Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing surprising, but is that really important?
Sure, you could argue that Dio's style has remained fairly constant and he does not have a tendency to "grow" stylistically. But I know one thing for sure: this is one guy who knows how to make metal. On Sacred Heart, he cranks out 9 great metal tunes, and he makes it seem easy. The truth is, while these songs do not shock you with stunning originality, they...
Published on Aug. 7 2003 by J. Wesley Townsend

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dio's drop off!
This the third Dio record is much weaker then the first two. With an addition of a keyboard player to the lineup the music seems to shift in that direction here. I still feel that in most cases in the 80's that keyboards just didn't work in metal because the sounds were all to thin. I feel it wasn't until NIN (I know they are not really metal but they are just as heavy)...
Published on April 3 2012 by Stephen Bieth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dio's drop off!, April 3 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sacred Heart (2cd Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This the third Dio record is much weaker then the first two. With an addition of a keyboard player to the lineup the music seems to shift in that direction here. I still feel that in most cases in the 80's that keyboards just didn't work in metal because the sounds were all to thin. I feel it wasn't until NIN (I know they are not really metal but they are just as heavy) and groups like Opeth that were finally able to use Keyboards in Metal. The song writing has really dropped off here. It's not a horrible record but I think after hearing it you will agree that this one just isn't up there with the first two.
This one comes with a bonus disc as well but unlike the other two (Holy Diver, Last In Line) most of this was released as the live EP "Intermission" . There was one studio song on the EP and it's one of the worst Dio songs you will ever hear.
So over all not crap but if you can't pick all three up this is the one to skip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, No Matter WHAT the Horror Author Says!, Dec 13 2000
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
Anybody know about that reviewer Johnny S. Geddes? If you've read his profile, you'll know that he is a new-age horror fiction writer. While lacking in personal contact, we have coincidentally reviewed many of the same items, and I cannot think of a single album upon which we have agreed. If you happen to find one, feel free to tell me about it...
Anyway, "Sacred Heart" is neither the best nor the worst of Dio's albums. "Angry Machines" was horrible, and of course "Holy Diver" was leaps and bounds higher quality. The third album usually makes or breaks a band, and I feel that this release crushed the band's hopes of ever becoming legends instead of merely staying famous. When the keyboardist works more overtime than whomever strums the riffs, you know that the album will probably wither. Along with an overly atmospheric production, Dio was finally scraping bottom with his usual formula: First track--rock 'n' roll anthem; Second track--title track and epic fantasy; Third track--good rocker with a killer riff; and the rest of the songs range from cruddy to average to superb and back to a ballad.
First, the good--"Sacred Heart," "Another Lie," and "Rock and Roll Children." The mediocre--"King of Rock 'n' Roll," "Like the Beat of a Heart," and "Fallen Angels." Finally, the nauseating--"Hungry for Heaven," "Just Another Day," and "Shoot Shoot." Kudos to the gang for providing us with a wondrous assortment of quality, but the fact that Vivian Campbell soon left Dio after this album is a sad testament to this release, no matter what his reasons happened to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Little Too Much Pop, Dec 28 2003
By 
Michael Pope (Clinton, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
Ronnie James Dio's 1985 effort, "Sacred Heart", is a bit too pop for me, a fan of "traditional" heavy metal (excluding "nu-metal"). However, please understand that I am hardest on my favorite artists. After his departure from Black Sabbath, Dio's first two solo albums were a success. I think he may have tried too hard to compete with his first two outings. The album does open with a rocker, "King of Rock and Roll", which I have heard is a begrudging tribute to Ozzy Osbourne. If there is an "epic" song on the album, it would be "Sacred Heart". The rest of the album is what I would call pop metal (I know that's hard to mention on a Dio review). I think Dio relied too much on Claude Schnell's keyboards and catchy hooks/choruses here, which is a requirement for any pop metal effort. Some of these choruses on the songs are, however, contagious, like "Hungry for Heaven", "Like the Beat of a Heart", & "Shoot Shoot". "Hungry for Heaven" was actually a single released to support the flop movie "Vision Quest" (a bad flick about Greco-Roman wrestling). Also, Jimmy Bain's bass is almost inaudible, and Vinnie Appice's drumming is rather reserved on most of the songs. Vivian Campbell, however, still shreds well on guitar for most of the album.
The album cover is a bit cheesy, and it reminds me too much of a Dio-era Rainbow album cover. Though I was too young to witness it, I have heard that the tour to support the album was amazing, complete with lasers, smoke, a huge mechanical dragon, armored knights, and wizards. Overall, "Sacred Heart" is definitely one of Dio's weaker albums, receiving the least critical attention, along with his 1994 "Strange Highways" album. But, it is an interesting departure from his traditional work and should not be ignored; If you bought this album, it would not be a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good album, poor sound!, Sept. 22 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, we can't appreciate this album at his full value, the sound need to be mixed and remastered, this you greatly help. beside that, a good album but not onen of his greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing surprising, but is that really important?, Aug. 7 2003
By 
J. Wesley Townsend "westknife" (new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
Sure, you could argue that Dio's style has remained fairly constant and he does not have a tendency to "grow" stylistically. But I know one thing for sure: this is one guy who knows how to make metal. On Sacred Heart, he cranks out 9 great metal tunes, and he makes it seem easy. The truth is, while these songs do not shock you with stunning originality, they still rock you to the core. This music is not emotionally moving, but that's not the point!! The point is that it is hard rock, and it does just that: it rocks hard.
The best song on the album is definitely the title track, "Sacred Heart." It is in the vein of the title tracks of his last two albums, "Holy Diver" and "Last in Line." It is a slower, more epic composition, and it dominates!!! Other highlights are "King of Rock and Roll" and "Another Lie." However, there is not one bad track on here.
The band is in top form, as usual. The new keyboardist, Claude Schnell, is pretty cool; his sounds add a whole new element to the band's music. Sometimes they sound downright evil: check out the main riff to "Like the Beat of a Heart." And of course, Vivian Campbell tears it up on guitar.
Dio is one of the great voices of metal. His music, his lyrics, and his voice are almost definitive of the entire genre. Although he has better albums (Holy Diver, Killing the Dragon), it still seems that he can do no wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Under-rated, Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Dio album. Keyboards were used in previous albums, but here they are more consistant over the whole album. What sounds more mystical- keyboards or guitars? There is no weak filler here and thus is the least cheesey of Dio's albums. I liked the song off here better than others that were featured on the Sacred Heart video. The stage set for this tour was awesome, complete with orb, dragon and sword. Like all "sell-out" and "mediocre" albums by big metal bands, it's more appealling to the diehard fans who've heard the hits 1,000 times. Sacred Heart is the most overtly mystical Dio album, which is what Dio is all about. An under-rated gem in the Dio back catolgue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Under-rated, Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Dio album. Keyboards were used in previous albums, but here they are more consistant over the whole album. What sounds more mystical- keyboards or guitars? There is no weak filler here and thus is the least cheesey of Dio's albums. I liked the song off here better than others that were featured on the Sacred Heart video. The stage set for this tour was awesome, complete with orb, dragon and sword. Like all "sell-out" and "mediocre" albums by big metal bands, it's more appealling to the diehard fans who've heard the hits 1,000 times. Sacred Heart is the most overtly mystical Dio album, which is what Dio is all about. An under-rated gem in the Dio back catolgue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Under-rated, Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Dio album. Keyboards were used in previous albums, but here they are more consistant over the whole album. What sounds more mystical- keyboards or guitars? There is no weak filler here and thus is the least cheesey of Dio's albums. I liked the song off here better than others that were featured on the Sacred Heart video. The stage set for this tour was awesome, complete with orb, dragon and sword. Like all "sell-out" and "mediocre" albums by big metal bands, it's more appealling to the diehard fans who've heard the hits 1,000 times. Sacred Heart is the most overtly mystical Dio album, which is what Dio is all about. An under-rated gem in the Dio back catolgue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sacred?, April 7 2003
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
There is some good tracks "King of Rock And Roll" (4.5/5)and "Hungry for Heaven" (5/5) which are both fast and heavy. "Sacred Heart" (4.75/5) is a slow but heavy. "Rock'n roll children" (5/5) is definitely a piece of heavy music art! There is so good vocals! Unbelievalble! "Another Lie" is a heavy song too! (4.25/5). "Like the Beat of the Heart" (4.25/5) is almost like "Straight Through the Heart" from the "Holy Diver" album. "Fallen Angel" has good lyrics but the music should be heavier. (3.75/5). "Just Another Day" (3.5/5) and "Shoot Shoot" (3.5/5) are both peaceful tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good for the time, Dec 16 2002
By 
John McMinn "Prophet.O.D." (paramus, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred Heart (Audio CD)
This album was a rush job when Campell left for Whitesnake.Good guitar solos, lots of FILLER songs,sounds DATED.LOck up the Wolves was better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf105d98)

This product

Sacred Heart (2cd Deluxe)
Sacred Heart (2cd Deluxe) by Ronnie James Dio (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews