Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Redford movie
Robert Redford excels in title role of naïve young man 'gone native', back in the days of the mountain men. Redford is very authentic and obviously relishes his part. Simple story, with strong supporting performances from Will Geer and Stefan Gierasch who teach Jeremiah how to survive in the wilderness.
Published 11 months ago by Donylo

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this a children's movie?
This movie really threw me. By all appearances it should be an exciting film about getting back to nature, as well as an historical piece. Yet the dialogue, the acting, the directing, and the music all made it feel (to me at least) like a children's movie, something Disney would have made. But it isn't a children's movie, at least not one I'd ever show my children...
Published on Sept. 3 2002 by N. Tomlinson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Redford movie, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeremiah Johnson [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Robert Redford excels in title role of naïve young man 'gone native', back in the days of the mountain men. Redford is very authentic and obviously relishes his part. Simple story, with strong supporting performances from Will Geer and Stefan Gierasch who teach Jeremiah how to survive in the wilderness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Redford Treat, Feb. 24 2013
By 
Argus - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jeremiah Johnson [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Fans will be reasonably happy with this bluray release of "Jeremiah Johnson" (1972) without going overboard. Despite the evident lack of any restoration, a visual improvement is noticeable over the DVD format with sharper resolution and generally superior colour.

The film is a good choice for upgrading to High Definition in terms of both setting and subject matter. Locations in Utah double for the Rockies in this tale of a nineteenth century mountain man (Robert Redford) struggling to survive in a punishing environment. Drawn into a world of towering peaks, desolate snowfields and pine forests, we follow the character from his rejection of urban society through a series of testing challenges to carve out a life in the wilderness. Watch for the irony of "civilization" reaching out when Johnson feels compelled to violate a Crow burial ground while guiding cavalry to rescue stranded settlers. The decision and its consequences are a pivotal moment.

As the film is partly a study in solitude some scenes contain minimal dialogue and these serve to underline a real strength of Redford's craft. It is that of being not so much an actor as a "reactor" in the way events and people are reflected on his face, perhaps best demonstrated here in the cabin episode where Johnson grieves while his horse moves restlessly outside.

Supporting actors, Will Geer as the wily old trapper Bear Claw and Stefan Gierasch playing Del Gue ("...with an E"), are a delight and it's almost worth watching the movie for them alone.

The project was a favorite of Redford's, one which became a labour of love for him and director Sydney Pollack who even mortgaged his home at one point to help finance it. They provide a commentary on the bluay edition along with writer John Milius.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We wanted it for our library, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is more than entertaining, it is a true picture of life as a mountain man. It's a fantastic movie that we will watch many times more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, Nov. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD is something I will cherish for years to come. I could not find it anywhere. It was a film my dad and I shared when I was younger and it brings back fond memories when I watch it. Since my dad passed, it brings me comfort to watch and remember our times together. Thanks Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JERIMIAH JOHNSON, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THIS IS UNDOUBTABLY THE FINEST CRAFT EVER DONE BY ROBERT REDFORD.
I THINK THIS PROBABLY LAUNCH HIS CAREER LIKE NO OTHER FILM, I ALSO ENJOYED THE CAMEO APPEARANCE BY WIL GEER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent wilderness type entertainment, July 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great mountain scenery, depicts a simpler time where men could just disappear for years or longer and never be heard of again,super acting and great casting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a favorite, Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an old favorite,decided to buy it on dvd,already had the vhs.We'll never get tired of watching it. great in all aspects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great frontier movie with outstanding backdrops in Utah. Robert Redford and the other characters exhibited quality acting. The plot was also a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Unforgettable Masterpiece From Sydney Pollack!, Jan. 5 2002
By 
derJUBster (Near the Beach, Heart of Dixie) - See all my reviews
Robert Redford and Sydney Pollack, the Academy Award-winning director of Out of Africa team up (the 2nd of their 6 films together) for this powerful saga of a man whose determined search for contentment leads to back-breaking, even mind-breaking hardship, and to constant battle with hostile native Americans. This absolutely unforgettable and spectacularly beautiful, yet haunting adventure film captures both the epic scale of an unconquered Nature and the small, frustrating, hard scrabbling struggles of a lone man desperately trying to start a fire during a gale-force blizzard, cross a meadow knee-deep in snow or catch something, anything, to eat.
Filmed entirely on location in winter-time Utah, this movie captures on film Jeremiah Johnson's (Robert Redford) attempt in the mid 1800s to become a mountain man, seeking solitude in a wilderness whose purity he never questioned. This film is sure to find its way into the private library of every connoisseur of superb movie making, and is one of those very rare films you can enjoy again and again! Masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Redford's personal favorite film role, June 15 2000
By 
Joe O'Brien (Virginia Beach, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeremiah Johnson (VHS Tape)
I had the pleasure of seeing "Jeremiah Johnson" in the theatre soon after it first came out at Christmas 1972. On the big screen you could really appreciate the magnificent cinematography and the majestic scenery. It loses something when transferred to the small screen. So I recommend watching the letterboxed version on a larger screen TV(at least 27inches or larger.)It has fine direction by Sydney Pollack whom Robert Redford has worked with in more than a half dozen films. The movie takes place in Redford's own neck of the woods,the mountains of Utah.The late Will Geer,(the grandfather on the television series "The Walton's" back in the '70's),is very enjoyable as a bear trapping mountain man named Bear Claw. And,Delle Bolton is impressive in her movie debut as Jeremiah's young indian maiden bride named Swan. I don't believe I've seen Ms. Bolton in anything since this film.The film also has an atmospheric music score by John Rubinstein.
I haven't read the two books this movie is based on "Crow Killer" by Raymond W. Thorp and Robert Bunker and "Mountain Man" by Vardis Fisher and I hear the books are much more intense and graphic and if the screenplay had followed them more closely the film would have generated a more adult R rating instead of the family friendly PG rating that it has. Redford said in an interview back in the '80's that of all the films he has done that "Jeremiah Johnson" was his personal favorite.
I think that's really saying something considering all the fine films Mr. Redford has done.This is one of his best along with "Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid" from 1969, "The Sting",(the OscarTM winner for Best Picture of 1973),"The Great Waldo Pepper" from 1975,"Three Days of The Condor",(also directed by Sydney Pollack),"All The President's Men" from 1976,"Brubaker" from 1980, "Ordinary People"(which was his directorial debut and was the OscarTM winner for Best Picture of 1980 and he won Best Director honors),"The Natural" from 1984,"A River Runs Through It" from 1992,which Redford directed and was the narrator,"Quiz Show" nominated for Best Picture of 1994,(it didn't win), and "The Horse Whisperer" from 1998(which he both directed and starred in. Among Director Sydney Pollack's best are "The Way We Were" from 1973,"The Yakuza" from 1975,"Tootsie" from 1982 and "Out of Africa",the OscarTM winner for Best Picture of 1985,with Mr.Pollack winning Best Director honors). Robert Redford and Sydney Pollack are two of America's finest filmmakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeremiah Johnson [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews