Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The big, green guy is...BACK!!
XXXXX

Another Hulk movie you say? You're probably wondering if this movie is similar to Ang Lee's 2003 movie "Hulk." Surprisingly, it's not. It's better! How can this be? Oh, it be!

This movie is not a sequel to 2003's "Hulk" but rather is a reinvention that establishes a new back-story where Dr. Bruce Banner (Edward Norton, who rewrote some of...
Published on June 7 2010 by Stephen Pletko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You must like that kind of character to appreciate it
Not for everyone. The way the topic is handled is interesting. As usual, Hulk is spectacular by his strenght. You must like that kind of character to appreciate it. Well done, but far from a masterpiece. As usual the movie is a pretext to show mutant monsters that are involved in dramatic fights. Humans are so meaningless in this situation... Many people would...
Published 28 days ago by tornitons


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The big, green guy is...BACK!!, June 7 2010
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Incredible Hulk (Bilingual) (DVD)
XXXXX

Another Hulk movie you say? You're probably wondering if this movie is similar to Ang Lee's 2003 movie "Hulk." Surprisingly, it's not. It's better! How can this be? Oh, it be!

This movie is not a sequel to 2003's "Hulk" but rather is a reinvention that establishes a new back-story where Dr. Bruce Banner (Edward Norton, who rewrote some of the script) becomes the Hulk as a pawn in a military scheme to reinvigorate a "super soldier" program through gamma radiation. (Why and how Banner becomes the Hulk is established in the movie's opening credits.)

On the run, Banner attempts to cure himself of the Hulk before he's captured by General Thaddeus "Thunderbolt" Ross (William Hurt). The General's worst fears are realized when power-hungry soldier (Tim Roth) becomes a similar but more Hulk-like creature (called the "Abomination").

This movie has it all: action, drama, humour, (dare I say) incredible special effects, and good acting (with one exception).

I missed Jennifer Connelly who played Dr. Elizabeth "Betty" Ross in the 2003 movie. Here she's replaced by Liv Tyler who's rather bland.

The CGI creation of the Hulk was quite good. This movie did not over rely on special effects but let the actors do their jobs. It was only at the end where (as you can probably guess) there's a confrontation between the Hulk and the Abomination that the movie becomes cartoon-like.

Be sure to look for a few cameo appearances. Do not miss, especially, Lou Ferrigno (who played the Hulk in the late 1970's television series). He voiced the words said by the CGI Hulk in this movie. (Lou...what a guy!!)

I also liked the "Days without Incident" meter. I thought this was a nice touch.

Finally, the DVD itself (the one released in 2008) has good picture and sound quality. It has two extras.

In conclusion, this is a surprisingly entertaining Hulk movie. Be sure to watch it to discover why you shouldn't get Bruce Banner mad. (You wouldn't like him when he's mad.)

(2008; 1 hr, 50 min; wide screen; 20 scenes)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Badder, Better!, Feb. 1 2010
4.5 out of 5

Dr. Bruce Banner. Scientist. Researcher. Genius.

Victim of a Gamma Ray experiment gone horribly wrong.

Dr. Bruce Banner. Hulk.

And the military knows it. They were there. They saw what he became--a hulking, big green behemoth made of pure muscle, rage and power--and the damage he caused.

Bruce (Edward Norton) has been on the run from them ever since, keeping a low profile and doing everything within his power to find a cure for the gamma poisoning that created the beast caged inside him. And now he thinks he has one, so he ventures back to the States to meet a scientist codenamed "Mr. Blue" whom he's been chatting with over a secure internet line to work up a cure. He also accidentally runs into the love of his life, Betty Ross (Liv Tyler), and the two are now on the run from Betty's hotheaded military father, General Thaddeus "Thunerbolt" Ross (William Hurt), who wants to turn the Hulk into a weapon.

They evade him for the most part until General Ross decides to supe-up his special soldier, Emil Blonsky (Tim Roth), and, once that super soldier proves not enough of a threat to the Hulk, Emil takes it on himself to make himself a greater match and forces Dr. Blue, aka Samuel Sterns (Tim Blake Nelson), to turn him into something else--an Abomination.

Now only the Hulk can stop this new mammoth creature and the two wage a crazy, awe-inspiring war through the streets of New York.

It's time for Hulk to smash.

I admit when I first heard about this movie I was leery. It was only five years before that Ang Lee's Hulk came out and I knew that The Incredible Hulk was meant to be a reboot, so I wasn't sure what to expect and, really, a reboot after only five years was just plain silly.

As it turns out, this movie wasn't a reboot per se, but more of a do-over, in that during the credits it quickly gave the Hulk's origin story and then got into a story of its own without referring to the Hulk movie of 2003. And to make things even more "separate," there was that oh-so-cool cameo at the end by you-know-who that cemented this new Hulk movie into the current timeline that Marvel's got going on in the movies, one that will take us up to The Avengers in 2012.

What can I say? This movie was way better than Hulk. More action. Cooler story. More realistic. This really was a solid Hulk-smash type of movie that didn't get bogged down in so much drama like the one in 2003. I loved Edward Norton as Bruce Banner. Not only did he look the part of a scrawny scientist, he also acted like one plus also did a good job conveying the burden he carries and the suffering he has to go through because of what he is (i.e. sometimes living on the street).

There was a chemistry between him and Liv Tyler, too. The two of them could easily pass as real-life lovers. This kind of realism was crucial in showing the sacrifices Bruce had made in order to protect those he cared about from the Hulk.

The sheer power shown by the Hulk throughout this movie was just plain awesome. The strength displayed was astounding. The coolest display, in my opinion, was when the helicopter Betty was in caught fire and Hulk clapped his hands together so hard it sent a shockwave through the air to put out the flame.

I enjoyed Tim Roth as the good-guy-turned-bad. He's always convincing. And when he became Abomination, the big fight between Abomination and Hulk was terrific: two giant titans going head-to-head, muscle against muscle, power against power. Fantastic.

The Incredible Hulk was such a great movie and made you look forward to any sequels or cameos the Hulk will have in the future.

Recommended.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie with lots of extras., Dec 27 2013
This review is from: Incredible Hulk [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really like the movie and the Blue ray package of extras that come with it. It really makes the blue ray purchase worth it. The same goes with buying Blue ray Avengers and THOR.
You have to love a movie team that not only puts the movie on disc but a host of really meaningful extras like deleted scenes and " How it was shot" parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incredible Hulk (Bilingual) (DVD)
i loved the movie i would tell all my friends and family for sure none stop action from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Histoire, Jan. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incredible Hulk (Bilingual) (DVD)
Cette version de Hulk est vraiment plus axé sur l'histoire et j'ai aimé voir le côté humain de ce grand héros vert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incredible Hulk (Bilingual) (DVD)
I know people thought this was a corny movie but I liked it. Brought back memories of the weekly TV show that I enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, Dec 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The digital copy of this is expired so it isn't really a 3 disc special edition anymore. Its a 2 disc. But the product arrived fairly quickly and was in good shape. So i was (mostly) happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Hulk, Oct. 23 2012
By 
Vid Junkie Bill (London, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incredible Hulk (Bilingual) (DVD)
I had hesitated for a long time before seeing this movie. I really only got it to give me the Hulk background before watching the Avengers. I was pleasantly surprised with a good storyline and was entertained. I'm glad they brought the Hulk back with some compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first Hulk Movie, Dec 29 2011
Ed Norton acts really well in this movie. The story line and CGI is more realistic in this movie compared to the first HULK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You must like that kind of character to appreciate it, Nov. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incredible Hulk [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not for everyone. The way the topic is handled is interesting. As usual, Hulk is spectacular by his strenght. You must like that kind of character to appreciate it. Well done, but far from a masterpiece. As usual the movie is a pretext to show mutant monsters that are involved in dramatic fights. Humans are so meaningless in this situation... Many people would dislike that kind of movie, mostly girls. Watch it once to see that specific version of Hulk movie compared to what has been done in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Incredible Hulk [Blu-ray]
Incredible Hulk [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews