Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good docu-drama
Dicaprio was excellent in the role, and Eastwood's directing was excellent as well. The script attempted to be historically accurate, and the special features explain where the soft data lies. This is important since secrecy was a key component of Hoover's directorship.
Published on June 15 2012 by Andrew in Calgary

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
This speculative biopic of the controversial FBI director stars Leonardo DiCaprio. The story opens in 1970, as Hoover is dictating his history of the Bureau; in flashbacks, we see his pivotal role the Lindburgh case and his battles with Communists, the Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Martin Luther King, Jr. He was also obsessed with his doting mother (Judi Dench) and his...
Published on Sept. 15 2012 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good docu-drama, June 15 2012
By 
Andrew in Calgary - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dicaprio was excellent in the role, and Eastwood's directing was excellent as well. The script attempted to be historically accurate, and the special features explain where the soft data lies. This is important since secrecy was a key component of Hoover's directorship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fidelity. Bravery. Integrity, March 13 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) (DVD)
Throughout an illustrious directing career Clint Eastwood has delivered outstanding movies such as Unforgiven, Mystic River, and Million Dollar Baby, for which he has won five Academy Awards, for best Picture, Best Director, and including the Irving Thalberg Life Achievement Award. My personal favorite of all his directed movies is Gran Torino.

The actors who have worked with him have been blessed with Oscar: Gene Hackman for Unforgiven, Tim Robbins and Sean Penn for Mystic River, Morgan Freeman and Hilary Swank for Million Dollar Baby.

When I heard Clint Eastwood was doing a movie about Hoover, I admit I was somewhat excited, although it would be a challenging movie to do.

I wondered would it deal with the relationship with the Kennedys, conspiracy theories, Hoover's alleged homosexuality, and alleged crossdressing, if it would deal with the entire career, if it would dare to show him in all his unpleasantness and darkness.

If Hoover were alive today, I think he would be horrified at this movie. Undoubtedly, no such movie could have been made while he was alive.

J Edgar deals with the entire span of J Edgar's career and makes brave choices in portraying the relationship between he and his No 2, Colson. The screenplay was written by same person who wrote the screen play for Milk.

Leonardo DiCaprio making his first movie apart from Martin Scorsese in 12 years does an outstanding job in the title role, as does Arnie Hammer in the role of Colson. Naomi Watts plays Hoover's long time secretary to whom he proposes early in the movie, and Judi Dench plays his domineering and controlling mother.

We see certain conflicts, and Hoover's use of Machivellian tactics in pursuing communists, upholding his position as head of the FBI through investigating the high ranking politicians who proved a threat. Whatever one thinks about Hoover one has to acknowledge some brilliance particuarly in organising, popularising the use of fingerprinting evidence, organising a national criminal database leveraging the Lindbergh tragedy to increase his own powers, and creating a highly respected investigative organisation.

It was interesting to see how he was able to use propaganda to boost the reputation of the FBI. At one time the gangsters seemed to hold sway in the public consciousness as heroes, until the FBI's machine gun toting G men replaced them. We also see Hoover's vanity and narcissism in full display, and his racism particularly towards Martin Luther King.

The Hoover story unfolds with Hover dictating his memoirs to a succession of agents. Why would he not use his secretary for this? It seems he wishes to tell his story to these people for vanity, and to promote himself as a legendary icon.

In reality, Hoover was a temple of secrets, and probably the least likely person you could imagine would write his own memoirs. Although, he secretly tape recorded JFK, and MLK for exmaple, his relationship with Colson could possibly have ended his career if the true nature of the relationship became public. It's well known for example that Hoover did not allow women agents, nor did he hire African Americans. Yet, we have him dictating his memoirs at one point to an African American agent.

One of the challenges with the story was the lack of a continuous protagonist, he mostly does battle with entities rather than individuals, such as communism and organised crime. By the 1960s apparently, he got soft on organised crime, while Bobby Kennedy got hard. Yet we have only two scenes in the movie with Bobby Kennedy.

Another difficulty is the excessive use of makeup on several of the actors. With DiCaprio it's fine, but with Naomi Watts, and Arnie Hammer they wear bloodshot contact lenses which was over the top and unnecessary, and distracting. Old people do not necessarily have bloodshot eyes.

I thought the performances by both DiCaprio and Hammer were deserving of Oscar recognition, though neither were nominated.

While Clint Eastwood has probably brought me more enertainment than anyone as both an actor and director, I am not as staunch a supporter of this movie as the others in recent years such as Changeling, Gran Torino, and Invictus. Nevertheless I give it 4 stars because I think it was a very challenging movie to do well.

I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, May 16 2014
By 
Jean-Pascal Lafond (Montrï¿al, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A little bit too long as movie but it fascinating how this guy want to have all infos on everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DiCaprio’s Take On J Edgar Hoover’s Life, April 19 2014
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) (DVD)
I admit that I was only interested in watching J. Edgar (directed and produced by Clint Eastwood)due to Leonardo DiCaprio starring in it. He is one of my top seven favorite actors, and I am among the group of people that felt that DiCaprio was robbed of an Oscar this year (for his role in Wolf of Wall Street). Leonardo Di Caprio carefully plays both the good and shadowy aspects of J. Edgar’s lifelong career in the FBI. The film shows how his mother had a strong influence on his professional and personal demeanor (played by Judi Dench). The positive side of him that the movie showed was through the Lindbergh kidnapping incident where he showed determination to track down whoever was responsible for the kidnapping. One of the incidents in the movie that showcases the shadowy side of Hoover is shown through how he reacts to Martin Luther King Jr. accepting the Nobel Peace Prize in 1964. Naomi Watts plays the role of Helen Gandy, Hoover’s personal secretary. Arnie Hammer plays the role of Clyde Tolson, a man who initially became FBI clerk and is listed to have eventually been promoted to Associate Director of FBI. The end of the J. Edgar movie lists the following facts:
The contents of Hoover’s “personal” and “confidential” papers will never be known. Only a few clues from misfiled documents have surfaced.
Clyde Tolson inherited Hoover’s estate, moved into his house, and accepted the U.S. flag draped over Hoover’s coffin.
Clyde Tolson is buried a few yards away from Hoover’s grave in the Congressional Cemetary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great movie. Leonardo DiCaprio was brilliant (as usual), Aug. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a great movie. Leonardo DiCaprio was brilliant (as usual). Movie arrived on time, nicely packaged and exactly as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Aug. 19 2014
By 
cRaZy CaNuCk (Brampton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Leonardo was very good in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, Sept. 15 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This speculative biopic of the controversial FBI director stars Leonardo DiCaprio. The story opens in 1970, as Hoover is dictating his history of the Bureau; in flashbacks, we see his pivotal role the Lindburgh case and his battles with Communists, the Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Martin Luther King, Jr. He was also obsessed with his doting mother (Judi Dench) and his long-time Assistant Director, Clyde Tolson (Armie Hammer).

The story is, in turns, exciting and boring, heartfelt and cheesy and has two insurmountable flaws: DiCaprio is horribly miscast as Hoover (he still looks and sounds like Jack Dawson, despite supposedly aging 53 years) and the terrible old-age make-up used for Hoover, Tolson, and Hoover's secretary (Naomi Watts) is absolutely terrible. Tolson, in particular, looks like Boris Karloff's Mummy and even though director Eastwood filmed the entire movie in dim, half-light, the make-up is distracting and never convincing.

I found the story of Hoover's life interesting and came away feeling quite sorry for this sad, tortured man, but the casting and make-up ruined it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely want to see it again, March 17 2012
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) (DVD)
My sister and brother-in-law and I saw this movie at a theatre during Dec 2011 and all 3 of us thorougly enjoyed it - we all like historical biographical type movies and this was a hit. We all thought the movie was well paced and deCaprio was very believeable in the role of J. Edgar. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes historical drama - I liked the movie so much that I bought the DVD when it became available on amazon.ca. Have ordered several movies and other items from amazon.ca and have been completely satisfied with each item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) (DVD)
vry interesting story about Hoover Edgar and all the crap he done while he was
the head master of the FBI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance at its BEST ., March 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I Bought This Blu-ray before seeing it in cinemas and i was expecting a good film with a top leo caprio performance but when i watched it , it was much more than that , his performance was superb and the movie was a great peace of film . it shows a personal view of Edgar Hoovers life .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
J. Edgar (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Clint Eastwood (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews