Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Springsteen's State of the Union address
Bruce Springsteen is angry. Angry about the way his country is going and angry that the rich keep getting richer at the expense of everybody else. Well, maybe he should get angry more often because it's pushed him into writing his best music in quite some time.

This is NOT an E Street Band album although some of them help out on a few tracks. Auxiliary...
Published on March 24 2012 by Dale Turner

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars His worst album
First time I have listened to a new Springsteen album and not wanted to hear even a single song again. Musically a mess. Loops, samples and electronic crap litter the songs creating an over produced cacophony of sound I haven't heard on a Springsteen album since the equally over produced Human Touch. Lyrically it is over simplistic and repetitive. Easy Money, Jack Of All...
Published on March 15 2012 by avgJoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Springsteen's State of the Union address, March 24 2012
By 
Dale Turner "rockandrolldoctor" (Kelowna British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Bruce Springsteen is angry. Angry about the way his country is going and angry that the rich keep getting richer at the expense of everybody else. Well, maybe he should get angry more often because it's pushed him into writing his best music in quite some time.

This is NOT an E Street Band album although some of them help out on a few tracks. Auxiliary members Soozie Tyrell and Charlie Giordano are all over the place and Steve Van Zandt and Max Weinberg show up on a few cuts each. Bruce recorded most of the album with his new producer Ron Aniello and then had various musicians add their parts later. Nothing new there as that's the way he recorded '"Tunnel of Love"'.

He brought along some of the elements used on '"We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions"' such as a large horn section and Celtic rhythms but he also uses choirs, loops and Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine on guitar. Loops are nothing new, either, as he used one as a backing track to '"Streets of Philadelphia"'.

The first half of the album refers to the state that the U.S. has found itself in and about the rising tide of anger being felt throughout the country as symbolized by the Occupy Movement. Several songs mention the '"fat cats'" and how they're making all the money and the rest of the country is paying for it.

"'Gambling man rolls the dice, workingman pays the bill,
It's still fat and easy up on bankers'' hill
Up on banker's' hill, the party''s going strong
Down here below we're shackled and drawn.'"

In "'Death To My Hometown"' (an update of "'My Hometown"' from "'Born in the U.S.A."') he talks about the death of cities like Detroit with its 90,000 abandoned homes and he suggests that the common people stand together to '"send the robber barons straight to hell"'.

In '"Easy Money"' he tells the story of a man and woman who head out one night to commit a crime to make money because that's what everyone else seems to be doing. And in the lead off track "'We Take Care of Our Own"' he wonders what happened to the idea that governments are in place to help everyone and not just the rich and asks what happened to "'the promise from sea to shining sea'" that his country was founded on. He refers to what happened to New Orleans in Hurricane Katrina when the government abandoned the inhabitants of the city to their fate.

'"From Chicago to New Orleans, from the muscle to the bone
From the shotgun shack to the Super Dome
There ain't no help, the cavalry stayed home."'

The tone of despair begins to change about half way through the album with the title song which was originally written about the tearing down of the Meadowlands Arena in New Jersey but here stands as a song of defiance to the powers that be to do their worst but that the average people of America are tougher than they think. "''C'mon and take your best shot, let's see what you got, bring on your wrecking ball'." (Why should Canadians care about this stuff? Because our government is pushing us toward a similar American style system where it's every man for himself.)

And then, like a Bruce Springsteen concert, comes hope with two songs that could only be described as gospel complete with choir. I have no idea what Bruce's religious beliefs are (if any) but these are two of the most uplifting songs he's ever written. One ("'Rocky Ground"' featuring gospel singer Michelle Moore) states that "'Jesus said the money changers in his temple will not stand"' and that there's a new day coming.

Next is "'Land of Hope and Dreams"', one of the best songs Springsteen has ever written, and a gospel song if there ever was one. (Not bad for a failed Catholic altar boy.) This is a new studio version of a song we've heard before based on the old gospel song '"This Train"' but where that song was exclusive of anyone that wasn't religious this one includes everyone even '"whores and gamblers"' and "'lost souls"'. And through the wonders of technology it has Clarence Clemons blowing his heart out for us one last time.

And finally, the song '"We Are Alive"' which imagines departed ancestors encouraging the living to fight "'shoulder to shoulder and heart to heart'" to weather the storm and make a better day.

Bruce hasn''t sounded particularly inspired for the last few years but he certainly does here and it's driven him to produce an album that's stronger than his last two offerings, "'Magic"' and '"Working On A Dream'". "'Wrecking Ball"' is his best rock and roll album since '"The Rising'".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 bonus tracks are worth it!, Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
This is a great Springsteen album - has the feeling of classic 70's Springsteen. Working class, salt of the earth Springsteen. Great addition to our collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Springsteen wrecking ball, Dec 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
It is a great album, hard to say anything bad about old Bruce..working man songs, great backup vocals
And band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, speaks the truth, Sept. 9 2012
By 
Frank Famularo "Franco" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
I will make this short. I have been a fan of Bruce since mid 70's. Yes, this may sound he is depressed, but the content has some truth to it. Bruce is a patriotic guy, and loves his country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRUCE GOES CELTIC, March 18 2012
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Reaction to WRECKING BALL will doubtless be coloured by the listener's preconceived notions of what a "Bruce Springsteen record" should sound like. Advance word on Springsteen's 17th studio album was that it was an "angry rock record," but "a collection of angry Celtic folk songs" would be a more apt description of what was actually delivered. While I may not share Bruce's passion for raucous Irish pub songs, I can still appreciate the quality of the work, which, with one or two exceptions, is fairly high. Of the new compositions, I find the bluesy, slowly smoldering "You've Got It" to be the track I'm most drawn to; a throwback to the classic Springsteen sound of "Fire," it's easily the most straight ahead rock song to be found here, which is why it feels so out of place amidst the surrounding material. This is an album full of anthems ("Shackled and Drawn," "Death to My Hometown," the would-be hit "We Take Care of Our Own," which, following a truly exciting opening, falls strangely flat), but again, with the exception of the leadoff track, these are Celtic-sounding protest anthems, not rock anthems, and it falls to the listener to embrace the record for what it is or reject it for what it isn't. At the very least, there's no "Queen of the Supermarket" working against its favour...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!!!!, March 10 2012
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
This is the best album from Bruce since TOL. You have to listen from the beginning til the end to see how this cd is great. Thanks Bruce!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
The cd arrived in awesome condition and I never get tired listening to this great musician as he can do no wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Springsteen has listened to Black 47 ?, March 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Springsteen has probably listened to a lot of BLACK 47. A couple of these songs would have fit easily on the B47 albums of the early 90s (Fire of freedom and Home of the brave as an example). That said, BS has made a great album this time around and it's about time. Captain America (I should say Captain North America) is back on the track and on the rack, Jack. If you like those Celtic influence and like your political point of view with more teeth, go for BLACK 47.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just keeps outdoing himself!, March 8 2012
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
Just received my copy of the Wrecking ball deluxe edition in the mail (a day early too, which was a nice surprise) and immediately blasted the entire album. I have to say, every song is even more enjoyable than the last. Also, make sure you're getting the edition with the bonus songs, as "American Land" is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It's a sound we don't hear from Bruce very often but it's incredibly addicting and energizing. All in all, another great album from an all-time great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars His worst album, March 15 2012
This review is from: Wrecking Ball (Audio CD)
First time I have listened to a new Springsteen album and not wanted to hear even a single song again. Musically a mess. Loops, samples and electronic crap litter the songs creating an over produced cacophony of sound I haven't heard on a Springsteen album since the equally over produced Human Touch. Lyrically it is over simplistic and repetitive. Easy Money, Jack Of All Trades and Death To My Hometown have some of his worst lyrics in several albums. "You put out the dog, I'll put out the cat" or "I'll mow your lawn, clean the leaves out your drain I'll mend your roof to keep out the rain". These are the lyrics of the man who wrote Born To Run, Born In The USA and Long Walk Home? Sounds like something from a grade 3 poetry assignment.

The best 2 songs are the title track and Land Of Hope And Dreams, only because I know how good they could be. On the album he stripped any life and energy from the live versions and reduced them to the same dull monotone of the rest of the album.

I've never been so disappointed with a Springsteen album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrecking Ball
Wrecking Ball by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews