Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just jump and run
I was positively surprised by this game. Coming from just PC gaming I thought that Playstation games are limited to just action. E.g. racing game, just racing. Shooting games just shooting. This game combines the action (shooting) with strategic planing to reach the final goal. Nicely done. I recommend it to strategic players which like games like Civilication. It is from...
Published 21 months ago by Sebastian

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can Gameplay Make Up For Unimaginative Storyline? (Spoilers?)
This game is a fantasy for the original X-Com enthusiasts. At least that is how I found out about it. When I first tried the demo I was sold on this game. The same solid gameplay remained for the game's duration. I was even impressed by the way the game was so integrated into the "tutorial" process. This rang true in major research projects again. But when it came...
Published 21 months ago by Bounje


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just jump and run, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I was positively surprised by this game. Coming from just PC gaming I thought that Playstation games are limited to just action. E.g. racing game, just racing. Shooting games just shooting. This game combines the action (shooting) with strategic planing to reach the final goal. Nicely done. I recommend it to strategic players which like games like Civilication. It is from the same makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be hooked!, Jan. 9 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I love tactical strategy games and this game is a great one! I have not played the original, but I can easily say that that's no detriment to how much you'll enjoy it. Easy to learn, hard to master. This is the kind of game that's hard to get off your mind even when you're not playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, Dec 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game was really fun and took me 20+ hours to beat. It's extremely deep and fun, but at the same time quite punishing if you aren't very methodical with your play. I recommend it to everyone who has the time to invest in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun and stress in one, Sept. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Great game with lots of replayability. Constant changes to enemies, missions and always hard to predict what will happen. Graphics not top of the line but they are still really well done. Love how you are always confronted with the choices and consequences of your actions (i.e given a choice to save one country or another during alien invasion missions) Drawbacks is the lack of time to be able to research or explore routes of new technologies and techniques. Pretty much as soon as game starts you have to know what route you want to take. rookies can't aim to save their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice game, March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Original strategy game, with a lot a stuff to manage. Long lasting and give a good challenge with 4 difficuty level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the original XCOM, Feb. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game brings back all my nostalgia for the original XCOM which I blame for dropping me a full letter grade for a semester in high school. Super fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game!, July 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Awesome game! After finish the PS3 version and went to Steam Summer sale to get the same PC game again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it. A return to the Rebelstar days with ..., Sept. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Love it.

A return to the Rebelstar days with beautiful graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tactical Strategy at its Best, Oct. 11 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Having just finished the game, I leave people with these thoughts.

This game is tactical strategy at its best, well as good as you will get in AAA gaming. The in-depth tinkering with your base involves getting funding, researching tech, building new weapons/armour, defending your air space, interrogating aliens… the list goes on.

The level of depth is quite impressive.

Personally the real fun comes in when you customize your squad. Kitting them out, giving them names, leveling them up and running them through missions. You start to take a certain pride in your max level sniper clearing the field with ease.

The overall experience is quite satisfying.

There are of course a few rubs.

The game has a surprising amount of bugs. In particular when it came time to kit out my soldiers. Their avatars would be incorrect or just plain out invisible.

The combat can also get tedious sometimes. After I've killed off the 15th Muton on a forest map, the last thing I want to do is hunt down the 16th in the bloody forest map. The urban maps are by far superior.

Finally the ending was kind of… well anticlimactic. I sniped the last boss twice, and he died. That was it. This was on normal, I intend to crank up the difficulty for my next run.
These gripes are minimal though. All together, I enjoyed it.

It’s a solid four star game. If you have any interest in strategy games, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can Gameplay Make Up For Unimaginative Storyline? (Spoilers?), Jan. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is a fantasy for the original X-Com enthusiasts. At least that is how I found out about it. When I first tried the demo I was sold on this game. The same solid gameplay remained for the game's duration. I was even impressed by the way the game was so integrated into the "tutorial" process. This rang true in major research projects again. But when it came close to the end of the game--which seemed way too early-- the novelty of all these features wore off.

It seems like a lack of imagination or crunch for time caused the ending to fall far beyond any expectations the other gaming aspects had instilled in me. What happened!? When I finished the game it felt cheap that everything became a stat, which one could compare against "the world." Wow, was I playing an arcade game the whole time? What happened to good old story development?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XCOM: Enemy Unknown - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews