Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Blu-ray AT LAST!
I first watched this movie in a German cinema early in 1995. I was overwhelmed, as well as my attendance, a very good friend. As soon as the DVD releases came out, I started to collect them. Not only from North America, also in Europe and every region I could get access to. I haven't found one which was totally satisfying. Mostly, the pictures were too dark, the colours...
Published on June 25 2012 by D. Eilers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A very Modest opinion !
In all honesty I have seen a lot of phycological thrillers. But in my opinion this one is all looks and cinematography. The only thing this movie serves as a mystery with a simple plot. The movie was designed to make you think there is more to it than there really is. The key to the movie is the flash back of Eric and Christina walking in the field.They drag that flash...
Published on Jan. 20 2003 by Arish


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Blu-ray AT LAST!, June 25 2012
By 
D. Eilers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
I first watched this movie in a German cinema early in 1995. I was overwhelmed, as well as my attendance, a very good friend. As soon as the DVD releases came out, I started to collect them. Not only from North America, also in Europe and every region I could get access to. I haven't found one which was totally satisfying. Mostly, the pictures were too dark, the colours not adequate. And now, at last, after seventeen years, the Blu-ray release is here.

At last, the pictures and the light are satisfying. This is how it all should be. I haven't seen this movie in a cinema for many years now, but I always knew how the light and the colours have to look like. This is eventually realized on this disc.

I may be hypercritically cinephilistic, but I as a film-lover, I would have preferred the original 1.85:1 ratio, however, for whatever reason, the movie comes in 1.78:1. Just to fit the 16:9 screen? This is hard to understand, for me at least.

The sound comes in 2.0, which is like in 1994/95, but I hoped they could expand it to 5.1 to get the real experience, especially in the club scenes.

No extras but an audio commentary of the director and the composer - obviously very well done.

As this is one of my all-time favourites, I have to give the highest score, with a couple of stains remaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow to deep., April 13 2004
By 
Robert Gamble (Falmouth, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exotica (Widescreen) (DVD)
One has to wonder if those who rated this movie poorly 'got it'. I gave this to a co-worker and he was highly confused at the end because he missed a critical link. For myself, I'm not sure what I expected. I knew I liked Mia Kirshner, and the pick-up of the DVD in a bargain bin was a "what the heck" purchase though I'd read reviews that seemed to promise a dark, disturbing, thought provoking movie.
Well, the packaging, as alluded to in the description, makes this seem like a standard erotic thriller. The addition of much of the action taking place in a strip club only seems to reinforce this as being standard, even shallow, fare. It's anything but. It might not be believable as a story, but the characters themselves are. Not only that, but fittingly enough, the shallowest seeming character through much of the film turns out to be potentially the most complex. It wasn't until after the end credits had rolled, and while still wrapping my mind around the whole canvas of the movie, it clicked as to why the character may have acted in a certain way.
I'll add a disclaimer here for anyone interested in the movie. If you are at all squeamish about the concepts of pedophelia, homosexuality, strip clubs, etc... well, just be aware that you might feel highly uncomfortable. I only plead discomfort to the first and parts were painful to watch even though nothing explicitly happens (and as is the case of the whole movie, nothing is anywhere near as simple or obvious as it first appears).
Highly recommended if you want a thought provoking, dark movie that at times makes you do a mental doubletake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring grief and how people deal with it, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the earlier films by Canadian director Atom Egoyan, and one of his best work in my view. Most of the film is shot in and around a classy strip club called Exotica. As a result there is some nudity but it was tastefully done. Bruce Greenwood played the central character - basically a nice guy who has gone through the very tough part of his life, and is now recovering from the trauma. He frequented the club and was obsessed with, in a strange and yet not bad way, one particular dancer. At the end of the film you still don't have all the answers, but you are left thinking about the lives of the characters and the problems they live with.

Only one word of caution: this disc from Amazon is not Blu-ray quality, but is rather a regular DVD. So there is a bit of false advertising here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars exotica on blu-ray a must, Sept. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Bruce Greenwood and Sarah Polley are great in this film that looks better years later on Blu-ray. This is story telling and the art of layers and tying it all together is all about, Great Directing; great cast and provocative script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to see Atom Egoyan classic get a decent video release...after all these years!! Excellent blu ray!, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Have been a fan of Atom Egoyan since seeing Exotica in movie theater here in Texas. Was not a fan of its video release on Region 1 DVD. This was the cruddiest looking non-anamorphic rendering of this classic that it was barely watchable. Could not believe after all these years, I came across this Canadian Region A blu ray (and region 1 NTSC DVD). I knew I had to get it. A boy, glad I did! The video is awesome in every way!! The colors are very bright and the detail just blew me away! This is probably better than what was in the theaters back in the day. Very glad to see Atom Egoyan provide a commentary also (along with the composer). The film is presented in hi def anamorphic (!!) widescreen 1.78 with DTS-HD 2.0 soundtrack (would have been nice to get a mix of the music in 5.1). But all in all, this is THE best I have seen Exotica look on home video here in the states.
Would like to see more of his films get this treatment on Region A blu ray. UK has just released Egoyan's masterpiece The Adjuster (my favorite) on Region B blu ray (and it looks phenominal!).
Exotica blu ray/DVD combo is a great buy if you are an Atom Egoyan fan.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exotica (DVD)
This film has an Interesting, if offbeat, premise. The roles are demanding but the actors all pull through, no doubt a credit to the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, bad distribution, June 22 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exotica (Widescreen) (DVD)
A psychologist once said that deep grief can feel very much like going insane. That phrase kept coming to mind for me as I watched this movie. It's probably the single finest study of the effects of guilt and grief on a group of characters that I have ever seen. Unfortunately, distributors chose to market the movie to Americans as soft-core porn about strippers, with the result that a lot of people rent it and are disappointed to find that it actually requires thought and involvement to understand. In the movie, through the interaction of a group of characters with each other, we learn that they all carry the scars from events leading up to and surrounding the death of a young girl in the past. How all the characters fit together, and what the relationships are between them is a puzzle built throughout the movie, and it doesn't fall completely into place until the very last seen. The movie is a visual masterpiece and a brilliant and feeling character study. If you rent it knowing what it is and what to expect, I think you will find it a work of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egoyan never fail to amaze..., Dec 27 2003
This review is from: Exotica (Widescreen) (DVD)
Exotica is a gentleman's club in the Toronto area that ties lives of four characters together through their personal involvement as customers or workers. There is Eric, the jealous DJ, Christina, the innocent school girl stripper, Francis, the frequent visiting tax accountant, and Thomas, the shy pet shop owner. These individuals bring their own stories and as the film evolves their stories become intertwined together. Atom Egoyan directed this film with skillful cleverness that can cause guessing audience members to get lost in the story. This film is a brilliant cinematic experience, which leaves a lot of room for the audience to muse and enjoy the journey of the four characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird, kinky, and dark, Dec 20 2003
By 
magellan (Santa Clara, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exotica (Widescreen) (DVD)
I thought this was one of the most interesting films to come out of the 90's. The film's weird, kinky, and dark overtones and themes interweave to produce an oddly engrossing film. All the main characters in the movie bring virtually truckloads of emotional baggage to their relationships, and the movie doesn't so much resolve those tensions so much as use them to provide an emotionally charged atmosphere, as we see the hidden elements of each relationship peeled off and revealed until the final climax of the movie is reached. Overall, a fine film and one that should reward seeing again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Egoyan Winner, Sept. 23 2003
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exotica (Widescreen) (DVD)
I like movies that reveal their mysteries gradually. Films like Mullholland Drive, Memento, Following, etc. Like a good postmodern novel (no that's not an oxymoron - there are a few [Paul Auster comes immediately to mind]) these films are non-linear and one is kept guessing about not only what will happen, but whethere central characters are crazy, evil, benign, etc. The audience is kept intentionally in the dark, and thus on edge, and sometimes (as is the case with Mullholland Drive) there is no clear resolution, no tidying things up at the end. Egoyan seems to be operating in similar territory.
Another characterstic that these directors share is that often their characters are not what one would call likeable. This is the case in Exotica. A Canadian Customs Inspector (David Hemblen) is assigned to audit the books of a nervous Toronto exotic pet shop owner. From the outset, we see that this is not going to be your typical CPA/customer relationship. Things get more intriguing when the inspector finds a pistol in the pet-shop owner's drawer and reacts enigmatically.
As the film progresses, the inspector's psyche gradually disintegrates, until finally there is a denouement of denouements at the end of the film. Finally, Egoyan lets the audience in on the source of the inspector's descent into emotional breakdown. No spoilers here, but suffice it to say that the ending provides resolution, without relying on clichés.
Another satisfying Egoyan film. Thoughful script. Uniformly excellent acting, cinematography, direction. Worth re-viewing.
BEK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD]
Exotica [Blu-ray + DVD] by Atom Egoyan (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 13.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews