personal favorite. I particularly loved his collaborations with the Coen Brothers, the onscreen chemistry with Catherine Zeta Jones in Intolerable Cruelty, and the epic reimagining "O Brother, Where Art Thou? (Widescreen)"Ryan Gosling, I consider to be perhaps the greatest actor on the planet. Nearly every movie performance he has given has been nominated for some acting award, even though many of the movies were not mainstream. Have you heard of Half Nelson, for which he got Oscar nominated? He starred in Crazy Stupid Love / Un Amour Fou WS (BILINGUAL) also starring Marisa Tomei, earlier this year, and did an amazing job.

Ides of March may be described as a political thriller, and if you're like me it will certainly grip you and have you on the edge of your seat at times, with its twists and turns.

Ryan Gosling plays a campaign assistant manager, who works for Paul played by Philip Seymour Hoffman, and both work for Governor Morris, played by George Clooney, a man with eyes on the presidency. Paul Giamatti plays a veteran campaign manager for a rival politician. Evan Rachel Wood plays a young intern who gets sucked into the intrigues, and Marisa Tomei plays a hardscrabbling reporter always looking for dirt to dish. In fairness, though her methods may be dubious, she is seeking the truth.

Ides of March, and its characters portray every shade of dark, and you may wonder how something as innocuous as agreeing to meet a rival for a drink in a bar can become such a potential disaster, and how going on a date with an intern when you're single can lead to such complications. Certainly Stephen Myers (Gosling)is left to wonder how minor personal actions can have such potentially dire personal political consequences.

I have to say the story is brilliantly constructed and told, and as you might expect with a political movie, it contains tons of sound bites. We all know that politics can be quite dirty with lowdown tricks and negative campaigning, but I don't think you have seen anything quite like this except in real politics. One persons pain becomes another persons political gain.

I loved the setup and payoff of the opening and closing scenes. As the movie opens Gosling cynically delivers sound bites to camera. The movie closes with sound bites to camera.

Early in the movie he has passion for his work, and says he wouldn't do it if he does not have faith in the candidate. Will he stay true to this when his values are challenged?

I loved the confrontations between Gosling and Hoffman, Giamatti, Tomei, and Clooney in different scenes.

I loved the sexual tension in the early scenes between him and Evan Rachel Wood.

I loved the the contrast in this character who in some way cares, offering an intern in trouble a ride to and from a place, even helping her out of his own pocket, and then making the hardscrabbling choices he makes, as the Darth road beckons, and romantic ideals can disappear faster than a political friendship.

While the movie does not scream surefire Oscar winner it certainly yells, and I think Gosling will get nominated perhaps even win, particularly after being so cruelly overlooked last year for his brilliant turn in Blue Valentine. George Clooney wears three hats as actor, director, and cowriter, and who better to play a smooth politician. Hoffman and Giamatti as usual are brilliant. Either or both could be nominated. In fact you will see few movies with such a strong ensemble this year, with three Oscar winners on board.

I think you will enjoy it, and I hope you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant political drama, Nov. 1 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A presidential candidate (George Clooney), his top aide (Ryan Gosling), and a young female staffer (Evan Rachel Wood) are the focus of this depressing political drama. Though utterly charming, the candidate is shown to have feet of clay, involved in a dangerous triangle with the other two.

On the Ides of March, Julius Caesar was assassinated; in this Ides of March, we see the death of political idealism. This is most definitely not a fun date movie or a chick flick; it exposes the immoral underbelly of some political movers and shakers and shows them to be pretty repulsive characters. There are no heroes here. The acting was excellent all around, but the story is so grim and the characters so repellent I couldn't wait for it to end. There were a few very interesting scenes, but a lot of it was quite dull.

I felt like shaking my head and giving up on all politicians when the movie was over. A good character study, but a definite downer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok, March 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ides of March / Les Marches du pouvoir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
I found this movie to be very dry and somewhat boring. It picked up a bit about half way through and the ending leaves you wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8ac8c4)

This product

The Ides of March / Les Marches du pouvoir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 12.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews