Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent family movie!
Puss n Boots takes the character from Shrek 2 and beyond and fills out the story of his origins. It makes for a great story, that is as good or better than the Shrek films that inspired it (certainly better than the later Shrek movies). Antonio Banderas does an excellent job as the voice of Puss, while Selma Hayak is equally good as Kitty Soft Paws. In the commentary,...
Published on May 21 2012 by A. Volk

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great potential, but falls short
The ingredients are all there. Fun & charismatic character (Puss), several interesting secondary characters (Kitty Galore, Humpty et al), interesting twist on an origin story and fantastic animation. Zach Galifianakis even gives a rather surprisingly meaningful performance. Despite all this, I found myself squirming between the good parts and longing for this movie to...
Published 23 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent family movie!, May 21 2012
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Puss n Boots takes the character from Shrek 2 and beyond and fills out the story of his origins. It makes for a great story, that is as good or better than the Shrek films that inspired it (certainly better than the later Shrek movies). Antonio Banderas does an excellent job as the voice of Puss, while Selma Hayak is equally good as Kitty Soft Paws. In the commentary, Selma mentions that they didn't work directly together in the studio. However, given their shared history on many other movies, she was able to imagine how Antonio would say something and she would respond in kind. I have to say that worked out brilliantly. The banter between the two cats is top-notch. Zack Galifianakis is also a great voice talent as Humpty Dumpty. All in all, it makes for an excellent movie that is fun for both kids as well as adults (I still always laugh at the "oooohh!" cat).

The combo pack is OK. You get a 3D version of the movie (I don't care about 3-D), a Blu-Ray version that looks awesome, and a digital copy that you can download on to a computer or hefty portable device (e.g., tablet). It provides you with a code for download if you are using a device without a DVD drive. The other extras are some commentaries about the making of the movie, which were interesting but nothing special. There's the actors talking about their roles, which (as I've alluded to above) was quite interesting. Some deleted scenes are presented, but only in sketch board format, which was rather disappointing. You get the voices, but only rough black and white still pictures to go with them. The best bonus feature is The Three Diablos, a short film (15 minutes) following Puss after the events of the movie. It's cute and fun.

So overall, while there are some duds in this package, the movie is excellent and there are enough bonus extras to make this purchase worthwhile. If they can make another movie of this quality, I'm looking forward to PnB #2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marry me Puss!, April 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This animation movie is one of the best ever made in my opinion. It's funny for kids and adults as well. Many people I know don't like animation movies but loved this one. You can see that the producer has cat and if you do, you'll spend part of the movie saying to yourself: ooohhh that's so true my cat does is too.
I also love that there is an another mini-movie called "Puss in boots and three diablos". Adorable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What fun!!!, March 7 2012
By 
Maxisback (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Puss in Boots! He steals the Shrek movies, and is even more charming in his very own film. You don't need 3D to enjoy this one. He is fantastic!! I highly recommend this film to both children and adults alike!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Funny movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D movie, April 15 2014
By 
I. Sangoya "DC360" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Actually very good family movie with really good 3D. Funny movie. Includes a mini movie. 3D at its best. Recommend this film for family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family movie!, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Puss in Boots is a fun movie for the whole family. Full of adventure and humour; we enjoy it as much as our 3 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puss is pretty cute, Dec 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My only complaint is that Jack and Jill shoot someone and they die when they need a hotel room. I didn't realize this and would have waited to purchase this when my daughter was older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puss in Boots, Nov. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puss in Boots / Le chat potté (Bilingual) (DVD)
this is an awesome movie my Granddaughter has watched so many times we have lost count. It was ordered and delivered in days it was wonderful thanks for everything Susanne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars likeable, May 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puss in Boots / Le chat potté (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is just okay. I guess I expected it to be as good a story as Shrek with wittier adult one liners but this one is strictly just for juveniles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but fun..., May 3 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dreamworks seems bent on becoming the new Disney... and they just might be able to do that.

Puss N Boots follows Puss on his prequel before we meet him in Shrek 2, his childhood and (mis)adventures with Humpty Dumpty looking for a legendary treasure. The voice acting is truly strong and Zack Galifianakis (Due Date) provides a complex character and touching lines altogether. No small feat. The animation is quite nicely done, but the film lacks a few unpredictability, taking its heroes on uncharted lands... nevertheless, it could be worse and what we have here is quite great fun for the whole family.

The image and sound offer a stunning look and feel. If only the features could have been more lengthy and in-depth.

For those who like the Dreamworks characters, give this one a try. And if you love cats, you should definitely consider it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puss in Boots / Le chat potté (Bilingual)
Puss in Boots / Le chat potté (Bilingual) by Chris Miller (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews