Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An elementary buy
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a very successful sequel that lives up to the first one and keeps the franchise interesting. When I say successful I'm not just referring to the box office, I'm talking about a rich story with great action that will have you coming back again and again well after the mystery is solved. While this story is a bit darker than the first...
Published on June 18 2012 by Scott Flower

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Far worse than I thought it could be...
While the first movie was a fast-paced steampunk reimagining of Sherlock Holmes, its sequel felt the need to do the exact same thing with more explanations, more unamusing thrills, and comedic moments that fall utterly short, but the presence of Robert Downey Jr. saved it from total apocalypse.

This movie has "The Dark Knight" printed all over it. Having been...
Published 16 months ago by Simon Bergeron


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An elementary buy, June 18 2012
By 
Scott Flower (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a very successful sequel that lives up to the first one and keeps the franchise interesting. When I say successful I'm not just referring to the box office, I'm talking about a rich story with great action that will have you coming back again and again well after the mystery is solved. While this story is a bit darker than the first film it fits perfectly because Sherlock has finally met his match in Professor Moriarty and the mind games these two play with each other takes Sherlock past his limits to outwit the only man who can outwit him and try to prevent a world war. The perfect duo of Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law keep the humor coming in a way only they can deliver without ruining the seriousness of the movie. I highly recommend this movie to everyone even if you haven't seen the first one, it's not necessary but does help in establishing some character relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Far worse than I thought it could be..., Jan. 5 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
While the first movie was a fast-paced steampunk reimagining of Sherlock Holmes, its sequel felt the need to do the exact same thing with more explanations, more unamusing thrills, and comedic moments that fall utterly short, but the presence of Robert Downey Jr. saved it from total apocalypse.

This movie has "The Dark Knight" printed all over it. Having been successful with Sherlock Holmes and The Dark Knight a year prior, the studio seemed to rush the sequel into production with nothing else but "make it like The Dark Knight". Therefore, more explosions happen for the sake of explosions, even though it's been poorly written who the real responsible was. Rachel McAdams' character gets an underserving fate, and most of what made the first movie so good and fun is definitely repeated here with a sense of money. Hence, it's not fun, it's loud, repetitive, over compensating the lack of a script and boasts a bombastic music score from a tired Hans Zimmer. What should and could have been a triumphant return from Sherlock Holmes, who's this time pitted against his worst enemy (Moriarty) is nothing of the epic kind. To make matters worse, Noomi Rapace plays a completely useless character who simply follows Holmes and Watson. In short, there's absolutely nothing I found thrilling or worthy of my time here, save for Downey Jr.'s extravagant yet always surprising acting game. I just hope this franchise is dead and buried until someone does the obvious: burn this movie and re-shoot it like it never existed.

As far as special features go, and even though this movie was quite a bit of a monetary success, not much is to be found here. Focus points (35 minutes worth), a Maximum Movie Mode hosted by Robert Downey Jr., and a useless Second Screen app, which I'll never use.

All in all, skip this and keep to the first movie, it was and still is the best of both. Or better yet, give the new BBC series a run, this Holmes sure delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love both Sherlock movies in this series. We watched this movie in the theatres and loved it. When both Sherlock movies came on sale at Christmas for $2.97 each, they were the first two items added to our Amazon order and they made great stocking stuffers. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for the "Holmes-Watson" duo!, Feb. 20 2015
By 
Greg B. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
An excellent 2nd outing for Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law. I like their take on the "Holmes-Watson" personas. Good acting and plenty of action/special effects, interesting plots and looks great on Blu Ray, the DVD is also excellent for both sound and video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Très satisfait qualité prix, envoie rapide,, March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Très bon film, Robert Downey jr. Superbe dans son rôle, bon effet
spéciaux, en plus ce blue ray est bilingue, à avoir dans sa collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plesantly Surprised, March 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Never seen this movie before. Bought becasue my daughter loves this movie and the currant TV show of the same name. Absoultely loved it!! Witty, comedy, action etc. with an odd ball detective make it a A+ in my opionion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is fun. I love it. Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law are awesome as Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Jan. 27 2014
By 
Roxanne (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved the 1st movie, the 2nd one was even better. Guy Ritchie is a genius and Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law are a great team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Game of Shadows, Jan. 18 2014
By 
katzi - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this mystery for myelf. I expect it to compliment the previous sherlock holmes I purchased. well priced. Look forward to a quiet evening and a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and amazing!, Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A fantastic movie, clever and witty, wonderful characters, an amazing era-like set up. You can't make a better Sherlock Holmes movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews