Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great bargain and a Penguin Guide Rosette
This is THE set of Mozart piano concerti to have. I've always wanted to have this set, and I now I can have it for a song. I'm listening to KV 503 and I like Perahia's cadenza. No pressing problems with my set (made in the EU). What a glorious set at a budget price. I'm OK with no notes as the price is so low. How lucky we are that Murray Perahia made these...
Published on March 16 2012 by Lin Admirer

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no good if unplayable
The boxed set of Murray Perahia's recordings of all the Mozart Piano Concerti (Sony, 12 CDs) seems a terrific deal but when each CD is stuck in a tight cardboard sleeve that is impossible to open without smearing the disc with your fingers and then at least one (the second CD) has selections that end in mid-piece followed by a long series of skips it's no bargain at all...
Published on March 15 2012 by harrydee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great bargain and a Penguin Guide Rosette, March 16 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS (Audio CD)
This is THE set of Mozart piano concerti to have. I've always wanted to have this set, and I now I can have it for a song. I'm listening to KV 503 and I like Perahia's cadenza. No pressing problems with my set (made in the EU). What a glorious set at a budget price. I'm OK with no notes as the price is so low. How lucky we are that Murray Perahia made these recordings before his hand injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST Have ... POETIC ELEGANCE from Murray Perahia, June 26 2014
By 
Lee A. Steels "leepee" (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS (Audio CD)
Mozart wrote as many great piano concertos as ALL the composers after him. Murray Perahia plays Mozart's masterpieces as nobody after him. Perahia is a poet at the keyboard and for me, his recordings of these gems are at the top. I originally bought each CD as it became available, and I probably spent about $300 collecting the complete set. Now here they are for less than a tenth that amount ... an unbelievable bargain! For anyone who loves great music, this set is a must buy.

Very highly recommended!!! T E N stars ... if I could. Buy this set before it goes out of production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful performances, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had read about this version of the concertos. I also have an excellent version of the Goldberg variations, with Murry Perahia playing. I found his plying both engaging and refreshingly uncluttered. I have heard a few of the performances in this collection that a friend of mine bought.

I am delighted with the quality of the recording, the character of the performances and the side benefits of getting a collection rather than looking for individual discs.

I am no fan of MP3, you may as well buy rubbish speakers. I like the12 discs of proper CD recordings. I have not yet been tempted by digital downloads for classical music.

If you enjoy Mozart, then Murray Perahia's performances will surely delight you. Highly recommended as a first choice. Make sure you listen to this collection before opting for a different version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perahia's Mozart Piano Concerto, Feb. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS (Audio CD)
A brilliant rendering of Mozart's crowning achievement. Perahia delivers the goods in a typically thoughtful and sensitive manner. Unbelievable virtuosity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true poet of the keyboard !, June 22 2012
By 
Louis Caron "An absolute must !" (Montréal, Qc, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS (Audio CD)
Perahia's version of the complete Mozart piano concertos is a reference along with the one

by Vladimir Ashkenazy on Decca; both technically and musically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no good if unplayable, March 15 2012
This review is from: MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS (Audio CD)
The boxed set of Murray Perahia's recordings of all the Mozart Piano Concerti (Sony, 12 CDs) seems a terrific deal but when each CD is stuck in a tight cardboard sleeve that is impossible to open without smearing the disc with your fingers and then at least one (the second CD) has selections that end in mid-piece followed by a long series of skips it's no bargain at all! I have yet to play eight of them so it may be even worse than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS
MOZART: THE PIANO CONCERTOS by MURRAY PERAHIA (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews