Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Gameplay in a Beautiful Package
I'll start off with addressing the feature that most people are getting this game for: the visuals. With designs and cinematics by Studio Ghibli, this is simply one of the most visually stunning games in anyone's collection. The world and characters are filled with so much charm, you'll instantly be sucked in. The story is a tad on the juvenile side and the voicework...
Published 14 months ago by Stephen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars partly a pokemon style
animation is great, story is so good.. but after a while playing it became repetitive and annoying to be battleling the sames characters over and over.. even when the 'pokemon' addtion of 'catch new' and make them gain experience it was not as good as pokemon in a way that keep you interested in keep gething more an new ones..
Published 4 months ago by Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Gameplay in a Beautiful Package, Jan. 24 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
I'll start off with addressing the feature that most people are getting this game for: the visuals. With designs and cinematics by Studio Ghibli, this is simply one of the most visually stunning games in anyone's collection. The world and characters are filled with so much charm, you'll instantly be sucked in. The story is a tad on the juvenile side and the voicework takes a little to get used to, but after a while it won't matter; you'll eventually be absorbed into a wonderful journey.

The gameplay is a mix of the Tales of series with a little bit of Pokemon. There's so many creatures to collect and have them do battle; You'll definitely have a couple of favourites! Overall, this game remined me of what RPG's used to be when I was younger: charm, a great world map, open travel, interesting characters. I'm definitely recommending this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game. One you can't miss., Feb. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
This is a must buy for any JRPG lover. Don't be fooled by the kiddish design, or by anyone who says that this game is meant for kids. It's suitable for all ages, be they children or adults who can still appreciate the childhood they once had. The story is great, not New York Times Bestselling novel great, but it provides a heartwarming and engaging experience. The gameplay is superb, with the familiars adding a lot of diversity. However, the game itself isn't overly difficult, so if you dislike that this may not be your cup of tea. One of its best characteristics is the art design. Made by Studio Ghibli, it essentially looks like a film that they would make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wholesome adventure compromised by antiquated JRPG gameplay, May 2 2013
By 
braindata (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
As an Adventure RPG this game is wonderful. The graphics are amazing and I would rather see the crisp digital animation in lieu of the traditional ink & paint animation (the latter suffers from low framerate, washed-out colour and soft details). And I love the imaginative ideas that this game comes up with, like repairing broken hearts. There are good messages in this game, even if the overarching story is a dark one. I was hoping that there would be a lot more audio dialogue in the game but it drops off quickly. Certainly for Drippy's training or exposition this would have helped the game and given that it is a blu-ray title there is plenty of storage for it.

However, this game went with a particular style of JRPG gameplay and I think that it suffers for it due to the inconsistencies in difficulty and pacing. Among those issues are: 1) Long grinding through labyrinth parts, where enemies are every few steps and the battle intros & outros waste so much time. You will experience the same battles over and over again; 2) In the world map many low-level enemies will flee instead of flight, so why won't they do the same in the labyrinth parts? No, in these places they all want to fight, and they respawn in the same fixed places 10 seconds after defeat; And, 3) Battles are strategic and in real time. What this means is that while you're fumbling around menus trying to find that sandwich to restore health, meanwhile your enemies -- especially the tough bosses -- are still attacking you! It also hurts that two of your first three familiars don't have defence moves so you have to swap them out quickly for something that does before you take too much pummelling. This is not a fair game mechanic! If the player has to navigate menus then stop the action and stop the clock, otherwise just make it an action fight and let us press buttons the way our controllers were meant to be used. For reference to the above, I consider Final Fantasy XIII the same sort of menu-panic game (it is no longer turn-based), which is a bad thing. Whereas, Tales of Vesperia or Star Ocean: The Last Hope give you a more hands-on battle, which is the only way to go in these modern times. The upshot of this is that the regular battles can become very easy because you will level up and have lots of brute power, but then along come boss battles where they kick the snot out of you in seconds because your menu selection took too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game overall: for JRPG noobies too..., Jan. 29 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
I know I am one! Never played the genre before so I needed a little bit of adaptation for the gameplay style and written dialogue. But the game do a really good job of taking your hand from start with a gradual tutorial implementing the gameplay. Obviously, the visuals are superb. The story reminds me of the anime back in my own childhood. The child missing one parent, two parents and all that stuff about separation anxiety... A great, different experience so far.

EDIT: After 35 hours in I went from 4 stars fun to 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game!, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
I love this game one of the best j rpg i have playe don ps3 def worth it !! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Much like, many fun, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
Great game! Awesome challenging gameplay. It's like the perfect Pokemon game without the ridicule and cliché storyline. Only downside: too much explaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, March 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
Amazing game. I ordered it with amazon and got it THE NEXT DAY.

The game itself is amazing and I would recommend to all my friends who love RPGS :)

The only thing that sucks is that it is REALLY easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous game, great intro to JRPG's, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
While I definitely tired of the game's hand-holding, I understand that Ni no Kuni is targeted at younger audiences. No matter your age, though, it is a visually beautiful game and lives up to everything I would hope for from Ghibli.

In terms of gameplay, simply put, if you like other Level-5 games, you'll like this. If you find their games tepid and repetitive, well, at least you have spectacular art and a thoughtful story to keep you going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the genre, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
Although there is a lot of hand-holding in this game, if you enjoy this style of game you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JRPG fun that hits the reward centres of the brain, Jan. 3 2014
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni no Kuni (Video Game)
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to Japanese RPGs (most of my RPG experience has been with North American games such as Fallout and Bioware titles) but this is so far proving to be a very worthwhile purchase. With the involvement of Studio Ghibli, you get the same level of whimsy and wonder you get when watching their animé classics such as Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, and the collecting aspect of familiars (think Pokémon...gotta catch 'em all) makes this game ripe for addiction potential. If you're an animé fan, that alone makes it worth the price of purchase, especially since it's a greatest hits title.

I'm not even 20% into the game (about 10 hours or so of gameplay) and I'm thoroughly enjoying it so far. The game is extremely dense in content and possibilities, making it possible to spend the equivalent of days playing it without unveiling all of the content. Visual design is beautiful to look at and the music is great. The writing is also pretty good.

As far as gameplay is concerned, while distinctive for mixing up turn-based and real-time combat, has a few problems that tend to be common to many games, especially those with a level and experience system. As the game has a lot of side quests, I haven't yet felt like I needed to grind in order to defeat a certain game area (i.e.: repetitive tasks in order to level up), although that aspect is still present. Also, boss battles are a source of frustration, which usually consist of a lot of running around and keeping your distance (but again, this is a problem common to a lot of games). A fast travel option is built into the game, but I haven't accessed it yet (apparently it takes about 20 hours of gameplay until you hit it), which is a pain when you have to travel between locations.

Otherwise, it's a beautifully crafted game that is definitely worth picking up if you haven't yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa595ba44)

This product

Ni no Kuni
Ni no Kuni by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews