Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recordings
In the long and winding road that is the fascinating career of Paul McCartney, 'Kisses On The Bottom' is just another stop, albeit an immaculately produced, heartfelt, and wholly satisfying 'easy listening'(and not in the pejorative sense) stop. For collectors, Amazon.co.uk offers the proper deluxe edition with two (indispensable) bonus tracks.
Published on Feb. 14 2012 by Ed Rose

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What bonus tracks ???????????
Just wanted to let you know that despite the mention "Deluxe edition includes two bonus tracks" (in the amazon product description), that the said two bonus tracks do NOT appear on this edition !

There is indeed a version of this album which has two bonus tracks, but it's not this one !
Published on Feb. 7 2012 by Patrick Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What bonus tracks ???????????, Feb. 7 2012
By 
Patrick Taylor "Pat" (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Just wanted to let you know that despite the mention "Deluxe edition includes two bonus tracks" (in the amazon product description), that the said two bonus tracks do NOT appear on this edition !

There is indeed a version of this album which has two bonus tracks, but it's not this one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recordings, Feb. 14 2012
By 
Ed Rose "dwwashburn" (toronto, ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
In the long and winding road that is the fascinating career of Paul McCartney, 'Kisses On The Bottom' is just another stop, albeit an immaculately produced, heartfelt, and wholly satisfying 'easy listening'(and not in the pejorative sense) stop. For collectors, Amazon.co.uk offers the proper deluxe edition with two (indispensable) bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY NICE! THE ROMANTIC BEATLE IS SUBLIMELY SUBTLE, Feb. 29 2012
McCartney has said that the biggest obstacle to doing this album was Rod Stewart: 'Every time I though about doing this, Rod would release another one of his American Songbook albums and do all the songs I wanted to do.' And possibly that is just as well, because this wonderfully produced, played and sung album contains less familiar - though no less appealing tunes - and McCartney originals that reveal the romantic Beatle in yet a different (though not unsurprising) light. This is a quiet but engaging album thanks to McCartney's warm voice and heartfelt singing. The presence of Krall and her band (+ others incl. Stevie Wonder, Vinnie Colaiuta...) is much appreciated, as they exhibit suitable sensitivities and the overall production is excellent. Seeing Sir Paul (w/Krall & band + Joe Walsh on acoustic guitar) perform one of these tracks on the 2012 Grammy Awards show, then strap on his bass and rock out on the Abbey Road Medley is another reminder that (even after 50 years at the top) he remains one of our most versatile and relevant contemporary music makers. And by the way, the title for the album comes from a Fats Waller tune, so get your mind out of the gutter! Yes, a different album for sure, but with the wide diversity of what he did with the Beatles as an early indicator of his potential, we should not be surprised. As for me, well, given his penchant for Jimi Hendrix and Jeff Beck, I'm surprised he doesn't strap on his Les Paul, bring in Jeff and do a Hendrix album. But hey, you never know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relax and enjoy!, March 9 2012
By 
N. Dominici (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Very relaxing to listen to... Even Paul's voice sounds like if we were in the thirthies!!! I enjoy very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Diana Krall band, refreshed Paul and a la Rod Stewart Great American Songbooks wotrth many many plays, April 28 2012
By 
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Audio CD)
This has to be the one of the best albums I have bought in years! The songs, sung through the actual microphone of Nat King Cole take Paul to a whole new level. The crisp piano, bass, guitar and other instruments and a mellow Paul have not been heard as well as this in years. The album deluxe edition with frameable small photos adds a personal touch that enhances the edition.

One can only hope this is the first of many similar albums/CDS of this style that Sir Paul records!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant - yes. Deluxe - not really., Feb. 23 2012
By 
GtheK (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
A very smooth, jazz album courtesy of the backup band (Diana Krall and friends). Ironically this may be the best album that she has produced in a while as McCartney is able to add more expression to the interpretation of the songs thsn she usually does. As for the "deluxe" part - the postcards are hardly indespensible. The four downloadable( not the whole concert) live tracks are a nice addition. The missing studio tracks (available in both the UK and the US - contact paulmccartney.com to complain) are BABY'S REQUEST (originally from 'Back to the Egg' - fits in well with the other songs) and MY ONE AND ONLY LOVE.

(Note: really a **** album but reduced by one * because we have been short changed.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When you listen to Paul McCartney sing jazz it is like a massage for your heart., June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Audio CD)
I love jazz and the crooning sound of Paul McCartney's voice. This is an unexpected delight that soothes the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD for McCartney Fans, April 2 2014
By 
Kay Canham (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Audio CD)
Saw this show on TV some months ago - loved the music - this disc is perfect and well priced. Recommend to anybody who loves Paul McCartney. Great old songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe my expectations were too high., April 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Audio CD)
Disappointed. Sir Paul sounds like a woman at times. Made me uneasy. That was just an awkward album i probably won't ever play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slightly disappointed., March 23 2013
By 
Ronald Pilfrey "Cnephia" (Newmarket, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses On The Bottom (Audio CD)
I heard a number of the songs of this record on the radio before I bought it. I am slightly disappointed in that the whole record doesn't seem wonderful. It didn't inspire me to play it as much as I thought I would. I do love Paul's really quiet, gentle style - so different from the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition)
Kisses On The Bottom (Deluxe Edition) by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews