march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2016
a great movie in 2d, even better in 3d. the two children deserved (at least) oscar nominations for their stellar performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
All the hype raised my expectations too high, I guess. I'm not saying I didn't like it but, hey, ten bucks and it's yours. And don't forget, it's 3d.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
We all really enjoyed the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
merci
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
Just thought it would be better...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
A great family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
great story, excellent acting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
I’ve given a rating of 4 because it is an excellent movie
A very good movie can be viewed by the whole family.
But I feel that is more for kids 11 years and older.
I would recommend viewing by the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
It feels to me like Shutter Island was a definitive time in Martin Scorsese's career. Not only did it mark the director's first tackle into a suspense/eerie story (if memory serves), but his following film, Hugo, sealed his decision to truly better himself by offering us something we've rarely seen before: childhood through his eyes.

Hugo is a real achievement. A film about film, one that would have deserved much more awards than this. The child actors give nuanced, even mature performances at times, the background, storyline and overall film truly mesmerize the senses. Having recently seen Méliès' "Voyage to the Moon", Hugo's distinct homage to cinema's first filmmaker made Martin Scorsese's picture all the more important. This passing of age story has action, acting, special effects, costumes, touching moments and many more for everyone to marvel at.

Sadly, the special features are quite short and consist only of a few featurettes that total a running time of 56 minutes. An insult to this great production, and to make matters worse, several of those featurettes are not that interesting, feeling more like an EPK material, which makes no sense given that you've already bought or rented the movie in the first place, so selling an already bought film... you know...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 29, 2013
This is a unique combination of the way the story is told as an interweaving of a fictional protagonist to tell the story of a real life person. I have seen the formula of interweaving reality with a fictional character before; one of the most famous is "Sophie's World" by Jostein Gaarder.

Any way the basic story is of a child that loses his father and thinks that his father left him a message that will change his life. In the process of perusing the message he meets Georges Méliès who may just have a message to change the reader's life.

The book incorporated a lot of pictures to help tell the story. This is innovative and holds your attention. However it did not translate well into the film as the film was slow and dragged a lot in scenes and even dialog. They lost the continuity and purpose of the story by incorporating the station inspector story that was a minor part of the book. It was too slapstick. What was great graphics in the book translated in almost cartoonish graphics in the film. However they did an excellent presentation of how the original films were designed to show us the stuff that dreams were made of.

The flat screen version was well enough. The 3D graphics were sort of gimmicky sort of looking through a stereoscope; however they were several fields deep.

So we have some unnecessary story added and some slow dragging parts but in the end the feel of the original book shines through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse