Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Gameplay in a Beautiful Package
I'll start off with addressing the feature that most people are getting this game for: the visuals. With designs and cinematics by Studio Ghibli, this is simply one of the most visually stunning games in anyone's collection. The world and characters are filled with so much charm, you'll instantly be sucked in. The story is a tad on the juvenile side and the voicework...
Published on Jan. 24 2013 by Stephen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old School RPG
Very old school RPG. Not for all but if you like old school RPG and japanese animation then this is for you. Reminds me of Original Final Fantasy and Dragon Warrior types with more cartoons.
Published 3 months ago by Northcustomer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Gameplay in a Beautiful Package, Jan. 24 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I'll start off with addressing the feature that most people are getting this game for: the visuals. With designs and cinematics by Studio Ghibli, this is simply one of the most visually stunning games in anyone's collection. The world and characters are filled with so much charm, you'll instantly be sucked in. The story is a tad on the juvenile side and the voicework takes a little to get used to, but after a while it won't matter; you'll eventually be absorbed into a wonderful journey.

The gameplay is a mix of the Tales of series with a little bit of Pokemon. There's so many creatures to collect and have them do battle; You'll definitely have a couple of favourites! Overall, this game remined me of what RPG's used to be when I was younger: charm, a great world map, open travel, interesting characters. I'm definitely recommending this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game. One you can't miss., Feb. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This is a must buy for any JRPG lover. Don't be fooled by the kiddish design, or by anyone who says that this game is meant for kids. It's suitable for all ages, be they children or adults who can still appreciate the childhood they once had. The story is great, not New York Times Bestselling novel great, but it provides a heartwarming and engaging experience. The gameplay is superb, with the familiars adding a lot of diversity. However, the game itself isn't overly difficult, so if you dislike that this may not be your cup of tea. One of its best characteristics is the art design. Made by Studio Ghibli, it essentially looks like a film that they would make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game overall: for JRPG noobies too..., Jan. 29 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I know I am one! Never played the genre before so I needed a little bit of adaptation for the gameplay style and written dialogue. But the game do a really good job of taking your hand from start with a gradual tutorial implementing the gameplay. Obviously, the visuals are superb. The story reminds me of the anime back in my own childhood. The child missing one parent, two parents and all that stuff about separation anxiety... A great, different experience so far.

EDIT: After 35 hours in I went from 4 stars fun to 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly Old-School, Nov. 14 2014
By 
Kevin Stewart (Burlington, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is extremely fun if you're a fan of old JRPGs. It has a world map, collectable items, loads of sidequests, and lots of things to manage. It's not progressive, but it's surprisingly refreshing. The sidequests can be a little boring at times, but the game's art makes up for it. Everything you do is incredibly enjoyable due to the slower pacing and beautiful aesthetics.

The biggest criticism that I have is the amount of tutorials you have to go through in the game. If that annoys you, you will probably have a bad time. You'll still be guided through stuff more than halfway through the game.

Essential game for any RPG-lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game!, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I love this game one of the best j rpg i have playe don ps3 def worth it !! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best PS3 game, July 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Probably my favorite game for the PS3. I love classic JRPGs and this one brought me back to when they were story driven, fantasy games with character development, and charm. Unlike most current JRPGs, this game is fun from start to finish and doesn't try to impress you with more weapon customization or more stat augmentation, but instead has you learn new things about the world and keeps the story going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good juvenile RPG, July 5 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
About halfway through an it's pretty good so far. It is for younger gamers though, probably too cute/funny for older teenager or adults. Standard RPG, lots of quests, weapons, spells, special items etc.. Took me a while to master the combat system, you can (and often must) switch characters and familiars mid-battle in order to win. I am anxious to see how the story ends. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Blast, Dec 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
When I first started playing I was thinking this wasn't going to be much of a game. The farther along I got, the more I liked it.
Great story, great game play, good challenge, and overall just a lot of fun. There's also very good replay value in the game.
If you like turned based RPG's, then you can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bang for Your Buck!, Nov. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Ni no kuni is a great jrpg with TONS of value! The game's mechanics are great, however the story is somewhat slow due to the nature of the genre. If you're looking for a fun game that you can lose yourself in look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any rpg lover, May 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Endless fun for this classic style RGP. The story line is awesome and the game play is addictive. This is definitely one of my top 5 ps3 games and anyone who love RPGS should get it asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 21.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews