Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damage Control
"The War Room" is an interesting documentary that shows you just exactly what goes on behind the scenes of a presidential campaign and all of the problems that can arise. Mostly centered around the Clinton campaign, we get a look at a man who is determined to be the next President of the United States. James Carville and George Stephanopoulos are the main...
Published on July 13 2004 by Michael Crane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, but anything BUT groundbreaking...
The completely naive idea that this campaign was some kind of new groundbreaking approach to presidential campaigning, or that Carville and Stephanopolis re-wrote the book on such campaigns is sadly nothing more than left wing revisionist thinking being pasted across America's forehead once again. The fact that a decade earlier Michael Deaver orchestrated an even greater...
Published on Dec 3 2001 by Michael R. Lachance


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damage Control, July 13 2004
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
"The War Room" is an interesting documentary that shows you just exactly what goes on behind the scenes of a presidential campaign and all of the problems that can arise. Mostly centered around the Clinton campaign, we get a look at a man who is determined to be the next President of the United States. James Carville and George Stephanopoulos are the main brains behind the campaign, and they show it with their rapid thinking and reactions. The road to the White House proves to be a bumpy one for Clinton and company, as scandals surface and tabloid articles flood the newsstands. The people behind the campaign of Bill Clinton never get a break as they always have to be on their toes and figure out damage control. Even though you know how it all ends, it is still a tense and shocking film.
What I love the most about this documentary is that there is no overall narrator, and there really isn't an agenda to it. The film doesn't force-feed you a likable Clinton. The film's real purpose is to show you what happens during these campaigns. Even though it's centered around Clinton, this film really could've been about anyone. The film doesn't sugarcoat anything as it gives you the raw footage and shows you how both sides can play dirty. It was amazing to watch Carville and Stephanopoulos work the way they did, as I had no idea how much of an important role they played in Clinton's campaign.
I think this documentary can be enjoyed by anyone who is interested in how the system works. You really don't even have to like Clinton in order to enjoy it, as the film isn't trying to make it look like Clinton is a saint or anything like that. It is about how dirty people in these campaigns can fight, and it occurs on both sides. And since there is no overall narrator, there is really nothing in here that tells you that you should feel a certain way about it all. The DVD contains no special features, which is a shame.
I really enjoyed "The War Room," and I'm not a real big fan of politics. I think it presents an interesting look at what goes on behind the scenes. If you're looking for an entertaining documentary that is funny and tense, then this is definitely something you should consider checking out. A big triumph on all fronts, if you want my honest opinion. -Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Look at Political Campaigns, July 5 2004
By 
V. Marshall (North Fork, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I happened to catch this documentary as I was reading "My Life" by Bill Clinton, it brought to life all of the hustle and bustle of his first Presidental campaign.
The real people involved in Clinton's first campaign for President are better characters than most actors. James Carville and George Stephanopoulos are the main focus of this film and they are true heroes. Clinton has moments where he shows all of his Southern charm but the real workhorses are Carville and Stephanopoulos who brave polls, reporters and other anti-Clinton politicians. It is an insiders view on how a campaign is won or lost behind the scenes just as easily as in front of all America. But is does make you question if the person who ends up in office is all they are cracked up to be or just a puppet pulled by the strings attached to his campaign managers.
A great film to watch if you love politics or if you are reading Bill Clinton's book. It gives an honest representation of how the wheels spin and the tides change at a moments notice. This film will convince you that political campaigns are calculated almost as professionally as a war and can take on the same persona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Incredible, do not miss it..., April 8 2004
By 
CPUsports (Eastern Seaboard) - See all my reviews
If you enjoy the political process, you MUST see this documentary. As you know, it is an insider's look at the Clinton campaign in 1992.
You are a fly on the wall as the film especially focuses on the work of James Carville and George Stephanapolous.
It's compelling and occasionally funny. Even more interesting, Al Gore gives one hell of a speech, and I never thought of him as an orator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documentary Wins in a Landslide, Feb. 10 2004
By 
Joseph J. Benik (Frederick, MD USA) - See all my reviews
The War Room is a documentary of the 1992 Clinton Presidential Campaign, beginning with the New Hampshire primary and ending on election night. Filmmakers D.A. Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus have full access to all of the players, including Governor Clinton himself. But this film focuses very little on Clinton, spending the most time with James Carville, whose immense energy level propells this film from beginning to end. Other players are featured as well, including George Stepahopoulos, Paul Begala, Mary Matalin, and DeeDee Myers, among others.
This is a great documentary, and a must for students of political and election strategy. It shows how talented pros deal with polls, the press, schedules, scandals, and downtime. And it contains some golden moments, including a hilarious argument about posters at the convention, a tongue-in-cheek concession speech, and a speech by Carville to volunteers once the election was won. All told, The War Room is a pleasure to watch, and will serve as an important snapshot of political electioneering at the end of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but true., Sept. 22 2003
By 
Tim Hermetz (Cullman, Alabama) - See all my reviews
"The War Room" is a must-see for anyone interested in politics. Although Clinton campaign operative James Carville admits, "We changed the way campaigns are run," this historic documentary of modern-day politics is just a small glimpse into the inner workings of the Clinton-for-President Campaign in 1992.
After viewing the film, I asked, "Is that all there is?" (to win a presidential campaign). But in all honesty, I laughed, cried and cheered as I watched the film, enjoying every minute, except the end where I wanted to see a close up of the Clintons and Gores as they celebrated their election night victory from the statehouse stage in Little Rock. The end of the film seemed anti-climatic. No hype. No hoopla. And, that's where I expected the "big bang" -- news reports, TV election returns, headlines the morning after and lots and lots of partying to Fleetwood Mac's "Don't Stop (Thinkin' About Tomorrow)."
While I appreciated being a fly on the wall inside campaign headquarters and on the road, at times I felt like I was watching a high school or college student government campaign -- with all the joking and silliness that pervaded "The War Room." Much of the campaign "work" didn't really look like work on film because of campaign staffers' attitudes and antics. They seemed to really have fun working on the campaign -- with many key staffers treating it as a game, albeit a game with very high stakes.
Only near the end of the film do director of communications George Stephanopoulos and master manipulator James Carville seem to grasp what they've accomplished. "We helped changed America!"
But seldom is seen or heard the National Democratic Party hierarchy -- the fund-raisers, the state committee chairmen, the state campaign directors, the local party leaders, the thousands of volunteers needed to help make a national campaign a success. Only at a few campaign events -- and, eventually at the Democratic National Convention, do viewers of "The War Room" see the magnitude of this campaign. But instead of debating national policy or issues, the Clinton campaign staff is concerned with how TV networks will depict the convention crowd. "Do we make hand-lettered signs or use printed signs?" someone asks in a staff meeting the night before Clinton is nominated.
I wondered during the national convention segment of "The War Room" if Bill Clinton had a running mate. How nice it would have been to see the inner workings of the selection process for choosing Al Gore as vice president. Thankfully, Gore was not totally excluded from the picture. His dynamic stump speech, "Up is down, down is up ..." was absolutely awesome, making me wish I had been an active participant of the 1992, 1996 and 2000 presidential campaigns.
Another memorable speech from "The War Room" is President Bush's whiny "I'm damn tired" speech. Never have I seen or heard President Bush so angry. Little good his anger did him or the country. While Bush was getting angry, Clinton was getting votes -- campaigning across the country with thousands of smiles and handshakes. How rewarding it was to see candidate Clinton go from a small campaign plane to a huge jet (similar to Air Force One), after earning his party's nomination and respect.
"The War Room" reminded me how indecisive and devisive candidates Ross Perot and Jerry Brown were in 1992. While Clinton's presidency may not have been appreciated by everyone, it's still frightening for me to think how close we came to having Perot or Brown elected president in '92.
If there are any negatives about "The War Room" it's that the film doesn't really spotlight Clinton's superior campaign skills, including his charisma and intellect. Clinton knows how to connect with people and he has an uncanny ability to know what people want.
Clinton is a master politician -- and, in 1992, his dream team of campaign strategists and media handlers molded a campaign that was unbeatable, changing the course of history.
"The War Room" shows how effective Carville and Stephanopoulos were more than a decade ago, functioning as political and media strategists at the top of their game. But candidate Clinton is only occasionally featured in the film, with wife Hillary and daughter Chelsea shown a few times here and there. I would have liked to have seen more of the Clintons behind the scenes on the campaign trail and in strategy sessions.
George Stephanopoulos' "All Too Human -- A Political Education," a 456-page memoir published in 1999, is a highly recommended read for anyone wanting more details on Clinton's campaigns and presidency -- a real insider's view.
The gritty realism of the day-to-day operation of campaign headquarters in Little Rock coupled with Carville and Stephanopoulos' comments every step of the way made the "you-are-there" feeling of "The War Room" very real and very personal. I particularly enjoyed the opening hotel room sequence featuring an extreme close-up of Gov. Clinton conducting a media interview by telephone, as campaign staffers read newspapers nearby.
The counter media attacks waged by the Clinton campaign created numerous interesting segments in the film. I especially enjoyed seeing Carville and Stephanopoulos deal with the issue of Clinton's character -- dodging the draft and dodging allegations of a 12-year affair with Gennifer Flowers. Seeing Flowers as the scorned woman conducting her own news conference for the national media (much more than sound bites), accompanied by a media handler shouting down a heckler who asked if Gov. Clinton used a condom, is both fascinating and unreal.
"How'd he do that?" one might ask after considering all the obstacles that Clinton overcame to be elected president of the U.S. twice. "The War Room" is a good place to start to learn how "Slick Willie" survived media battles every day of his campaign and presidency.
I highly recommend "The War Room" as a wonderful way to begin to understand Clinton's magic and mystique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well-done documentary, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: War Room [Import] (VHS Tape)
I give it five stars for the technical aspects, 2 stars for the subject matter. As another reviewer wrote, you get the sense after watching this of "Is that all there is?". What I saw was a campaign constantly playing "defense" and a media frothing at the mouth for any parsing of words, any "scandal" etc etc etc. The bottom line is that neither side is as smart as they think they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone with political dreams, Sept. 10 2003
By 
TexDem (Fort Worth, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great movie of just how campaigns and elections are handled. Great story of the most talented campaigner of this century, James Carville and how his team managed the campaign. Shows their highs and their tears. Entertaining and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clintons true colors?, March 5 2003
By 
Kindle Customer "Shane Grier" (Smyrna, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
Did you believe the lie? Forty three percent of the voting public did. Love Bill Clinton or dislike the man this shows his true colors. James Carville and George Stephanopoulos honestly believed this Governor of Arkansas was going to change the world. He did, and it's a fascinating debate as to how good or bad it turned out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The real West Wing, Oct. 25 2002
Ok, so The War Room is really pre-West Wing. This is a great behind the scenes tale of how Clinton beat Bush. In fact, I would give it 5 stars if it was a bit longer.
The leadership and strategy of James Carville coupled with the style and substance of George Stephanopolous led the Clinton campaign to the ultimate prize.
The viewer sits in on many strategy sessions, hears a portion of phone calls with others in the Clinton camp and sees the behind the scenes maneuvering of other staff members in creating the atmosphere for Clinton's election. The other side is studied briefly, too.
George Bush's words and appearances serve as a counterpoint to illustrate the reasons for the tactics of the Clinton team.
A great study of a political campaign in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent documentary of the 1992 presidential elections, April 3 2002
By 
Jason W. Atwell "Business instructor" (Marion, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Room [Import] (VHS Tape)
Great documentary of the presidential election of 1992 that was split into three different candidates: Bill Clinton, Ross Perot, and George Bush. The film gives a great view of the actions of a political campaign and everything that is performed to secure election. Recommended for any person with an interest in political science and/or running for political office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc28eda08)

This product

The War Room (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 41.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews