Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Train Your Dragon Blu Ray...a heart-warming, gratifying video/audio experience
Video: This 1080p presentation is top-notch, spectacular and eye-catching, with vibrant colours and many fine details. The flying sequence of Hiccup and Astrid on Toothless is a sight to behold. Besides fantastic video, the story line is also top-notch, making one to root for the underdog. If you are an animal lover, you will truly appreciate the delicate details of...
Published on Oct. 30 2010 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the hype
It was good, but it wasn't anything particularly special. It didn't come close to the hype I had heard about it in my opinion.
Published 21 months ago by Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Train Your Dragon Blu Ray...a heart-warming, gratifying video/audio experience, Oct. 30 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Video: This 1080p presentation is top-notch, spectacular and eye-catching, with vibrant colours and many fine details. The flying sequence of Hiccup and Astrid on Toothless is a sight to behold. Besides fantastic video, the story line is also top-notch, making one to root for the underdog. If you are an animal lover, you will truly appreciate the delicate details of interaction between Hiccup and the dragon Toothless at the first encounter, seeing how the dragon's head slowly approaching Hiccup's hand to be stroked. The fine detail of the video is awesome, with Toothless cat-like green eyes to Astrid's blonde hair. This is no Pixar film, because the expression of human's face is still not as fluid as those in Pixar's films, like Toy Story, but Dreamworks has improved a lot. (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD MA 5.1 is also wonderful with powerful bass. It complemented the video. It makes one totally immersed into the movie. (5/5)

I saw this movie in the IMAX-3D theatre (I still have their "Made in Taiwan" IMAX-3D glasses, displayed in my home theatre) and was charmed by both the video and audio. This is one movie that the whole family will enjoy, again and again. Both the video and audio are top-notch, with a strong heart-warming storyline. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, Nov. 20 2010
This movie was fantastic!! The animation is awesome and the story is really great. It has a wonderful message about animals and how we relate to them and how we treat them. Perfect for 5 and up!!Really really fast delivery and great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! A must!, Oct. 26 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon (DVD)
I haven't seen any movie lately in animation that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish.
I must say this is going on my list of movie of the year.

Fun, colorful, amazing, entertaining.

A really good family movie for all to enjoy over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure for the whole family^^, Nov. 18 2011
By 
DarthFusion (Brampton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
How to Train Your Dragon was a ton of fun.

The animation was top notch, the voice actors were great, and the clash of Vikings vs Dragons made for a great film.

The story is more-or-less your typical underdog story, involving a young viking who would rather learn, than fight. He must overcome the seemingly impossible odds, to help his people, win the favor of his father, get the girl, and basically save the day.

If you like Fantasy, Adventure and Fun, this is definitely one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to be Amazed, Nov. 16 2011
This movie is gorgeous. The Blu-ray makes it look even better then when I saw this in theaters. The behind the scenes and the featurettes are nice and detailed. The voice acting is phenomenal, the plot is good for young and old and the entire movie is fantastical magical trip that's very memorable. I recommend this to anyone who's a kid or a kid at heart. A great movie for anyone's collection. Definitively an A+ movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watcheable, over and over, Feb. 10 2011
By 
PumpkinPie (Scarborough, Ont., Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon (DVD)
Never mind the kids, I've seen this movie 5 times now. I have to admit that by now, watching it is not as enjoyable as the first time when certain scenes are novel and the humour is fresh, but I still get a giggle.
Is Toothless more cat, puppy, or kimono dragon?...not really sure, but he sure has his own character and personality and is super cute (can I have one?)
The kids and I have read the book, and there is such a difference between the two stories as to be almost unrecognizeable. In a rare instance, I have found the movie to be better than the book.
The detail is amazing - check out Hiccup's hair how it moves naturally as he gestures, and how the sun brings out the 'highlights'.
Also, it took having to see it at least 3 times before I noticed that everyone (?) has a Scottish accent but the (American) Hiccup.
This may be the best children's movie I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Jan. 14 2011
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon (DVD)
One of the best animated films ever...and we watch a LOT of movies!! Great story, wonderful characters and cool effects. What more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, July 15 2014
bought this movie for my 4yr old grandson and he loves the dragons. He isn't old enough to pick up on any of the messages beingconveyed but as the adult watching it with him, seeing the father/son relation development was a great message that I'm sure many families can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My girls and I love this movie, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My girls and I love this movie, we watch it almost every day and the girls can't wait till the second one comes out on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dragons yea, June 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
best young adult movie that has come out in the last few years i have always wanted to fly a dragon since i read dragon riders of pern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Train Your Dragon [Blu-ray 3D + DVD] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 26.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews