Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions - WOW
I am moving from a 50" Samsung plasma that is about 2 years old, to this model. I was content with Samsung but after watching this set, I am very happy I made the jump! Even with the set off, the screen is very dark, you know you are going to get rich blacks with that alone. I am with all the other reviewers who say this model has very deep blacks and excellent colours...
Published on June 3 2012 by Just Me

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BURN, BURN,BURN....IN
Read the review in a consumer book where it was listed as a "best buy"....Supposedly great picture,internet connectivity and great 3-D picture..all at a reasonable price.This was the second plasma that i have purchased from Panasonic.What was wrong with the first one?...Burn-in on the screen where the closed captioning was displayed...Lotsa little squares burnt...
Published 18 months ago by Ian G. Mcgillivray


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions - WOW, June 3 2012
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am moving from a 50" Samsung plasma that is about 2 years old, to this model. I was content with Samsung but after watching this set, I am very happy I made the jump! Even with the set off, the screen is very dark, you know you are going to get rich blacks with that alone. I am with all the other reviewers who say this model has very deep blacks and excellent colours. It's a bit more money (for the 55") but it is worth every penny. Plasma is still the way to go. I will never go back to the choppiness of an LCD or LED set for my viewing experience or refer it to friends and family. I also found with LCD/LED that are larger in screen size, you can see the lines of resolution on the screen. With plasma sets, I don't see them at all unless I am very close to the set. Very distracting. Plasmas also handle motion extremely well.

I waited a considerable amount of time for the right set to come along and did plenty of research. I really don't think the GT model would have made me any happier.

If you are considering purchasing a new tv, I highly recommend the Panasonic 2012 ST series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BURN, BURN,BURN....IN, June 5 2013
By 
Ian G. Mcgillivray (cornwall ,ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Read the review in a consumer book where it was listed as a "best buy"....Supposedly great picture,internet connectivity and great 3-D picture..all at a reasonable price.This was the second plasma that i have purchased from Panasonic.What was wrong with the first one?...Burn-in on the screen where the closed captioning was displayed...Lotsa little squares burnt into the screen.According to that certain consumer mag.,burn-in is a thing of the past ,not a problem today.Well, I disagree.I had this new set tuned to a station that has a stationary logo ,then i tuned into a hockey game (lots of white on screen).Guess what,i could stillsee the station logo from the previous station burned into the screen.I tried the "scrolling white bar" to get rid of it .I know that Panasonic will say that this is not a fault with the T.V.,but with the viewer(me).Fool me once,shame on you...Fool me twice ,shame on me....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving it!, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I will not hesitate from ordering from Amazon.ca! I love the TV. The packaging on the TV was perfect. There was no way this TV could get damaged on the way. It was well packaged. Everything on this TV works as I expected but the colors on this TV is truly amazing. I recommend the 3D Plasma TV for those who enjoy watching HI DEF tv. If you have Netflix the remote is amazing with this TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not give this television a 5 star rating!, Oct. 13 2012
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Why not give this television a 5 star rating!

This is the best television I've ever owned.

Brilliant colours and deep blacks.

I thought 55" would be too big...as I am sitting about 9 feet away from it, but it is not.

I purchased a blu-ray player as well...unbelievable how great blu-ray films look in 1080p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic picture quality, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Too bad they stopped making these because the quality is outstanding. I've been using this for the last year. If you can get your hands on one of these its well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic 55 inch ST 50 (has not disappointed), March 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great Picture/nice looking set (thinner than I thought)
Pros: Picture quality after setting up in Custom mode
This set is definitely brighter than the other Panasonic plasma I have (TCP50C2) I also have LCDs.
Screen Filter does help.
No "buzzing"
Sports look great-hockey looks fine to me.
I switch to a Gamma setting of 2.2 during the day and go to 2.4/2.6 for night viewing.
Sound is decent although I use a 7.1 setup most of the time
No "IR" (I am careful and do run slides in combination with regular TV /Bluray viewing to condition the TV-to be on the safe side). This does annoy my wife:)
Wireless works
DNLA works
No problem with heat from the set
Haven't tried 3D yet (waiting to purchase Samsung glasses--much cheaper)
Cons: Seems to drop the wireless if I switch inputs although my network is very stable --seems to default to 2.4 -took more time to get it running on the 5.0 channel
Doesn't recognize and play formats aside from MP4
Limited value in smart apps. I don't use it for gaming.
Otherwise, the picture is great (2D movies and cable shows are very good; blurays are great) and better than my other Panasonic (although it has a decent picture as well)
Recommend this TV if you want a realistic picture (semi bright room is OK) and you are not using it as a monitor.
LCD is better if you have kids. Plasma is for adults who particularly like to watch movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Took the plunge and happy for it, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I really intended to purchase either the Sony HX850 or Samsung 7xxx series LCDs. But the reviews on this were so good and it was roughly half the price of the others. So I went for it and I have to say, the picture is amazing. Spent the savings on a new AV receiver and stand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST50 55-Inch 1080p Full HD 3D Plasma TV (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have no complaints about this TV. I completed the setup of the unit and switchover from my pre-existing plasma in about 20 minutes. Excellent picture quality and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews