Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a film for misogynists...
If you hate women, this isn't the film for you. If you enjoy seeing a strong, competent, confident female lead kick butt and out-fight and out-smart some morally-challenged men, then you'll love this film.

We enjoyed the fight scenes, the scenery, the pace, the twists and turns. We didn't like the fact that several things were left unexplained / red herrings...
Published on July 12 2012 by R3aLiTY_bYt3s

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but don't waste your money if it's more than $10
Fair considering the cast...but don't waste your money if it's more than $10. 60/40...and that's generous.
Published 2 months ago by Tamiko Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a film for misogynists..., July 12 2012
By 
R3aLiTY_bYt3s "R3aLiTY_bYt3s" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you hate women, this isn't the film for you. If you enjoy seeing a strong, competent, confident female lead kick butt and out-fight and out-smart some morally-challenged men, then you'll love this film.

We enjoyed the fight scenes, the scenery, the pace, the twists and turns. We didn't like the fact that several things were left unexplained / red herrings? (explained in a sequel maybe?) but hey, it was a fun film to watch, and we're going to watch it again this week.

One warning: at one point, a vehicle hits a "deer" BUT the deer looks very, very fake (wobbles like rubber, not much detail on it), so animal lovers can breathe a sigh of relief.

The film starts off in an ordinary way. A young woman goes into a roadside diner and sits down. She orders tea, and in walks a man who goes right over to her, sits down across the table from her. There isn't much small talk (this film isn't big on dialogue over all), he orders a cup of coffee..
and then the guy throws hot coffee in her face and starts laying a beating on her. We thought, "What the ....?" and the other diners look shocked as well. Here's this helpless, petite gal getting beat up by this tall, muscly guy. And this preconception... misconception... and others continue to be shattered throughout the film.

We find the heroine gives better than she gets, and is tough through and through. She's been marked for death, but why, and by whom? We find out through flashbacks what has led to this situation, and it's a plausible, interesting story.

Hard to believe this is Gina Carano's first film. She's tough (in real life too), is 30, and is 5'8", 145 lbs of muscle (stats according to [...]), so right there she's not like so many actresses today (fluffy, whiny, and anorexic). When the film opens, GC looks kind of ratty, but that's the idea. In flashbacks, we get to see her before the fit hit the shan, and she looks smokin' hot.

Bill Paxton (Twister) is understated but excellent in the later part of the film, and does an excellent job of balancing emotions and words, drawing us in even further.

Antonio Banderas, Ewan MacGregor, and Channing Tatum are also excellent.

Over all, a very enjoyable film, and I do hope there is a sequel in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gina Carano's Debut!, June 1 2012
By 
Scooter_EDM (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Not a bad movie for Gina Carano's first venture into being a lead character, but I think she could have done better. Her skills are awesome and I hope Sly puts her in the Expendables 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You gettem girl, June 29 2012
By 
Sherman (Tillsonburg, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Jason Bourne with a purse. Well acted, good story fight scenes are well done. I,m a big fan of Soderbergh (Traffic, The Limey & Contagion) & he doesn't let you down. You should see this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something in the way she moves, June 17 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Steven Soderbergh has directed many successful movies ranging from Sex, Lies and Videotapes to Syriana, Michael Clayton and Oceans Eleven. The latter three all starring George Clooney.

So, when he saw MMA fighter Gina Carrano fight he had the idea to build a movie around her character, and Haywire is the result. His fascination with her is understandable, and he takes an appreciable risk casting an unknown and inexpereinced actress in a leading role.

The risk I think does pay off. While she may lack the smooth acting technique of a more established actress, she more than compensates for this with her charisma and presence, her impeccable fighter skills, and fascinating physicality.

When an operation goes wrong members of a shady organisation, intent on cleaning up pursue her with the intent to kill. It's nothing personal just business.

I loved for example that she traveled to Ireland on a mission, and part of the pursuit takes place through Dublin City. The odds aagains her seem insurmountable, and she has to push to get even before she gets squared away.

Because of her fighting skills the fight scenes have a gripping realism, and usually she is fighting men who are also very skilled, and whether she will win is by no means certain. In one fight she is attacked by surprise from behind.

I have to admit I did enjoy this movie a lot more than I expected. It's a refreshing change from the formula where the fight scenes are obviously choreographed, and you MTV style cross cutting and slow motion where the heroines hair doesn't get mussed.

You can watch many clips of Gina Carrano on youtube, and decide for yourself if you are intrigued and I totally enjoyed the movie. I do hope it's not the only movie she makes. Yahwire boasts an impressive cast that includes Ewan McGregor, Michael Douglas, Michael Fassbender, and Channing Tatum.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helfpul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but don't waste your money if it's more than $10, July 14 2014
Fair considering the cast...but don't waste your money if it's more than $10. 60/40...and that's generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gina Carano !!!!, Dec 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Gina Carano is awesome....great acting...all star cast...great special features...brand new...prompt delivery...great price...o ya did I mention Gina Carano?...GINA CARANO !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haywire, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Explosive action. Gina Carano is tough as nails in this action movie. You will be pleasantly surprised at how attractive and deadly she is in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cage match with her yes sir.., Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Well i just love women and i love the movie too for her first movie
i have to say it was'nt that bad at all. but to put her in a fight with
C.Tatum is kind of stupid but you never know she is tough..Haywire [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action the way it should be., Nov. 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Haywire is a throwback to the days of Steve McQueen and Lee Van Cleef. It is raw and honest, the way a smart action movie should be. None of the over the top hyperbole of an Expendables or Dark Knight. It just feels real, which is more than I can say about 90% of the tripe Hollywood is churning out these days.

Gina Carano is not only gorgeous, but she proves she has a future as an actor and an action star. Not very many women can pull off a believable hard-nosed action hero, but she nailed it.

I loved this movie and bought it as soon as I was able. If you enjoy getting a little more than you bargained for in a film, then give Haywire a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skip it, Feb. 11 2013
This review is from: Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Based on previous reviews I took a chance, and I am very sad that I did. This was beyond boring, acting was not what I expected from this type of movie with this kind of cast.

Slow start, not much is explained and not much character developement either. This movie could have kicked b*tt but it fell way too short for some unknown reason. The few fight scenes were magnificent and for that alone is the reason why I had picked up this movie. Unfortunately it alone cannot carry the movie.

After only 50 minutes I was seriously thinking about just stopping to watch it, which is not a good sign. In the end, I fast forwarded it becasue I just wanted it to come to an end.

Skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Haywire [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Steven Soderbergh (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews