Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the human race is capable off
We can extremely cruel to ourselves, killing, torturing, jailing, deporting, backstabbing and on and on goes this list. Sometimes it takes the Story and the spirit of a horse to remind us, that not all of us are that way. That we are more people of love and compassion. Other really good reviewers have written a synopsis of the story, I'm gonna bypass this time, and just...
Published on April 12 2012 by Ernst Wiltmann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more?
I was expecting more, To me it never delivered. If it wasn't for the few minutes of battle scenes it could be called a Disney movie. It diff. isn't like the older classic war films like, A bridge to far, or the Battle of Britian or Midway. Not in that league. Not a bad story but diff. not a classic.
Published 9 months ago by MDK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the human race is capable off, April 12 2012
By 
Ernst Wiltmann "store746" (Parry Sound, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We can extremely cruel to ourselves, killing, torturing, jailing, deporting, backstabbing and on and on goes this list. Sometimes it takes the Story and the spirit of a horse to remind us, that not all of us are that way. That we are more people of love and compassion. Other really good reviewers have written a synopsis of the story, I'm gonna bypass this time, and just describe the effect this now one of my top favorite films has on me. It demonstrated to me the power of compassion towards everyting living. And like other reviewers pointed out, this film includes the major elements of many good films, thet took humanity at heart. I grew up on a farm in germany after World War 2, just a few years after the War, we still had Horses to drag the plow, just like in this film.
Our farm was just as picturesque as the farm of our protagonist in the film, pehaps a little different, because our buildings where not build out of field bolders and cement, but out of "Fachwerk" a combination out of clay and wood. The characters and the ambiance in Germany was the same as the one described in the movie. I have to thank Steven Spielberg, for building this bridge between two nations. I was surprised to see our farmers son enact parts of two of my other top favorites I Was Nineteen and Adventures Of Werner Holt by his way of interacting. So now I know, that Steven Spielberg must have seen those films, and probably has been inspired by them. Because those films I consider to this day, are like any others I have seen in my almost 60 years, and I've seen many, so that I run a movie store in Parry Sound for almost 30 years now.
Sometimes I rewatch those films, just to charge myself with positive energy. This movie is now on my permanent rewatch list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 4 2013
By 
E. Allchin "history freak" (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
My husband and I enjoyed the movie so much, that when we saw that it was available and we could enjoy it on our older dvd player we decided we would invest in a copy. If you like first world war stories with a different perspective you will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse [2012] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 8 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
War Horse [2012] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] SPIELBERG’S FINEST WORK – A MASTERPIECE!

From director Steven Spielberg comes the epic adventure of War Horse, and is a tale of incredible loyalty, hope and tenacity set against the sweeping canvas of World War I. Based on the best-selling book of British author Michael Morpurgo's 1982 children's novel of the same name set before and during World War I and award-winning stage production, this deeply heartfelt story begins with the remarkable friendship between a horse named Joey and his young trainer Albert. When they are forced apart by war, and we follow Joey’s extraordinary journey as he changes and inspires the lives of everyone he meets. Filled with spectacularly rich visuals – and complete with a never-before-seen bonus feature – War Horse is “epic family entertainment” [Film 2012] and one of the most powerful and moving stories of friendship ever told.

FILM FACT: The film was nominated for six Academy Awards including Best Picture, two Golden Globe Awards and five BAFTAs.

Cast: Jeremy Irvine, Emily Watson, Peter Mullan, Niels Arestrup, David Thewlis, Tom Hiddleston, Benedict Cumberbatch, Céline Buckens, Toby Kebbell, Patrick Kennedy, Leonard Carow, David Kross, Matt Milne, Robert Emms, Eddie Marsan, Nicolas Bro, Rainer Bock, Hinnerk Schönemann, Geoff Bell, Liam Cunningham, Gerard McSorley, Tony Pitts, Pip Torrens, Philippe Nahon, Julian Wadham, David Dencik, Edward Bennett, Johnny Harris, Tam Dean Burn and Maximilian Brückner

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy

Screenplay: Lee Hall and Richard Curtis

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Janusz Kamiński

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English Audio Descriptive, English: 2.0 Dolby Digital and French: 7.1 DTS-HD HR

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Nederland, Swedish, Norwegian, Denmark, Suomi, Iceland and Russian

Running Time: 146 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: DreamWorks

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Despite its sweeping visuals and epic scale, Steven Spielberg's ‘War Horse’ remains focused on its equine hero, Joey, as he travels throughout France and Germany during World War I. Despite its sweeping visuals and epic scale, Steven Spielberg's ‘War Horse’ remains focused on its equine hero, Joey, as he travels throughout France and Germany during World War I. Adapted from Michael Morpurgo's children's novel, War Horse bounces between the characters and settings Joey encounters as a British Cavalry horse, and Spielberg captures the horrors and beauty of the period landscape. War Horse is classic filmmaking; dramatic and sentimental, with heartache and triumph for its characters. The toll of war on Europe is sometimes overlooked outside of a few startling scenes of violence, which dampers the film's resonance some, but War Horse supplements its narrative creaks with earnest storytelling.

Farmer Ted Narracott [Peter Mullan]) buys a thoroughbred at auction despite being told the horse will never pull a plough. Ted's wife, Rose [Emily Watson], demands he return the horse, but his son, Albert [Jeremy Irvine], promises to train the horse, which he names Joey. Ted is haunted by memories of his time in South African during the Second Boer War, and turns to the bottle for relief, leaving Joey and Rose responsible for paying the rent. In a rousing early scene, Albert gets Joey to plough a rocky field and saves the family's farm from vindictive landlord Lyons [David Thewlis]. The good luck eventually dries up, and Ted sells Joey to Calvary officer Capt. Nicholls [Tom Hiddleston], who promises to look after Joey and return him to Albert after the war.

Violence fills Joey's first months at war, as the British quickly learn their traditional battle charges are futile against a hail of machine-gun bullets. Although Joey cannot speak, War Horse follows the horse across Europe, where he meets soldiers and civilians alike. In the possession of German troops, Joey encounters young soldiers Gunther [David Kross] and Michael [Leonard Carow], who foolishly desert to save their lives. Joey meets fragile Emilie [Celine Buckens] and her grandfather [Niels Arestrup], who live on a farm near the German front. The story later moves forward several years, and Joey continues to suffer under the harsh German command. ‘War Horse’ glimpses battle from many angles, and, while the big picture is never captured, it succeeds at portraying the hardship and loss of war at a personal level.

Steven Spielberg released two very different films in 2011: Motion-capture animated film ‘The Adventures of Tintin’ and ‘War Horse,’ which received an Academy Award nomination for Best Picture. The Adventures of Tintin is breathless fun, but War Horse is more traditional filmmaking. Steven Spielberg captures the landscape and frames the actors in beautiful scenery that was filmed in the on location on Dartmoor in Devon. On top of all that the ilming of ‘War Horse’ began with the cavalry scenes being filmed at Stratfield Saye House in North Hampshire, the estate of the Duke of Wellington, where incidentally Wellington's war horse Copenhagen is buried.

Every shot is beautifully composed and framed, and film buffs should appreciate Spielberg's mastery of his craft. Albert eventually enlists and fights with the British in the Second Battle of the Somme, where soldiers hide from German guns and bombs in mud-soaked trenches. Albert enlisted for his country and for Joey, who he hopes to see again.

Before its film adaptation, Michael Morpurgo's story was turned into a successful London stage production that used life-sized puppets for the horses. The material is suited for that medium, which allows an audience to focus on the core story without demanding a visual depiction of all the surrounding events. As a film, War Horse is nimble and mostly satisfying, but at times lacks this context. War Horse is sad because a horse suffers greatly, yet millions of people died in World War I. Steven Spielberg provides glimpses of the tragedy, but overlooks most of the fallout. After the first hour, Albert gets too little screen time to earn much sympathy, but Joey is the real hero anyway. Joey is the most charismatic and developed character in War Horse, and that makes the film a success.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The 2.40:1 aspect ratio 1080p encoded transfer for ‘War Horse’ complements Steven Spielberg's sharp directorial eye and the beautiful cinematography from Janusz Kaminski. Detail is excellent, and Spielberg's frequent deep-focus shots stretch for miles. Close-ups reveal every facial detail, sweat bead and dried patch of mud on the tired soldiers, as well as Joey's chocolate coat. Colours are bold and lush, and rotate from the fertile greens and reds of rural France to the harsh greys and blacks of the German war zone. Blacks are solid and do not crush and ‘War Horse’ appear at all times film-like. No compression artefacts appear, and the only hiccup to report is some very slight aliasing.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack supports the thunderous chaos of war, with excellent range and dynamic clarity. Dialogue is crisp and clear, and directional dialogue is frequent. The 7.1 mix is immersive and expertly designed to place the viewer amid the environment on screen. Ambient effects surround the viewer, and action effects rumble throughout the sound field and awaken the subwoofer. Machine gun fire ricochets around the room, horses gallop and rattle the floor, and panicked voices pan through the rear and front speakers. This is an excellent mix, and the fantastic range means quiet scenes are just as powerful.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

War Horse: The Journey Home [HD] [20:00] Director Steven Spielberg hosts two roundtable discussions; one with the film's cast, the other with key members of the creative team and crew. Each half of the twenty-minute documentary has been edited and condensed into bite-sized chats and a decision that will no doubt leave some grumbling, but the carefully selected comments that remain offer welcome insight into the production, Spielberg's intentions, the characters and performances, the script and story, the horses and their training, the power of the film's themes, and more.

An Extra’s Point of View [HD] [3:00] Meet Martin D. Dew, extraordinaire. He not only appears several times in the film, he worked almost every day of principal photography, filling the boots of British and German soldiers.

Finally, War Horse has old-fashioned sensibilities, but its equine hero's struggles under British and German leadership during World War I are timeless. Steven Spielberg shoots across Europe and captures the beauty and horrors of the war-torn landscape as war horse Joey bounces between various riders and strangers. War Horse occasionally misses the big picture and fallout of war, but its voiceless lead is a compelling protagonist. The Blu-ray features excellent picture and sound and some great extras. But I must warn you that by the end of the awesome spectacular film, you will use up all your Kleenex tissues, as you will get emotionally drained and makes you feel how lucky that you did not have to experience the horrors of World War I, especially as it is now over 100 years when it began and the film certainly shows the horror of war and how pointless in the end these conflicts to not solve anything and too many people die needless for what, especially for the country that starts these wars and to sum up even more, I am again so proud to add another Steven Spielberg DreamWorks to my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War horse, April 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantastic movie with an excellent story, movie well done, captivating, scenery done with perfection, I recommend too everyone to see this movie, very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long faced look at war, Feb. 25 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
More recently as Steven Spielberg has become more active as a producer, his directing credits are becoming less common.

In the past year he has produced the brillant Super 8 [Blu-ray], one of my favorites, directed by JJ Abrams, the creator, writer and occasional director of Lost, and the recent Star trek. Super 8 is a great nostalgia piece evoking the early eighties, and an homage to Spielberg's earliest movies. Spielberg also produced Cowboys and Aliens, a somewhat weird meshing of two genres.

Now with War Horse Spielberg directs, and shows his masterful touches throughout. In fact, if you are like me you can see traces of many great movies of the past. The early portions of the movies showing English countryside scenes, and the musical soundtrack of John Williams are reminiscent of John Ford's The Quiet Man. Trench warfare scenes are reminiscent of that all time classic All Quiet on the Western Front. Incidents relating to deserting soldiers are thematically reminiscent of Kubrick's Paths of Glory.

War, as bad as it is, somehow seems worse when an innocent animal is involved, which ultimately makes Warhorse the ultimate anti war polemic. And we have a love story between a young boy Albert, and a horse named Joey. As the movie begins we see the Joey being born, as the boy watches.

Later Albert's alcoholic father instead of buying a proper plough horse, foolishly pits himself agaainst his own landlord in bidding for the flash horse Joey, instead of a huge Clydesdale, making his tenancy precarious, and imperiling his families limited fortunes. Joey faces many trials and tribulations adjusting to the plough. The tight knit community wonders, as does the family, about the consequences of the father's foolishness. Here we have a wonderful perforamnce from Emily Watson as the mother, cruelly snubbed during award season.

When the war happens the father impulsively sells the horse to the military, despite Albert's protests. Albert, understandably distressed, too young to join the military, vows to be reunited with Joey. Meanwhile Joey goes to the front, and we have a poignant scene with his new owner. He and another horse escape the war briefly, and are adopted by a teenage girl. It's not long before the war interferes again, and Joey has a series of adventures. My favorite scene is when he gets trapped in No Mans land, and both sides have to cooperate to free him. I loved the wire clippers flying scene. I also loved the sub story about the two young German brothers, and the parallel structure about how the British deal with a similar situation.

Ultimately the horse is a silent witness to the horror of war, becoming an effective storytelling metaphor.

Later in the movie one scene I thought was a little overdone, the moment of blindfold recognition. I like to feel emotions in a movie, but not to have them evoked in a contrived way.

War Horse certainly deserves to be nominated for Best Picture and Best Cinematography, yet I cannot help thinking that actors who vote for awards would prefer as I do to have the story centered around a human character. Nevetheless, when I was a child or young teen I loved watching movies like this, particularly Lassie Goes to war.

Another movie I recommend if you don't mind subtitles is the French movie A Very Long Engagement, starring Audrey Tautou, and Academy Award winner Marion Cotillard. A girl seeks her boyfriend believed killed by being sent over the trench deliberately into no mans land for breaking military regulations. It has huge parallels with Warhorse except the protagonists are human, and also operates as a polemic. A beautifully filmed touching love story set against the war.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is excellent! When it arrived in the mail, Oct. 7 2014
By 
Nathan K (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
This movie is excellent! When it arrived in the mail, the packaging was still brand new with no damage along the way. Both the dvd and blu-ray discs were inside and played well. The dvd has a 6 minute featurette whereas the blu-ray version has a few more special features besides the movie. Excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a fabulous movie, that's why I got my own copy of the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français), July 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Excellent film. Histoire touchante qui nous révèle autant le mauvais côté que le bon côté de l'humanité.
À montrer à ceux qui pensent que la guerre est amusante.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching!!, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
It was a great gift for my dad on Father's Day, The whole family was in tears at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie !!!!!, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Steven Spielberg really knows how to grab at your heart strings This movie made me happy and sad all at the same time. I would recommend this movie to everyone who loves animals and believes that they enrich our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Horse (2-Disc Combo Pack [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.97
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews