Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Pumpkin
Hello,... This album is gold for all rock loving teens, it does not matter if you are a pumpkinhead or not, this album is a sure thing. Let's kick off with an opener Soothe...soothe, gentle, acoustic and sad, a great start to the album. Then we have frail and Bedazzeled, which get's us rocking, great song. Plume comes in number 3, but I can not realy make up my mind about...
Published on May 2 2004 by sasa

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am liking the deluxe sets
One of my all time favourite smashing pumpkins releases. I usually don't buy into the re-releases but this band has been a favourite of mine since the beginning and I could not resist getting early unreleased stuff.

I am only giving this 3 stars because I cannot get access to the four songs on the cassette. I wish they would have given access via web site to...
Published 18 months ago by Chris Parsons


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Pumpkin, May 2 2004
By 
sasa (Metlika, SLO, EUR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
Hello,... This album is gold for all rock loving teens, it does not matter if you are a pumpkinhead or not, this album is a sure thing. Let's kick off with an opener Soothe...soothe, gentle, acoustic and sad, a great start to the album. Then we have frail and Bedazzeled, which get's us rocking, great song. Plume comes in number 3, but I can not realy make up my mind about it, so let's leave it alone (interesting riff).If you like James Iha's Let it come down, you will just adore Whir (Billy sings, but sounds like an Iha song) Blew away features Iha on vocals, it is mostly an acoustic song, accept it gets siamese dream kind of guitar distortion at the end. I can't decide on the next one... Pissant...Hmmm...Lyrics were wriiten in 10 minutes and that shows, nad Pissant was recorded live, all in all a cool punk song (I gues). Hello kity kat folowes Pissant punk orientation, but with great riffs, pasive-agresive lyrics,and a funny title comes close to perfection, but the mix isn't as good, but a great song anyways. Obscured is on number 8, it should be on Lull, but was droped and put here...an old pumpkin song, from there first days...pure gold for pumpkinheds. Obscured is folowed by another acoustic song Landslide...what to say? Simply beautiful song. At door number 10, it is .... Starla!!! By my judgement the best song on the album, one of pumpkins best work. It goes on for 11 minutes and leaves you dazzeled at the end of a 5 min guitar solo. Next one is another old song from Lull, Blue... it has a great bass intro, and i love it, as i love Girl named Sandoz. There is something about this song that remindes me on John Spencers sound, it is diffrent and great. We are closing in on the album, it is not over yet. La dolly vita is another great song, that sounds, like Gish album songs, and Jimmy realy puts a alot of effort on it. After that there is a weird finnish to the album with Spaced, which is to weird to review. Well, friends it seems that this is it, buy the album, rock your house with it.... till next time... rock on
S.J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completes the "Gish"/"Siamese Dream" trilogy., Sept. 7 2003
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
If you're someone like me, who believes the first two albums are the "Pumpkins" best, than you must get this cd. It may not run quite as smooth, but it's every bit as good as my favorite disc "Gish", and "Siamese Dream". Not knowing this album, is like not seeing one movie in a trilogy. Rockers and ballads together in perfect harmony. I wish bands today had A-sides that were this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iscariot Vinyl, Feb. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the remaster and the yellow vinyl. Nothing too special but nice to own as it's a mellower album and the mellow yellow is very fitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can never go wrong with SP....., Aug. 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Deluxe Edition 2CD + DVD + MC) (Audio CD)
I'm so very excited about all the reissues, considering pisces wasn't even supposed to be an album to begin with then the reissuing of it was even better!! I was also surprised that Amazon.ca was offering Pisces Iscariot Deluxe Edition for 20$ cheaper than the official smashing pumpkins website!! Definitely a good buy!!! Can't wait for the other reissues!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-sides sound great, July 17 2004
By 
Grant McKee (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that a disc made up of B-sides would be this good. Most bands just throw away their B-side material, so unless you picked up the singles, fuhgeddaboudit. Not Smashing Pumpkins. Billy Corgan and crew churned out music on a level not seen since the '70s, when bands built their reputations on tours and constantly playing and recording, not stringing people along with a handful of videos from one album. In fact, they'd later up the ante with the "Aeroplane Flies High" box set.
Anyway, this disc has some classic Pumpkins moments that shouldn't be ignored just because they're not on a "proper" album. "Landslide," the Stevie Nicks/Fleetwood Mac cover, was a moderate hit, being the only song from this disc that made it to radio. But all the songs are good, and follow the traditional Pumpkins formula of quiet, introspective numbers and distortion-laden rock fests. "Pissant," "Plume," "Frail and Bedazzled," and "Soothe" are all great, but "Starla" is probably the centerpiece of this disc. The song plunges through the first couple of minutes as one of their best straight-up rockers before pummeling you with some riff-heavy jamming. This song was also very popular among fans, apparently. I ended up adopting a cat named after this song, and some neighbors of mine also had a cat named Starla, with the same story behind her name. Kind of scary, if you ask me, but if a band can have that much impact on their fans, more power to 'em.
Finally, I have to mention the liner notes on this. The pictures, the haphazard typewriter font on the impossibly thin paper...it all adds up to kind of a slipshod package if you ask me, but it works perfectly on a B-side collection. It makes you feel like you unearthed some real buried treasures, or maybe like Billy Corgan himself put together a mix tape of rarities just for you. Maybe I'm reading too much into that, but it's cool nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old stuff, May 15 2004
By 
Sasa Janjac (Metlika, SLO, EUR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
Hello,... This album is gold and it does not matter if you are in pumpkins or not . Let's kick off with Soothe it is gentle, acoustic and a great start to the album. Frail and Bedazzeled, get's a Skunk kind of sound an it is a rocking, great song. Plume comes in number 3 and has an interesting.Whirr is a acousic, gentle song. Blew away is a Iha song, it is mostly a slow song, accept it gets rocking at the end. Pissant shows a punk song orientation. Hello kity kat continues rocking with great riffs and lyrics,and a funny title is perfect,.Obscured is on number 8, it should be on Lull, but it is here. Obscured is folowed by acoustic song Landslide... beautiful song. Number 10, it is Starla, The best song on the album, one of pumpkins best . Next one is another old song from Lull, Blue... it has a bass intro, and i love it, and so i love Girl named Sandoz... La dolly vita is another great song, that sounds, like Gish album. After that there is a weird finish to the album with Spaced, which is to bad to review. Well, that this is it, buy the album ... till next time... rock on
S.J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stacks up pretty well to the Pumpkins' great albums, Dec 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
Yes, Pisces Iscariot is a B-sides collection, and no, it doesn't flow as well as a typical Pumpkins album, and no, the songs aren't as classic as most of their material, but the end result is still overwhelmingly good. This album showcases every side of the early Pumpkins, from the beautiful ("Blew Away") to the vitriolic ("Pissant") to the soaring and riff-y (the majority of these songs). As always, the musicianship gets an A+, and the melodies and hooks are almost just as good as the incredible drumming and triumphant guitar leads. The only thing missing is a true classic along the lines of "Mayonaise" or "Today"; other than that, this release delivers everything you'd expect out of the Pumpkins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early 90's Pumpkins destroy the universe, Dec 25 2003
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
Billy Corgan...was there a more prolific songwriter of the 90's? For a guy that wrote 300+ songs in a decade (yeah, it's true) it's hard to say no. Back early in the game with only two albums to their name the Pumpkins put out this excellent collection of B-sides in 1994 (and it wasn't even close to a complete collection, where's Purr Snickety or Glynis or ....?). And the scary thing? There really isn't much pure filler here. A lot of these could have been A-Sides. Hell, a lot of them SHOULD have been A-Sides. With B-side collections you usually get an album with two or three good songs and then about 10 half-baked ideas. That's not the case here. This album runs the course from moments of beauty (the opener 'Soothe', the cover of 'Landslide') to furious rockers (the excellent one-two punch of 'Pissant' and 'Hello Kitty Kat'). With this release you can tell that the band (young at that point in time) was really having fun in the studio (something they lacked on later releases). Tracks such as 'Frail and Bedazzled' seethe with youthful exhuburance and the attitude is contagious. Sure, there are some tunes that don't altogether work; their take on'Girl Named Sandoz' exchanges manic soloing for an actual tune while 'Whir' floats gently down the stream without ever really catching hold, but contained on the album are many excellent tracks as well as two absolute astonishing numbers. The first of these two is 'Obscured', a dream-like song that hovers around your ears without ever quite falling in. It's one of those wonderful 'shoulda made the album' type of songs that you'll want to put on repeat. The second of the two is 'Starla', an epic 10+ minute song that begins softly before building into a sonic freakout. The band rocks out here like they're fighting for something they believe in. Back in '94 they were a band with something to prove and with this song, they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars B-side heaven exudes a heavenly delight:), Nov. 22 2003
By 
lUKE wORLE (virginia beach, va) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
For starters, the opening track "Soothe" always brings tears to my heart and eyes. When a sparse three minute song has the power to take command of your emotions at the beginning of any record, true props are to be given. But that's not all, folks.The Smashing Pumpkins are the most creative and talented artists to rise from the post grunge ashes of the early nineties. Bold opinion, you may say, but truth be told,in hindsight, I should have given "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness", 6 stars instead of 4. You see, even when Billy Corgan and Co. have overwhelmed their musical catelouge, the supposed b-sides are never delegated throw-aways, or second fiddle. They exceed expectations and in many cases, you'll hear fans screaming for "Landslide"(which Billy wryly refuses to play because of the overt and bellowing demand from one show)or "Starla" or "La Dolly Vita"(the album's tightest track). What can I say? I'd eat peaches every day...lol. No, dear reader, even if you arn't an avid S.P. fan, you can still find plenty of ballsy power-rock numbers, whispery ballads, aching acoustic numbers, rip-roaring covers, and spaced out 7 minute mammoth jams! I give you a personalized rating of the top 10 best in this 14 track collection:
1. Starla(this OBVIOUSLY should have been on "Siamese Dream")
2. Pissant(this tight rock no. was, but only in the Japanese import L.P.)
3. La Dolly Vita(sadly, I am not a "Gish" fan, and this inclusion might have made me a little happier with it)
4. Whir(beautiful, beautiful song. Sounds like gentle folk. Catch the ending, as the guitars fade out into minor key showmanship)
5. Blew Away(Jame's Iha's BEST S.P. era song. This was certainly good enough to be put on "Siamese Dream", but no matter, it's here and it elevates the artistry status of the whole album. A beautiful power-rock balld of love. AWESOME!!!)
So my friends, there it is. AND there are 10 more, none of which suck(although "Spaced" is sort of like a hazy acid trip)
My only gripe is that "Slunk", "Pulzcar", "Drown" and "Apathy's last Kiss" were ommitted. These songs are not on any officail L.P.'s, only on a soundtrack, video, and single. Still, buy this record after you have bought their best("Siamese Dream", "Mellon Collie" and "Adore")and then you can get into the truly happening vibe that is their MAMMOTH b-side collection, "The Aeroplane Flies High".(Personally, there's more hard rock numbers and variety that show a marked maturity in style and musical execution since this record). In closing, buy this album and rock out to it, sing to it, share it, cry to it, laugh to it and ...press repeat over and over again. And, Kids: stay off the drugs...music like this will remind you that are beautiful alternatives to dope.
Cheers, y-all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Powerful, the REAL Pumpkins, Sept. 3 2003
This review is from: Pisces Iscariot (Audio CD)
When I was about 12 years old I asked my parents to get me a Smashing Pumpkins CD for Christmas. I was hoping to get Siamese Dream, but for some reason they picked this one up. I'm so glad they did, and I'm glad this is what got me started on the Pumpkins. I think this is their best cd, with Gish and Siamese tied for 2nd. Every song on here is an absolute masterpiece. Some highlights of the disc...
Starla- I've never heard anything quite like this. Billy goes INSANE on guitar for the last half of the song. Beautiful noise.
Soothe- gives me chills every time.
Hello Kitty Kat- goes to show that this band had more chops than anyone in the "alternative" music world.
Anyway, if you call yourself a fan of SP but don't have this disc, you BEST go pick it up now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pisces Iscariot (Deluxe Edition 2CD + DVD + MC)
Pisces Iscariot (Deluxe Edition 2CD + DVD + MC) by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews