Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One h*ll of a suprise
I'm a huge fan of JRPGs, have been for a solid 15 years. Lately though, I've been getting disappointed a lot over the past four or five years. I ended up purchasing The Last Story on a whim, my sister being a huge advocate of the "Operation Rainfall" fan movement that brought this game over to the NA region. Me wanting Pandora's Tower for so long, I knew of this game, but...
Published on Oct. 9 2012 by Chris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything is great, story
Everything is great, story, music, characters, except
the combat system which can get repetitive and the overall world is lacking in size.
Overall a good 50 hours and additional 20 for extras.
Published 1 month ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One h*ll of a suprise, Oct. 9 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
I'm a huge fan of JRPGs, have been for a solid 15 years. Lately though, I've been getting disappointed a lot over the past four or five years. I ended up purchasing The Last Story on a whim, my sister being a huge advocate of the "Operation Rainfall" fan movement that brought this game over to the NA region. Me wanting Pandora's Tower for so long, I knew of this game, but little else.

I was quite pleasantly surprised, needless to say. The combat system is very simple, and emphasizes tactical movement and fast decision making. Any JRPG where I actually enjoy getting into battles has clearly done something right. It's difficult to actually describe and do it justice, as it's so different from the action-based combat systems I'm used to. While a little jarring at first, within the first hour a person can get pretty comfortable with it.

Being the game is for the Wii, the graphics aren't anything to write home about. In comparison to other Wii games however, they are very good. The use of bloom and atmospheric lighting is very well done. Walking around the main city during the night parts, one can't help but feel the creators did the game a disservice by making it for Wii- this would have been gorgeous in HD! That's just my personal opinion though.

The music is standard FF-esque Nobuo Uematsu affair. At this point, I think it's expected to be good and full of life. After a while it can get a little repetitive though, especially the battle music. The calmer tracks are so pleasant to listen to though, enough for me to want the soundtrack.

But really, what any RPG comes down to is the storyline, and this is where I was most impressed. After playing so many JRPGs, one comes to expect certain tropes and stereotypes, and while The Last Story has its share, the way they are executed makes the storyline very fresh. I don't want to go into too much detail. Unlike a good chunk of JRPGs, The Last Story has a very tangible romance, a clear bond between the characters, and some really touching moments. Voiced monologues in JRPGs are really hard to pull off, but The Last Story does it with grace.

Overall, a solid 4 out of 5. I'd recommend this to any JRPG fan, any day. You might have your faith restored just as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
My son loved that this game came with the CD of the music too and he wasn't expecting that it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG on the Wii !!, Nov. 25 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
If you like RPGs, Final Fantasy and Zelda then this game is just for you. The story is just amazing. The new combat system is a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Everything is great, story, Nov. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Everything is great, story, music, characters, except
the combat system which can get repetitive and the overall world is lacking in size.
Overall a good 50 hours and additional 20 for extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More story, less grinding., July 3 2014
By 
S. Walker "starwarsdave" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
My favourite Wii game and probably one of best on the system.
The Last Story is an action RPG with fairly simple but effective controls. The story follows one of a band of mercenaries and his adventures that (without spoiling anything) take him and his comrades to many places and change many things.
Although it graphically challenges the Wii, the player probably won't feel taxed in the same way. That is in no way a bad thing, I personally think sometimes games tend to overburden the player these days and I do like the storyline over "grinding" factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of fun!, March 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Hours of game play, excellent graphics, great story line with twist ending. The accents from the British Isles added to the fun. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
From a creator of the FF franchise, it is as we expect, a bit linear, but it is still a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW Awesome Game, Jan. 17 2014
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game was one of the best I played on the wii. At first it's kinda hard to get used to the fighting control since I'm use to ex: Zelda one where you move the wii controler to fight with your sword, wich is not the case in the Last Story. The gameplay is pretty good and not toooo cheesy. I also really liked all the magic tricks that we could do. The graphics aren't the best but I won't lower the game only for that since the scene and decor were still pretty nice. The customations you can do to your characters are also really nice and the side quests are really fun and helps you to collect some stuff like your health or your groups agility, + it's nice how you can upgrade your sword and your equipments !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, Dec 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
It's convenient and i enjoy it. Try it i recommend it. Everyone should have it. i like it because it's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game, one of thre best for the Wii, Oct. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
No complaints, solid classic RPG feel with some amazing graphics and a strong story.

Unique combat system that works well. Easily one of the wii's better games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Story - Wii Standard Edition
Used & New from: CDN$ 52.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews