Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to stop listening
This 'album' is worth a listen, and once you play it, you won't be able to stop. From beginning to end, you will hear such a diverse realm of music that it will be hard to believe that it all came from one artist! The title track, "Making Mirrors" is haunting, but mellow and sets the mood...like a dream, then the awakening, lively track "Easy Way Out". All the tracks...
Published on April 7 2012 by gOtYeCaT

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bought this before their one hit was overplayed on the ...
Bought this before their one hit was overplayed on the radio. A few other okay songs on the cd but I wouldn't buy again.
Published 13 days ago by sj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to stop listening, April 7 2012
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
This 'album' is worth a listen, and once you play it, you won't be able to stop. From beginning to end, you will hear such a diverse realm of music that it will be hard to believe that it all came from one artist! The title track, "Making Mirrors" is haunting, but mellow and sets the mood...like a dream, then the awakening, lively track "Easy Way Out". All the tracks weave a story that make you think about music in a whole different way. Certainly don't look for anything else similar to "Somebody That I Used To Know", because they are all unique.

This release romps through layers of sounds and vocals, samples and introspective lyrics that will leave you searching for MORE Gotye music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Artist and Amazing CD, Aug. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
'Somebody I Used to Know', is Gotye's break-out hit and it featured on this disc, but you won't find any other songs like it. The rest of the CD is comprised of different styles of music with a Gotye twist. I doubt there will be a song you don't like on this disc-I recommend listing to: 'Bronte', 'Smoke And Mirrors' and 'State Of The Art'.

Support the Artist, buy your CDs or iTunes Mp3s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
Gabriel, Sting, Moby, Beck all in a blender yet still remaining all Gotye. Amazing! I find myself going back to this album over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Hit Wonder?, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
I haven't tired of hearing the song, "Somebody that I used to Know". I think it is a great duet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
This album definitely gets a lot of play!

quite enjoyable, used to know is definitely the best track

and two more words...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotye - Making Mirrors, March 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! Love the whole CD. Great value too! Would highly recommend! Looking forward to his new stuff. Love the video too!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, Dec 31 2012
By 
Darryl Gascon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Gotye is amazing and having this record on vinyl is great. The sounds he makes really come through on the vinyl record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, Dec 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
This and Andrew Bird's Break It Yourself are the only two albums I bought this year that I still listen to on a regular basis. Of course everyone knows "Somebody That I Used To Know", the big hit off the album, but the whole album is absolutely great. Smoke and Mirrors, State of the Art, and Save Me are the standouts for me on the album. The whole album (other than the big hit) is largely positive and upbeat, and I usually feel in a great mood after listening through it. There is loads of interesting ideas, instrumentation, and great lyrics throughout. Definitely one of the best albums of 2012, and will probably still be one I listen to for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bought this before their one hit was overplayed on the ..., Aug. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Mirrors (Audio CD)
Bought this before their one hit was overplayed on the radio. A few other okay songs on the cd but I wouldn't buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Mirrors (Vinyl)
Making Mirrors (Vinyl) by Gotye (LP Record - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews